Skip to main content

Southeast Asia Studies: International Directories

International Directory of Southeast Asia Librarians

Compiled by Virginia Shih

This is a shortened version of the International Directory of Southeast Asia Librarians & Catalogers, compiled by Virginia Shih and produced on behalf of the Committee on Research Materials on Southeast Asia (CORMOSEA), a committee of the Southeast Asia Council (SEAC) of the Association for Asian Studies. This directory lists the individuals who work with the Southeast Asia collections in various capacities. 

A full downloadable pdf of the full version can be found below.

International Southeast Asia Librarian Directory

The Australian National University

Dr. Amy Chan  |  South/Southeast Asia & Middle East Collection  |  Tel: 61 2 6125 1753  |  Email: amy.chan@anu.edu.au

Rebecca Wong  |  Manager, Menzies Library  |  Tel: 61 2 6125 0082  |  Email: Rebecca.wong@anu.edu.au

 

Charles Darwin University

Ruth Quinn  |  Director, Library and Information Access  |  Tel: 61 8 8946 6192  |  Email: ruth.quinn@cdu.edu.au

 

University of Melbourne

Dr. Aline Scott-Maxwell  |  Indonesian Studies Library Consultant  |  Tel: 61 3 8834 5269  |  Email: alinesm@unimelb.edu.au

 

Monash University

Dr. Aline Scott-Maxwell  |  Senior Asian Studies Librarian  |  Tel: 61 3 9905 2658  |  Email: aline.scott.maxwell@lib.monash.edu.au

 

National Library of Australia

Tieke Atikah (Mrs.)  |  Manager, Regional Office  |  Tel: 62 21 2550 5551  |  Email: tieke.atikah@dfat.gov.au

Anya Dettman  |  Southeast Asia Specialist and East Timor Librarian  |  Tel: 61 2 6262 1248  |  Email: adettman@nla.gov.au

Amelia McKenzie  |  Director, Overseas Collections Management  |  Tel: 61 2 6262 1519  |  Email: amckenzie@nla.gov.au

Ralph Sanderson  |  Manager, Regional Office  |  Tel: 62 21 2550 5551  |  Email: ralph.sanderson@dfat.gov.au

Sophie Viravong  |  Senior Thai, Lao, Burmese, and Cambodian Librarian  |  Tel: 61 2 6262 1288  |  Email: sviravong@nla.gov.au

Wan Wong (Ms.)  |  Senior Librarian, Chinese Unit  |  Tel: 61 2 6262 1613  |  Email: wwong@nla.gov.au

Universiti Brunei Darussalam

Dr. Haji Awang Suhaimi bin Haji Abdul Karim  |  President, Brunei Library Association  | Tel: (673)246-1088  |  Email: suhaimi@lib.ubd.edu.bn

Buddhist Institute Library (link is to Buddhist Institute home page)

Librarian  |  Email: budinst@gove.com

 

Center for Khmer Studies Library

Oum Daraneth (Mrs.)  |  Head Librarian  |  Tel: (855)063 964 385  |  Email: daraneth.library@khmerstudies.org

 

École française d'Extrême-Orient

Ma Vonita (Mr.)  |  Librarian Bibliothèque  |  Tel.: + 855 77 722245  |  Email: efeo.bib@gmail.com

 

National Library of Cambodia

Khlot Vibolla (Ms.)  |  Director and Deputy Director, Directorate of Books and Reading  |  Tel: 023-951-582  |  Email: khlot.vibolla@biblionationallibrarycamb.org

Thonevath Pou (Mr.)  |  Librarians Association  |  Tel: 012 83 12 04  |  Email: Thonevath@hotmail.com

The University of British Columbia

Shirin Eshghi Furuzawa  |  Head, Asian Library  |  Tel: (604)822-5905  |  Email: shirin.eshghi@ubc.ca

Xiamen University

Dr. Zhang Changhong  |  Director, Library of Research  |  Tel: 0086-592-2183537  |  Email: zchemily@xmu.edu.cn

Nordic Institute of Asian Studies

Inga-Lill Blomkvist (Ms.)  |  Librarian  |  Tel: +45 35 32 95 12  |  Email: ilb@nias.ku.dk

Per Hansen (Mr.)  |  Librarian  |  Tel: +45 35 32 95 11  |  E-mail: bib@nias.ku.dk

Anja Møller Rasmussen (Mrs.)  |  Chief Librarian  |  Tel: +45 35 32 95 14  |  Email: amr@nias.ku.dk

Aix-Marseille Université

Dr. Louise Pichard-Bertaux  |  Directrice-adjointe de l'IrAsia  |  Tel: 04 13 55 07 22  |  Email: louise.bertaux-pichard@univ-amu.fr

 

Bibliothèque Nationale de France

Giang Huong Nguyen  |  Chargée de Collections en Langue et Littérature d'Asie du Sud-Est  |  Tel: + 33 (0)1 53 79 52 30  |  Email: giang-huong.nguyen@bnf.fr

 

BULAC (Bibliothèque universitaire des langues et civilisations)

Uyen Le Bihan (Mrs.)  |  Librarian  |  Tel: +33 1 81 69 18 78  |  Email: uyen.le-tuong-khanh@bulac.fr

 

École française d'Extrême-Orient

Clement Froehlicher  |  Curator of the Library  |  Tel: 33 (0)1 53 70 18 41  |  Email: clement.froehlicher@efeo.net

Magali Morel (Mrs.)  |  Southeast Asia Collections Librarian  |  Tel: 33 (0)1 53 70 18 45  |  Email: magali.morel@efeo.net

University of Hamburg

Stella Schmidt  |  Librarian  |  Tel: 42838-2330  |  Email: Stella_Schmidt@Uni-Hamburg.de

 

Humboldt University

Uta Freiburger  |  Head Librarian  |  Tel: 0 30/20 93-66 91  |  Email: uta.freiburger@ub.hu-berlin.de

 

Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen

Reinhold Gruenendahl  |  Subject Specialist of South and Southeast Asian Languages  |  Tel: +49 551 / 39 5283  |  Email: ruenen@mail.sub.uni-goettingen.de

 

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin

Christina Grune  |  Southeast Asia Librarian,  Oriental Department  |  Tel.: +49 / (0) 30 - 266 - 24 90 Fax: +49 / (0) 30 - 264 - 59 55  |  Email: christina.grune@sbb.spk-berlin.de

 

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Stephanie Osterheider  |  Bibliothek, Institut für Ethnologie  |  Tel: +49 0251/924 010  |  Email: ifethno@uni-muenster.de

École française d'Extrême-Orient

Bibliothèque de l'Ecole française d'Extrême-Orient  |  Tel: + 62 21 781 14 76 or + 62 21 781 47 85  |  Email: efeo.jakarta@gmail.com 

Institute of Developing Economies-JETRO

Marie Kobayashi (Ms.)  |  Southeast Asia Librarian (Thailand collection)  |  Tel: 81-43-299-9711  |  Email: marie_kobayashi@ide.go.jp

Minami Tosa (Ms.)  |  Southeast Asia Librarian (Indonesia & Malaysia collections)  |  Tel: 81-43-299-9709  |  Email: minami_tosa@ide.go.jp

 

Kyoto University

Dr. Mikiko Ono  |  Assistant Professor and Chief Librarian  |  Tel: 81-075-753-7328  |  Email: onomkk@cseas.kyoto-u.ac.jp

 

National Diet Library

Hiroshi Tsukada (Mr.)  |  Director, Asian Resources Division  |  Tel: 0774-98-1370  |  Email: tsukada@ndl.go.jp

École française d'Extrême-Orient

Phit Anong Vinaiya (Ms.)  |  Librarian  |  Tel: +856 21 41 46 20  |  Email: phitanong@gmail.com

 

Mekong River Commission

Phaporn Sirimongkol  |  Head Librarian, Documentation and Learning Centre  |  Tel: (856-21) 263 263 ext 1037  |  Email: phaporn@mrcmekong.org

 

National University of Laos (link is to National University of Laos home page)

Chansy Phuangsouketh (Mr.)  |  Director, Central Library  |   Tel: (856-21) 770 937 or (020) 5618556  |  Email: chansy_p@yahoo.com

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia

Aripah Mohamed  |  Head, Malay World and Civilization Library (PATMA)  |  Tel: (03) 8921 5231  |  Email: aripah@ukm.my

Rosnah Suliman (Ms.)  |  Head of Southeast Asian Collection, Tun Seri Lanang Library  |  Tel: (03) 8921 5022  |  Email: ross@pkrisc.cc.ukm.my

National Library of Myanmar

Daw Mya Oo  |  Director  |  Tel: (951) 543309, 546981  |  Email: myaoo07@googlemail.com

 

Yangon University

Daw Su Su  |  Assistant Chief Librarian, Universities Central Library  |  Tel: (951) 535 847, 536927  |  Email: ucl@dhelm-edu.gov.mm

KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies

Marrik Bellen  |  Director, KITLV-Jakarta and Permanent Representative of Leiden University in Indonesia  | Tel: +62-(0)21-527 5988  |  Email: m.w.bellen@library.leidenuniv.nl

[note: KITLV-Jakarta is part of Leiden University Libraries in cooperation with the Indonesian Institute of Sciences]

 

Leiden University

Dr. Doris Jedamski  |  Subject Librarian, South & Southeast Asia, Tibet and Oceania  |  Tel: + (031) 071 527 1587  |  E-mail: d.a.jedamski@library.leidenuniv.nl

Dr. Marije Plomp  |  Subject Librarian, South & Southeast Asian Studies  |  Tel: + (031) 071 527 2864  |  Email: m.plomp@library.leidenuniv.nl

Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS)

Boo Qi Yu (Ms.)  |  Manager, Collection Management  |  Tel: (65) 68702499  |  Email: boo_qi_yu@iseas.edu.sg

Gandhimathy Durairaj (Ms.)  |  Senior Manager, Private Archives & Repository Management  |  Tel: (65) 68702431  |  Email: gandhi@iseas.edu.sg

Liang Shuang (Ms.)  |  Manager, Audio-Visual & Still Image Collection  |  Tel: (65) 68702451  |  Email: liang_shuang@iseas.edu.sg

Manoharan Mahalakshmi (Ms.)  |  Manager, Acquisitions & Subscriptions  |  Tel: (65) 68702482  |  Email: mano_mahalakshmi@iseas.edu.sg

Melisa Ong (Ms.)  |  Manager, Library Systems  |  Tel: (65) 68702481  |  Email: melisa_ong@iseas.edu.sg

Pitt Kuan Wah (Mr.)  |  Head  |  Tel: (65) 68702404  |  Email: kuanwah@iseas.edu.sg

Kimmy Xing Yidong (Ms.)  |  Manager, Reference and Circulation Services  |  Tel: (65) 68702440  |  Email: kimmy_xing@iseas.edu.sg

 

National Library Board

Ang Seow Leng (Ms.)  |  Senior Librarian, Content and Services  |  Tel: (65) 6332 6044  |  Email: ang_seow_leng@nlb.gov.sg

Makeswary Periasamy (Ms.)  |  Senior Librarian, Content and Services  |  Tel: (65) 6718 3395  |  Email: makeswary_periasamy@nlb.gov.sg

Timothy Pwee  |  Senior Librarian, Content and Services  |  Tel: (65) 6332 7788  |  Email: timothypwee@nlb.gov.sg

 

National University of Singapore

Chow Chai Khim (Ms.)  |  Librarian, Chinese Library  |  Tel: (65) 65162872  |  Email: clbcck@nus.edu.sg

Amy Lin Yung Mei (Ms.)  |  Deputy Head, Chinese Library  |  Tel: (65) 65162872  |  Email: clblinym@nus.edu.sg

Dr. Sim Chuin Peng  |  Head, Chinese Library  |  Tel: (65) 65162872  |  Email: chuinpeng@nus.edu.sg

Academia Sinica

Yi-hua Huang (Ms.)  |  Librarian, Center for Asia-Pacific Area Studies  |  Tel: (886) 2-2782-2191 or 886-2-2652-3373  |  Email: psealib@gate.sinica.edu.tw

École française d'Extrême-Orient 

Rosakon Siriyuktanont (Mrs.)  |  Head Librarian  |  Tel: + 66 53 27 24 21  |  Email: rosakonth@efeo.net or  libraryefeochiangmai@yahoo.com  

 

National Library of Thailand

Wilawan Sapphansaen (Mrs.)  |  Director  | Tel: +6602 281 3634  |  Email: director@nlt.go.th

The British Library

Dr. Sud Chonchirdsin  |  Curator, Vietnamese Collections  |  Tel: (00 44 0) 20 7412 7158  |  Email: sud.chonchirdsin@bl.uk

Dr. Annabel Teh Gallop  |  Head, Southeast Asia Section  |  Tel: (00 44 0) 20 7412 7661  |  Email: annabel.gallop@bl.uk

Jana Igunma  |  Curator for Thai, Lao and Cambodian Collections  |  Tel: (00 44 0) 20 7412 7653  |  Email: jana.igunma@bl.uk

Marja Kingma  |  Curator, Dutch Collections  |  Tel: (00 44 0) 20 7412 7764  |  Email: marja.kingma@bl.uk

San San May (Mrs.)  |  Curator, Burmese  |  Tel: (00 44 0) 20 7412 7655  |  Email: sansan.may@bl.uk

 

The Library of the Commonwealth Secretariat

David Blake  |  Librarian  |  Tel: (44) 0171 747 6164  |  Email: d.blake@commonwealth.int

 

University of Hull

Margaret Nicholson  |  South East Asia Librarian, Brynmor Jones Library  |  Tel: 01482-465269  |  Email: M.Nicholson@acs.hull.ac.uk

 

University of London

Dr. Jotika Khur-yearn  |  Subject Librarian, Southeast Asia/Pacific Islands  |  Tel: + 44 (0) 20 7898 4173  |  Email: jk53@soas.ac.uk

Arizona State University

Dr. Ralph Gabbard  |  Southeast Asia Subject Specialist  |  Tel: (480) 965-9652  |  Email: Ralph.Gabbard@asu.edu 

 

University of California, Berkeley

Virginia Shih  |  Librarian, Southeast Asia Collections and Interim Librarian, Middle East Collection  |  Tel: (510) 643-0850  |  Email: vshih@library.berkeley.edu

 

University of California, Irvine

Christina Woo  |  Research Librarian, Southeast Asian Archive  |  Tel: (949) 824-4974  |  Email: cjwoo@uci.edu

 

University of California, Los Angeles

Jade Alburo  |  Librarian, Southeast Asian Studies, Pacific Islands Studies, and Religion  |  Tel: (310) 825-7785  |  Email: jalburo@library.ucla.edu

 

University of California, Riverside

Kuei Chiu  |  Head of Collection Services  |  Tel: (951) 827-3705  |  Email: kuei.chiu@ucr.edu

 

The Center for Research Libraries

Judy Eckoff Alspach |  Global Resources Network and AMPs (Area Materials Projects) Program Manager  |  Tel: (773) 955-4545 x 323  |  Email: eckoff@crl.edu

James Simon  |  Vice President, Collections and Services  |  Tel: (773) 955-4545  |  Email: simon@crl.edu

Mary Wilke  |  Head, Acquisitions and User Services  |  Tel: (773) 955-4545  |  Email: wilke@crl.edu

 

Cornell University

Yen Bui  |  Original Cataloger  |  Tel: (607) 255-5752  |  Email: ytb1@cornell.edu

Gregory Green  |  Curator, John M. Echols Collection on Southeast Asia  |  Tel: (607) 255-8889  |  Email: ghg4@cornell.edu

Apikanya McCarty  |  Original Cataloger  |  Tel: (607) 255-5752  |  Email: am224@cornell.edu

Jeffrey Petersen  |  Southeast Asia Librarian, John M. Echols Collection on Southeast Asia  |  Tel: (607) 255-7229  |  Email: jwp42@cornell.edu

Sarah Ross  |  Original Cataloger  |  Tel: (607) 255-5752  |  Email: str1@cornell.edu

 

Duke University

Edward Proctor  |  Librarian, South and Southeast Asia International and Area Studies  |  Tel: (919) 660-5841  |  Email: edward.proctor@duke.edu 

 

The Genealogical Society of Utah

Daniel L. Ferguson  |  Cataloger II  |  Tel: (801) 240-6202  |  Email: FergusonDL@ldschurch.org

Stephen L. Nickle  |  Area Manager, Asia/Pacific/Africa  |  Tel: (801) 240-1219  |  Email: snickle@familysearch.org 

 

Harvard University

Richard Lesage  |  Librarian, South and Southeast Asia Collection Development  |  Tel: (617) 495-2508  |  Email: rlesage@fas.harvard.edu

Chan T. Phan  |  Vietnamese Collections Librarian  |  Tel: (617) 496-6007  |  Email: phan@fas.harvard.edu

 

University of Hawai’i at Manoa

Elena Clariza  |  Philippine Studies Librarian  |  Tel: (808) 956-2311  |  Email: mclariza@hawaii.edu

Rohayati Paseng  |  Head, Asia Collection  |  Tel: (808) 956-2309  |  Email: rohayati@hawaii.edu

 

Indiana University

Karen S. Farrell  |  Head, Area Studies and Librarian, South Asian and Southeast Asian Studies  |  Tel: (812) 855-5647  |  Email: karsfarr@indiana.edu

 

The Library of Congress 

Victoria Hill  |  Acting Assistant Chief  |  Tel: (202) 707-1956  |  Email: vhil@loc.gov

Dr. Carol Mitchell  |  Field Director, Southeast Asia Region  |  Tel: (62-21) 310-2127 or 3193-4236 or 3144-944  |  Email: clmi@loc.gov

Dr. Qi Qiu  |  Head, Scholarly Service Section, Asian Division |  Tel: (202) 707-0797 or 3193-4236  |  Email: qqiu@loc.gov

Hong Ta-Moore  |  Southeast Asian Collections Reference Librarian, Asian Division   |  Tel: (202) 707-3734  |  Email: dshao@loc.gov

Oemi Schmidgall-Tellings  |  Senior Cataloger, Malay and Indonesian Southeast Asia and South Asia  |  Tel: (202) 707-4335  |  Email: tosch@loc.gov

 

University of Michigan

Fe Susan Go  |  Librarian, Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands  |  Tel: (734) 764-7523  |  Email: fsgo@umich.edu

Sujira Meesanga  |  Thai/Lao Cataloger  |  Tel: (734) 936-2343  |  Email: noi@umich.edu

 

Michigan State University

Dr. Xian Wu  |  Asian Studies Bibliographer  |  Tel: (517) 884-0837  |  E-mail: wuxian@msu.edu

Northern Illinois University

Chalermsee Olson  |  Head, Cataloging Department  |  Tel: (815) 753-9805  |  Email: eteolson@niu.edu

Hao Phan  |  Southeast Asia Curator  |  Tel: (815) 753-1809  |  Email: hphan@niu.edu

 

Ohio University

Jeffrey L. Ferrier  |  Curator, International Collections  |  Tel: (740) 593-9957  |  Email: ferrier@ohio.edu

Cheng Yen Khoo  |  Southeast Asia Cataloger  |  Tel: (740) 597-1978  |  Email: khoo@ohio.edu

Jeffrey R. Shane  |  Southeast Asia Reference Librarian  |  Tel: (740) 593-2657  |  Email: Shane@ohio.edu

 

University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Pushkar Sohoni  |  Curator, South and Southeast Asian Collections  |  Tel: (215) 898-7460  |  Email: sohoni@pobox.upenn.edu

 

Stanford University

Dr. Joshua Capitanio  |  Public Services Librarian  |  Email: jcapitanio@stanford.edu

Lisa Nguyen  |  Curator, Digital Scholarship and Asia Initiatives |  Tel: (650) 723-2050  |  Email: lisa.nguyen@stanford.edu

 

University of Washington

Dr. Judith A. N. Henchy  |  Head, Southeast Asia Section  |  Tel: (206) 543-3986  |  Email: judithh@uw.edu

 

University of Wisconsin-Madison 

Larry Ashmun  |  Southeast Asian Studies Bibliographer  |  Tel: (608) 262-0344  |  Email: lashmun@library.wisc.edu

 

Yale University

Richard Richie  |  Librarian, South and Southeast Asian Studies and Public Services Librarian, African Studies  |  Tel: (203) 432-1858  |  E-mail: rich.richie@yale.edu 

École française d'Extrême-Orient

Nguyen Van Truong (Mr.)  |  Librarian  |  Tel: +84 438 22 06 23  |  Email: truongminhdungphuong@yahoo.fr

 

The General Sciences Library of Ho Chi Minh City

Bui Xuan Duc (Mr.)  |  Director  |  Tel: (848) 3822-5055  |  Email: gsl.hcmc@hcm.vnn.vn

 

Institute for Southeast Asian Studies

Nguyen Duc Hanh (Mrs.)  |  Head, Library Information and Documentation Department  |  Tel: (844) 6273-0418

 

National Library of Vietnam

Kieu Thuy Nga  |  Director  |  Tel: (844) 3936-4623  |  Email: phankimdung@nlv.gov.vn

 

United Nations Library/United Nations Development Program Hanoi

Do Thi Tuyet Nhung (Mrs.)  |  Chief Librarian  |  Tel: (844) 3825-3040  |  Email: ngakieu@nlv.gov.vn

 

Vietnam Development Information Center

Vu Thi Nha (Ms.)  |  Librarian  |  Tel: (844) 3934-6845

Tran Anh Quan (Mr.)  |  Assistant Librarian  |  Tel: (844) 3934-6845  |  Email: qtran1@worldbank.org

Loading

International Directory SEA Librarians

Links to Other Pages

Resource Overview          S/SEAL and the Southeast Asia Collections          Exhibits and Galleries         Special Collections          Subject Guides          International Directories

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.