Skip to main content

Religious Studies: About

About the Collection

Religious studies materials are collected in support of the research and teaching carried out at UC Berkeley.  Scholarly works on all of the world's major religions are collected.  Multimedia and electronic materials are acquired as well as print materials.  Most print materials in religious studies are in the Main (Gardner) Stacks in Doe Library.  The East Asian Library houses all materials in East Asian languages.

 

Electronic Resource Finder

Databases A-Z is a directory of the Library's databases and other online resources.  It is organized by subject (e.g. religious studies) or database type (e.g. dissertations),as well as by keyword (e.g. Bible in English).  It is a useful tool to help you choose the right resources for your particular research needs.

Catalogs

To find books, journals and other media owned by the UC Berkeley Library search Berkeley's OskiCat or the UC-wide MELVYL catalog.

GTU Library

The UC Berkeley Library maintains a cooperative collection development policy with the Graduate Theological Union Library, which provides for the sharing of collecting responsibilities for various aspects of religious studies between the two institutions.

Graduate Theological Union Library.  2400 Ridge Rd, Berkeley, CA 94709, 510-649-2500.  A consortium library uniting the holdings of nine seminaries. Collection strengths include Christian denominations, theology, practical theology, the Bible, church history and new American religious movements. Collections are available for use by UC Berkeley students with some restrictions. Holdings are listed in the UC System's Melvyl online catalog and the Union's own GRACE catalog.

Purchase Recommendation

If you'd like to recommend an item to be added to the collection, please use the Purchase Recommendation Form.

 

Connecting From Off Campus

UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can access Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Contact Info

Jan Carter
Contact:
jcarter@library.berkeley.edu
212 Doe Library
510-643-2281
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.