Skip to main content

South Asian Studies: Special Collections

Special Collections

Special Collections 

South Asians in North America Collection. This collection includes primary source materials, such as photographs, pamphlets, party literature, etc. in Punjabi, Hindi, Urdu, and English on this Indian nationalist party which was based in northern California during the first two decades of this century. BANC MSS 2002/78 cz, BANC FILM 2950, BANC PIC 2002.183--AX. See the online finding aid and the exhibit Echoes of Freedom: South Asia Pioneers in California, 1899-1965.

Gobind Behari Lal Collection, circa 1945-1979. 8 cartons of papers, notebooks, photographs and other items of Gobind Behari Lal, who came to UC Berkeley in 1912 on a scholarship, joined the Gadar Party and participated in the Indian independence movement, and later worked as a science journalist for Hearst newspapers, becoming the first Indian-American to win a Pulitzer Prize. BANC MSS 84/77c.  Photographs are located in BANC PIC 1984.081--AX

S.K. (Swarna Kumar) Mitri letters (1912 Dec 20-1913 Jan. 24). Four letters (10 p.) from a "Hindu student" to a fellow student at the University of California Berkeley. Includes details of Mitra's life in Bengal, India, where he married against his family's wishes and tried to start a boycott of British goods. He also writes about how he came to UC Berkeley and his feelings about the campus attitudes toward "foreigners." BANC MSS 2004/33c

Krishnabai Nimbkar papers, ca. 1931-1945. This was a gift in 1955 from Dr. Krishnabai Nimbkar's collection on India's Congress Party, including correspondence, papers, newsletters, and other documents relating primarily to the Indian independence movement. Includes mateirals issued by the Congress Socialist Party, Indian National Congress and other organizations and individuals. 0.4 linear feet. BANC MSS 83/131

Court Fee and Revenue Stamps of the Princely States of India. The court fee and revenue stamps were designed by the British as a means to collect taxes from residents of some of the Princely States as starting as early as 1797. The designs include the name of the state as well as the type and amount of tax imposed. This rich collection, including stamps from over 15 princely states, is a gift from Kenneth Robbins.

Henry Morse Stephens Collection. This is an early bequest in 1919 of an important collection relating to British India and Indian history.

Kipling Collection. This collection on Rudyard Kipling was begun in 1919 and expanded by a major purchase in 1963 of rare and scarce materials, first editions, manuscripts, typescripts, and ephemera.

Maps of South Asia. The map collection of the Library, housed in Giannini Hall, holds 4,500 maps and nautical charts of South Asia, in addition to world maps and general maps of Asia and the Indian Ocean region. There are also 65 atlases and gazetteers of the area.

Leo E. Rose Himalayan Collection. This collection was begun with extensive purchases made in Nepal by Professor Leo Rose on politics, history, and law in the 1950's and continued with purchases under the Himalayan Border Countries Projects from 1960 to 1969, and is currently enhanced by acquisitions under the Library of Congress Acquisitions Program. This collection includes microfilm of portions of the holdings of the India Office Library, London and the Nation Archives in New Delhi on the Himalayan region, with a concentration on Nepal. It is especially strong on the 19th and early 20th century period and is a unique resource in the U.S.

Contact Us

Adnan Malik
South Asia Curator
South/Southeast Asia Library
120 Doe Library
510-643-0849 x 1
email: amalik@library.berkeley.edu
 

Purchase Recommendation

What books do you need for your research? Use the Purchase Recommendation form to submit your suggestion.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.