In the late 1960s, the South/Southeast Asia Library at the University of California Berkeley obtained a selection of publications printed and distributed by the Gadar Party, a nationalist organization founded in 1913 by South Asian immigrants on the Pacific West coast of the United States and Canada. Realizing the importance of this collection, the library initiated a bibliographic project to catalog this collection and to locate related material in other libraries and archives on the Gadar Party and the immigrant community. This project resulted in the publication of South Asians in North America: an Annotated and Selected Bibliography (available in these UC Berkeley libraries: MAIN: E183.8.A12 S68 1988; DREF: E183.8.A12 S68 1988; SSEA: E183.8.A12 S68 1988; MREF: E183.8.A12 S68 1988).
In 2005, this historically significant collection was transferred to UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library and renamed the South Asians in North America collection. We continue to collect memorabilia, personal papers, correspondence, photographs, early publications, ephemera, posters, newsletters of early community organizations, and realia of the early South Asian immigrants to the United States, Canada, and other parts of the world. If you have material that you might wish to include in this unique archive, please contact Adnan Malik, South Asia Librarian, South/Southeast Asia Library, 120 Doe Library, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720. phone: 510-643-0849.
Photo above: Indian students at Berkeley residence hall, South Asians In North America Photograph Collection, Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley.