Skip to main content

South Asian Studies: Finding Library Materials

Finding Library Materials

For books and journal subscriptions held by UC Berkeley, use OskiCat. If you want to expand your search to all the UC campuses or other libraries worldwide, use Melvyl.

To look up articles within journals, use these recommended article databases for South Asian Studies. You can also see the all the databases UCB subscribes to, or see databases grouped by subject or by type

Find South Asia bibliographies and course guides here.

Ask a reference librarian for help finding materials, or consult the online help pages for articles and books.

 

Getting Material from NRLF

A large part of the library's collection is stored off campus in an environmentally secure building called the Northern Regional Library Facility [NRLF].

Submit online requests via the REQUEST button in OskiCat to borrow material shelved at NRLF. To receive electronic copies of book chapters or journal articles, submit an online request via the "Request an electronic copy" link that appears in eligible titles in OskiCat. Staff at public service desks of any campus library can assist you with further questions.

Illustration at left, from the South Asians in North America Collection, Bancroft Library.

Find eBooks

The Library offers over 100 e-book and e-text collections in specific subject areas. E-books in collections marked * are also available through OskiCat and Melvyl. You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."

Contact us

Adnan Malik
South Asia Curator
South/Southeast Asia Library
120 Doe Library
510-643-0849 x 1
email: amalik@library.berkeley.edu
 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.