Judaic, Yiddish and Israel Studies: Collection

Collection Overview

Jewish Studies at Berkeley is notable for its broad chronological and disciplinary scope. Fields ranging from Hebrew Bible, Talmud and Midrash through medieval Jewish history to modern Jewish history and thought, Hebrew and Yiddish literature all are extensively represented in the library’s collection. The library supports the research and instructional activities of faculty and students, both graduate and undergraduate, in disciplines including History, Comparative Literature, Near Eastern Studies, the Social Sciences and more.  The Librarian for the Judaic, Yiddish and Israel Studies Collection selects and acquires important new scholarship, belles lettres, government documents.

Online resources in Judaic. Yiddish and Israel Studies are constantly growing.  We have tried our best to choose the best resources we could find and will make every effort to keep this site up-to-date.  Your help is essential.  Please send us your comments and suggestions letting us know about problems you encounter or new sites you discover.

 

Giving to the Library

The Library welcomes gifts in all forms. Many private donors have made contributions toward the acquisition of research materials for the use of Berkeley faculty and students. This support is very important in sustaining the excellence of our collections and services.

The following types of gifts may be considered:

Memorial and Honorific Gifts
Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person are welcomed. Commemorative gifts are welcome to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and other significant events.

Named Endowment
Endowment funds may be established with a gift of $50,000 or more. These funds provide the library with an annual income in perpetuity and have a lasting impact on maintaining world class collections. The University invests its endowments carefully to achieve a healthy rate of return that provides for both current needs and long-term growth. If desired, a special book plate can be created and placed in each book.

Cash Gifts for Book Purchases
Contributions of any amount are welcomed and can be made directly to the Library using the online form. In the special instructions or designations for this gift section, you may specify a particular collection.

Book Donations
Gifts of scholarly materials and the results of research have historically represented a significant element in the development of Berkeley's outstanding research collections. We welcome individual gifts, but due to space and staff limitations, we must be judicious in accepting large contributions. Donations of recently published books are welcomed. New book purchases will be checked to ensure titles aren’t already on order.

Please contact Dirk Kennedy to discuss your donation of books.

For more information on gifts to the Library, please visit http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/give/makeagift.html.

Librarian

PAUL HAMBURG

Librarian, Judaica Collection

Copyright © 2014 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.