Skip to main content

RefWorks: RefWorks

This guide will help you use the online citation and research management tool RefWorks to organize citations from Library catalogs and databases.

Getting started with RefWorks

RefWorks logo
RefWorks can help you save, organize and share references. References can be added to your Microsoft Word documents as in-text citations and reference lists formatted in any citation style you choose. Sign up for a free account (free for UCB faculty, staff and students). 

RefWorks is web-based, so you can access it on any Internet-enabled device, including your smart phone or tablet.

You may also use RefWorks offline.

Access
To use RefWorks from off-campus, log in using the Proxy Server or VPNTo use RefWorks with the proxy server, you must first visit a non-https website, such as oed.com; then you can log on to RefWorksIf you are neither on campus, nor using the proxy server or VPN, you will need the UC Berkeley Group Code to create or access your RefWorks account.

Introducing the New RefWorks

New RefWorks has several features not included in "Legacy" RefWorks:

  • A clean, modern, intuitive interface
  • Works with Word and with Google Docs (UCB has Google Docs access via bDrive)
  • Works with Word 2016 (Mac)
  • Drag and drop PDF files to create a new reference in RefWorks
  • More sharing options: You can share with various permission levels

"Legacy" RefWorks will still be an option through 2017. However, you can use New RefWorks now:
Sign up for a new account using the link above, or click the Move to the newest version of RefWorks from ProQuest. link at the top of the Legacy RefWorks window, once you've logged on, to make the switch.

Go to the New RefWorks Guide from ProQuest

Introduction to Citation Management

You do allow embedded content.

An overview of citation management software.

Feeding Pigeons by Poddington Bear is licensed under an Attribution-NonCommercial License

Citation managers

Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

RefWorks

  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing
  • From ProQuest

Zotero

  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • Open source software from the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University
Mendeley
  • Free (up to 1 GB web storage) software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references
  • From Elsevier
EndNote
  • Discounted to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users
  • See our EndNote Support page for tutorials and additional information
  • From Thomson Reuters

More on citation management

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.