Reference managers (also called citation managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.
Wikipedia comparison of reference management software
Zotero was first developed as a Firefox extension and can be quickly added to Firefox by visiting zotero.org and clicking on the red "Download Now" button. Click the “Zotero 4.0 for Firefox” link. After installation, restart Firefox. You should now see the Zotero logo () in the status bar in the right bottom corner of your Firefox browser window and click to launch.
Collections: The left column includes My Library, which contains all items. Clicking the button above the left column creates a new collection, a folder into which items rleating to a specific project or topic can be placed.
Below that is the tag selector, where tags assigned to items can be added or removed.
Items: The items pane displays a list of all the items in each collection with icons that indicate the type of item (book, article, thesis, screenshot, etc.).
Item Details: This pane displays the bibliographic information that was imported by Zotero for each item. There are also options to add additional notes, attachments, links to the original sources, tags, and subject headings.
If you prefer another browser to Firefox, Zotero offers a Standalone option. It operates almost identically to the Zotero for Firefox extension, but cannot offer some advance features, like automatic proxy redirection and automatically importing file attachments when websites are accessed through a web proxy.
In order to scrape bibliographic metadata from websites, Zotero Standalone needs to communicate with the browser you are using, which can be done by installing a Zotero Connector: