Skip to main content

Economics: Intro

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Campus map of UCB Libraries

See also:

Purchase Recommendation

studying in the main stacksUse the Purchase Recommendation form to suggest items that the Library should consider for our collections. 

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Catalogs and Search Engines

Start Your Search.    Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform.  Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books. To read the text of a copyrighted book, use find in a Library link to locate the book at UC Berkeley or search

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library.

Economics Reference Sources

 

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Comprehensive encyclopedia of economics authored by over 1,500 contributors, providing a current overview of economics as well as classic essays. This is the go-to reference book for general essays and background information on economic concepts and issues.

 

Annual Review of Economics.  Reviews of the literature in economics for the year. See also the Annual Review of Financial Economics for reviews of the literature in finance.


EIU Country Reports and Profiles.  Studies of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries.

Jim Church

Jim Church
Contact:
Library Data Lab
189 Doe Library Annex
(By Appointment)

Office Hours
Wednesday 10-1
100E Blum Hall
Phone: 510 768-7611
Skype Contact

Electronic Resource Finder

One of the most important research section of the library web site is the Library Electronic Resource Finder. This is the library directory of databases and other information resources, organized by subject (e.g. political science) type (e.g. encyclopedias) as well as other categories. It also contains a link to a comprehensive listing of library e-journals.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.