Skip to main content

Philosophy: About

About the Collection

The Library's collections support the research needs and curriculum of the UC Berkeley Philosophy Department and the philosophical interests of many interdisciplinary programs on campus.  Multimedia and electronic materials are as actively acquired as print books and journals.  Most print materials in philosophy are in the Gardner (Main) Stacks in Doe Library.  Materials related to mathematical logic are located in the Mathematics-Statistics Library

 

A-Z Databases

A-Z Databases is a directory of the Library's databases and other online resources.  It is searchable by subject (e.g. philosophy),database type  (e.g. dissertations), as well as by keyword (e.g. Past Masters).  It is a useful tool to help you choose the right resources for your particular research needs.

Catalogs

To find books, journals and other media owned by the UC Berkeley Library search Berkeley's OskiCat or the UC-wide MELVYL catalog.

Howison

Howison Philosophy Library 305 Moses Hall, 642-2722.  The UC Berkeley Philosophy Department maintains its own collection of non-circulating materials.  Many of these titles appear in the Library's catalogs with the location of "Philosophy."

Purchase Recommendation

If you'd like to recommend an item to be added to the collection, please use the Purchase Recommendation Form.

 

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as OskiCat, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZProxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZProxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Contact Info

Jan Carter's picture
Jan Carter
Contact:
jcarter@library.berkeley.edu
212 Doe Library
510-643-2281
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.