Skip to main content

Sociology: Starting Points

Introduction

Sociology, n. The study of the development, structure and functioning of human society (Oxford English Dictionary)

"The function of sociology, as of every science, is to reveal that which is hidden." - Pierre Bourdieu, from On Television

To 'reveal that which is hidden' can be the challenge of using a large university library. This introduction offers help for research in sociology, listing core sources and giving tips on navigating our wealth of available databases. The adjacent tabs lead to suggested sources for some subjects of current interest. Sociology is interdisciplinary by nature, so remember there are guides for related disciplines such as anthropology, psychology, or economics. Learn the research interests of Berkeley scholars in the Sociology Department's pages for faculty and graduate students.

Source: AP Images

Start your search

At the library homepage the default search box will search hundreds of databases (see what's included). The online library catalog is called Oskicat and provides specifics about items in the physical collections and access points for digital resources. Melvyl searches libraries in the entire UC system, and also returns citations from a range of databases.

Journal Article Indexes and Collections

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Definitions, Reference and the Annual Review

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Campus map of UCB Libraries

See also:

Doe, Main Stacks, and Moffitt Library floorplans

Looking for a book or location in Doe, Main Stacks or Moffitt? 
Try the library floorplans for:

Or ask for assistance!

Statistics

Ready to use statistical sources, some with simple table and map creation functions. See also our guide for data and digital scholarship.

Jim Ronningen

Jim Ronningen's picture
Jim Ronningen
Contact:
Doe Library
(510) 642-4400 x1
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.