Comparative Literature: Home

Content

This guide serves as a directory for the following types of comparative literature resources:

Online Indexes

See specific subject pages for the best listing of indexes.

Print Indexes

Bibliography of Comparative Literature. Fernand Baldensperger and Werner P. Friederich. Chapel Hill, Univ. of North Carolina Press, 1950.
NRLF  PN 871 .A12 .B3
International but with a decided emphasis on Western scholarship. The 1960 reprint, not held by UCB, has a revision of the Scandinavian section.

Yearbook of Comparative and General Literature. v. 1, 1952-
Main Stack PN 853 .Y4
Volumes 1-19 contain an Annual Bibliography meant to supplement Baldensperger.

Index Translationum; World Bibliography of Translation.
Main Stack Z 1007 .I55, published 1932-1992.  The last published volume covers 1986.
Now onlineonly: http://www.unesco.org/culture/xtrans/
Covers translations registered after 1978. Taken together, the print and online constitute a list of books translated in the world, an international bibliography of translations.

La littérature comparée. Louis Paul Betz. Essai bibliographique. Introduction par Joseph Texte. 2.ed. augm. Strasbourg, K.J. Trubner, 1904.
NRLF  PN 871 .A12 .B4 1904
Bibliography of books and periodicals on comparative literature from medieval times through the 19th Century

Year’s Work in Modern Language Studies. London: Modern Humanities Research Association. 1929/30-
Main Stack PB 1 .M62; Most recent 10 v. in Doe Reference
Recent volumes have sections on Latin, Romance, Germanic, and Slavonic literatures. Scholars in the field survey the year’s scholarship on language and literature.  e-version 1930-1994

Contact Information

Michaelyn Burnette
Contact:
438 Doe Library
University of California, Berkeley 94720
(510) 664-9822
Copyright © 2014 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.