Library Guides: Literature in English: Newspapers

Best Bets

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]

Newspaper Databases

Whether looking for historical context, interviews, reviews or biographical information, the careful researcher ignores newspapers at their peril. News resources are especially helpful for finding information about contemporary authors and playwrights who are not yet the subjects of scholarly attention.

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains historical runs of newspapers selected by the British Library as representative. It contains regional and national papers in England as well as papers from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Content comes from penny papers read by the working class and papers advocating political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule.
Contains full runs of 49 papers selected by the British Library as representative. It contains regional and national papers in England as well as papers from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Content comes from penny papers read by the working class and papers advocating political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule.

Access World News
Provides full-text of over 2,000 U.S. and international news sources with strong regional coverage of hundreds of California papers. Coverage usually from 1990's on.
Times Digital Archive
Online access, fully searchable full text of over 200 years (1785 to 1985, with 1986 to 2003 added later this year) of The London Times, the "world's newspaper of record." [Note: "Sunday Times" is a distinct newspaper with no editorial connection to The Times London, and is not included in this database.]
Historical Newspapers Online
Contains four major historical resources: Palmer's Index to the Times, which covers The Times (London, 1790-1905); The Official Index to the Times (1906-1980); The Historical Index to the New York Times (1863- 1922); and Palmer's Full Text Online (1785-1870).
Early American Newspapers
Access to hundreds of historic newspapers published 1690-1820. Can be cross searched with Early American Imprints, Series I and II, Early American Newspapers, American State Papers, and US Congressional Serial Set through the Archive of Americana.
Chronicling America
This site allows users to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes papers digitized for the California Digital Newspaper Collection.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 400,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922.
Ethnic News Watch
Indexes over 330 ethnic, minority, and native press publications. Contains news, culture, and history searchable in both English and Spanish. Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1959-1989).

Newspapers & Microforms Collection

The Newspapers & Microforms Collection in Doe Library is free and easy to use for students.

Library use only.
Scan for free to a USB drive.
Ask for help!

Logistics:

40 Doe Library (Basement)
Hours
Floor plan

Secondary menu

Literature in English

Best Bets

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers & Microforms Collection