Skip to main content

Folklore: Home

Databases to Start With

MLA International Bibliography has articles in literature, linguistics, and folklore.

Anthropology Plus will include articles from an anthropological/cross-cultural perspective.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) includes English language and literature articles.

Humanities International Complete includes folklore articles and books.

Dissertations and Theses includes graduate work in folklore from across North America and some of Europe.

 

Motif Indexes

Motif-indexes and typologies attempt to classify a huge amount of folktales by sorting them according to common themes. Usually this does not include full text of folktales, but instead helps you to find folktales on a common theme; you then have to look up the references to find the articles or books elsewhere.

The classic is Stith Thompson's Motif-Index of Folk Literature (1989). This is in Doe Reference at GR 72 .56 .T48 1989, and on the web. The online Guide for Using Stith Thompson may be helpful.

Other books we have include:

Folklore

Help with Literature and Folklore

Stacy Reardon's picture
Stacy Reardon
Contact:
she/her
438 Doe Library
sreardon@berkeley.edu
510-664-7692
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Folklore, Literature

Contact Information

Celia Emmelhainz's picture
Celia Emmelhainz
Contact:
230 Kroeber Hall
510-642-5339
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.