Skip to main content
Find Books, Journal Titles, and More
Use OskiCat or Melvyl to find books or journal titles (not articles) by checking if UCB or UC has the journal. If UCB does not have it, you can request the book/article though the request feature in Melvyl.
Key Words & Subject Headings
Journals (Electronic and Print)
Check the E-Journal Titles A-Z List for electronic journals.
- ACE: Architecture, city and environment. -- Barcelona, Spain. 2006-.
- ADPSR Resource Guide [electronic resource]. Architects, Designers, Planners for Social Responsibility. Berkeley, CA: Northern California Chapter, Architects/Designers/Planners for Social Responsibility, 1993-. Also available in print.
- Arca. -- Milan, Italy. 1986-Current.
- Architectural Science Review. -- Sydney. 1958-. UCB Only. "The journal documents professional interest in environmental issues grounded in the science of heat, light, and sound "
- Dwell [electronic resource]. -- "Dwell is focused on demonstrating that modern design can be both functional and comfortable." Also available in print.
- E Magazine. -- The environmental magazine, includes product information and current literature.
- Ecotecture - the journal of ecological design. -- "Ecotecture's purpose is to empower our readers to solve environmental problems by providing them with information on a wide variety of ecologial design topics."
- Electronic Green Journal. -- includes peer reviewed articles, book reviews, news, and information on current printed and electronic sources concerning international environmental topics. Published semiannually by UCLA Library.
- Energy design update. -- UC Only. "Presents unbiased news & advice about developments in technology & regulation, objective product reviews, design & building tips, practical research reports, & tutorials."
- Environmental Building News [electronic resource]. -- UCB Only. 1992-Current. Also available in print.
- Environmental Design + Construction [electronic resource]. -- UC only. "EDC provides education for designing, constructing, remodeling, operating and maintaining the sustainable built environment as the official magazine for the LEED professional." Also avilable in print.
- GreenSource: the magazine of sustainable design. 2006-Current.
- International journal of environment and sustainable development [electronic resource]. -- UCB Only. Genève, Switzerland. 2002-.
- Journal of Green Building [electronic resource]. -- UCB Only. 2006-Current. Presents "the very best of practical applications (Part I) together with the very best of peer-reviewed research (Part II) in green building design and construction." Also available in print.
- Journal of Sustainable Product Design. Covers economic, environmental, ethical & social issues in product design & development.
- Journal of Urbanism: International Research on Placemaking and Urban Sustainability. A multi-disciplinary journal that focuses on human settlement and its relation to the idea of sustainability, social justice and cultural understanding.
- Reclaim : remediate reuse recycle / editors, Aurora Fernández Per, Javier Mozas. 2012. Bound issues of a+t [architecture + technology] journal : Spring-autum 2012, issue 39-40, includes index.
Indexes for Articles
Use Architecture Indexes for the core list of periodical indexes plus the following:
- Academic Search Complete - via EbscoHost - UC Only. A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals; full text for 5300+ journals.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - via CSA.- UC Only. This is the primary article index for architecture and all aspects of environmental design and planning.
- Business Source Complete - via EbscoHost - UCB Only. Includes citations to articles and abstracts in business/economics journals. Some full text.
- Cumulative Index to the Proceedings of the Environmental Design Research Association. - Environmental Design Research Association.
- Compendex - UCB Only. Indexes over 5,000 journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature and encompasses civil, structural, and mechanical engineering disciplines, as well as related fields in science and management.
- ENVIROnetBASE - UCB Only. A collection of handbooks in the environmental sciences.
- SciTech Connect - Hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy and includes millions of full text articles, multimedia and datasets.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database - UCB Only. Includes Ecology Abstracts, EID: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental RouteNet, Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts, and Pollution Abstracts.
- GreenFILE - UCB Only. Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic - UCB Only. Contains full text and abstracts of news, business, and legal information and provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles.
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses - UCB Only. Includes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities.
Building Codes & Regulatory Resources
Use to locate codes, especially for California & the San Francisco Bay Area, in the UC Berkeley libraries and on the internet.
Use for building systems, performance measurement, technology, materials etc.
Use for locating materials on climatic design and data.
Daylighting and Lighting Design
Use for resources on daylighting or natural lighting, planning, measurement, technology.
Heating, Ventilation, Air conditioning includes Solar Heating (Photovoltaics) & Cooling