Skip to main content

History: Britain & Ireland: Bibliographies

Finding bibliographies

A bibliography is list of bibliographic citations, (also called Works Cited, Literature Cited, Reference List) at the end of a journal article or book that lists the sources used by an author.

Bibliographies can also be research tools that bring together in one location (either print or electronic) citations from articles, books, book chapters, disserations, conference proceedings, primary matierials, and other academic sources about a specific topic. That topic might be broad, such as "Medieval history" or very narrow, such as "Red-haired women mentioned in courtly litearature."

Bibliographies can be useful for discovering additional sources for your research. Since they include many different types of sources, it is important to be able to identify the type of source from the citation, in order to locate it.

Do a keyword search in the library catalog for your topic and bibliograph* (which will look for bibliography, bibliographic, or bibliographies). You can limit your search to Doe Reference, but many bibliographies are located in the regular stacks of the libraries across campus.

bibliography search

 

National Historical Bibliographies

Austria

Österreichische historische Bibliographie = Austrian historical bibliography. 1967-.

France
Répertoire bibliographique de l'histoire de France. 1920-31. Doe Ref DC6 .R37
Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France. 1953-. Doe Ref DC6 .C65

Germany
Jahresberichte der Geschichtswissenschaft, 1880-1916 HathiTrust
Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte. (1925-1980). MAIN and NRLF DD1 .J3
1974- available online

Historische Bibliographie. 1986-. MAIN and NRLF D1 .H63
1990- available online.

Italy
Bibliografia Storica Nazionale. 1939-99. MAIN and NRLF D4 .B485
2000- available online.

Netherlands
De Digitale Bibliografie Nederlandse Geschiedenis.

Spain
Indice histórico español. 1953-. MAIN and NRLF DP7 .I5

Sweden
Swedish Historical Bibliography

Switzerland
Bibliographie der Schweizergeschichte 1913-1974
1913-2007 MAIN and NRLF DQ2 .B5

Bibliographies on Britain and Ireland

Other Research Guides

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.