Digitized archive of selected 19th century newspapers. (Nineteenth Century British Newspapers)
Contains full runs of 49 papers selected by the British Library as representative. It contains regional and national papers in England as well as papers from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Content comes from penny papers read by the working class and papers advocating political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule.
These British historical newspapers bring history to life by presenting facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries. [1791 - 2003]
The Guardian and The Observer have reputations for fearless reporting and controversial opinions. The Guardian was first published in response to the Peterloo Massacre. Originally known as the Manchester Guardian, it was a Saturday-only paper until the newspaper stamp duty was repealed in 1855. The Observer, the world's oldest Sunday paper, was first published in 1791. Thought-provoking writers such as GeorgeOrwell, Vita Sackville-West, Clive James, Philip Toynbee, and others were contributors, continuing a tradition of freedom of the press and providing serious coverage of politics and literature.
Full text and index of newspapers covering British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes digitized articles from the Times (London) from 1800-1870, as well citations to the Times (London) from 1790-1980, and a partial index of the New York Times from 1863-1922. (Palmer's Full Text Online - Palmer's Index to the Times - Official Index to the Times - Historical Index to the New York Times)
Indexes newspapers covering all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains four major historical resources: Palmer's Index to the Times which covers The Times (London, 1790-1905); The Official Index to the Times (1906-1980); The Historical Index to the New York Times (1863- 1922); and Palmer's Full Text Online (1785-1870).
Includes the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune.
150 years of the Emerald Isle's turbulent history, rich culture, and complex political climate. (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) [1859-2011]
Full-text of key Irish newspaper from 1859-2011. The historical Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting as well as sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, and more. Each issue contains in-depth analysis and lively debate of current events. The Weekly Irish Times' coverage includes The Times Pictorial. From the aftermath of the Great Famine, the launch of the Titanic, and the Easter Rising of 1916, to the World Wars, the Troubles, and today's most pressing global social issues, Ireland's only independent newspaper lends its authoritative voice to local and international events alike.
A collection of newspapers and periodicals supporting the ideology of communism, published in the US and UK. Dates range from 1848 through 1978, with most coverage in the early 20th century. There are some gaps in coverage.
Police Gazette (London, England)
1797-1827 First published as The hue and cry, and police gazette published by authority. Located on microfilm in the Newspapers & Microforms Library, call number MICROFILM 78647.
1828-1840, 1848-1856, 1858, 1866-1869, 1871-1900 Police gazette. Located on microfilm in the Newspapers & Microforms Library, call number MICROFILM 78647.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: Daily Scotsman (1859-1859), Scotsman (1817-1858), Scotsman (1860-1920), and Scotsman (1921-1950).
The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. (Seventeenth to Eighteenth Century)
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.
Articles from The Sunday Times, London. [1822 - 2006]
180 years and 600,000 pages of the The Sunday Times. (Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times is an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.)
Online access, fully searchable full text of over 200 years (1785 to 1985, with 1986 to 2003 added later this year) of The London Times, the "world's newspaper of record." [Note: "Sunday Times" is a distinct newspaper with no editorial connection to The Times London, and is not included in this database.] [1785 - 2006]
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. [1838 - 2005]
Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
National Library of Wales provides digitized access to 120 different Welsh and English language newspaper titles from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Full text of important and often rare journals printed between the late seventeenth and early nineteenth centuries in Great Britain. (18th Century Journals - Eighteenth Century Journals I Online - Eighteenth Century Journals II Online - Eighteenth Century Journals Portal) [1680-1835]
The collections cover all aspects of British life including history, science, music, society, literature and theater. There is minimal overlap with EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO. Contains material from the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library which includes 95 rare journals printed between 1693 and 1799. Also contains materials from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center which houses 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals. (18th Century Journals - Eighteenth Century Journals I Online - Eighteenth Century Journals II Online - Eighteenth Century Journals Portal)
All issues of The Economist published between 1843 and 2015.
Includes the complete searchable copy of more than 8000 issues of the Economist since it was first published in 1843 through 2015. Also includes Supplements, Special Issues and Surveys.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. [1880 - 2000]
The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Includes:
Annual Register
Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine
Gentleman's Magazine
Notes and Queries
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society
The Builder
This collection will have the archives of 26 magazines devoted to LGBTQ interests including a complete run of The Advocate. Also includes a number of UK-based titles such as Gay News. Provides cover-to-cover coverage. Titles are still being added to this collection.
This resource from the special collections of the Oxford Brookes University brings together the main periodicals of the Wesleyan movement, beginning with the minutes of its earliest conference in 1744 and The Arminian magazine in 1778, and continuing through to the twentieth century.
Welsh Journals provides access to journals relating to Wales published between 1735-2007. Titles range from academic and scientific publications to literary and popular magazines.
A digitized version of the Library of Congress's extensive list of US and Foreign newspapers that are available in microfilm format. Library holdings are also included, but as this publication has not been updated since 1983, that information cannot be relied upon. Check WorldCat for current holdings information.
