This resource is proposed for cancellation due to budget reductions. The comment period is open through Friday, April 6. We invite you to submit comments via email to firstname.lastname@example.org or directly with your subject librarian.Collection of British pamphlets from the nineteenth century held in UK research libraries.
Full text images of several collections including: pamphlets from Bristol University Foreign and Commonwealth Collection, the Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, the Hume Tracts, and the Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection. Subjects range from colonial affairs to social reform to universal suffrage.
The documents in this collection—including conference reports, leaflets, lectures, minutes of meetings, pamphlets, periodical articles, and speeches—encompass the development of socialism in the late nineteenth century and examine the touchstones of the labor movement, such as strikes, the movement to establish an eight-hour workday, and the role of women in the workplace.
These reports cover the history of poor schools and the societies that ran them in Britain, including schools from the Anglican and Wesleyan denominations as well as secular and Catholic schools, and chart the rise of education for the poor from the industrial revolution to the Victorian era.
Comprehensive coverage of nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. (19th Century Index) [1800 - 1899]
C19 Index draws on the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.
Digitized letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle based on the print volumes that make up The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle, published by Duke University Press.
Electronic access to more than 10,000 letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle based on the print volumes that make up The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle, published by Duke University Press. The collection is searchable, or browsable by correspondent, subject, and date.
Reports of the first statistical society in Britain, the subjects of which are primarily industry, labor, the economy, transport, health, education and law. Part One covers the Papers (1833-1843) and the Transactions (1853-1876) of the Society. Part Two covers the years 1876 to 1901.
Digital collection of fiction, cartoons, maps, posters, ballads, advertisements, broadsides, and reform literature relevant to the social history of London from 1800 to 1910.
Sourced from the Lilly Library at the University of Indiana (Bloomington), the resources includes digitized material from important collections relating to life in the London: Michael Sadleir's Ephemera, Chapbooks, the Virginia Warren Collection of Old Street Cries, Rare Books, Periodicals, Tallis's Street Views, London Maps and George Gissing's scrapbook from the Pforzheimer Collection. Coverage extends from the 18th-20th centuries, but the bulk of the content is from the 19th century.
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works. [1800 - 1926]
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and over 21,000 works.
Primary source material from the nineteenth century and beyond. Particularly strong in British politics and society, European literature, Asia and the West, British popular culture, and photography. (19th Century Collections Online) [19th Century]
Primary source material from the nineteenth century and beyond. Particularly strong in British politics and society, European literature from 1790-1840 (via the Corvey collection), Asia and the West, and British popular culture. Includes more than 1 million images from the "Photography: The World Through the Lens" collection.
Digitized texts of over 420 published trial narratives printed in the United States or the United Kingdom from 1815 to 1914, dealing with divorce, domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, custody of children, murder, and sexual violence.
Hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.
Voyages by rail, road, sea and air are all covered as are walking, cycling and even a journey by stagecoach. Some items are relatively brief such as the record of a car journey when cars were relatively new, which records the places that were passed through, the weather and the road conditions. Others are daily journals which describe long tours of Europe, where all the details of the trip are meticulously recorded. Then there are scrapbooks containing fantastic visual material such as photographs, postcards, cuttings and sketches and other ephemera.
Full text archive of poetry, children's books, novels, political tracts, and travelogues written by lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.
Includes poetry, children's books, novels, political tracts, and travelogues written, in English, by nearly 50 women. It focuses on archiving the works of women writers (e.g., Eliza Keary, Dollie Radford, Felicia Skene) that are out of print or absent from anthologies of this period.
Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club (1836-1837) by Charles Dickens
The Life and Adventures of Martin Chuzzlewit (1843-1844) by Charles Dickens
Dealings with the Firm of Dombey and Son (1846-1848) by Charles Dickens
The Personal History, Adventures, Experience, & Observation of David Copperfield the younger (1849-1850) by Charles Dickens
Little Dorrit (1855-1857) by Charles Dickens
The Virginians (1857-1859) by William Makepeace Thackeray.
Orley Farm (1861-1862) by Anthony Trollope
Our Mutual Friend (1864-65) by Charles Dickens
Archival sources from 19th and 20th century Britain and North America related to Spiritualism, Sensation & Magic, Circuses, Sideshows & Freaks, Music Hall, Theatre & Popular Entertainment, and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema.
The resource includes both print and visual primary source materials, including books, periodicals, advertisements, postcards, films, photographs, memorabilia, scripts, sheet music, and much more.