Skip to main content

United Nations: Introduction

Guide to information created by the UN and the UN Family of Organizations

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

Campus map of UCB Libraries

See also:

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

United Nations News

Loading

UC Berkeley Libraries and the United Nations

The University of California Berkeley has been a Depository for the United Nations since 1948 and also owns documents and publications from the League of Nations. Current UN Documents are primarily online and available using the tools below.  Publications (e.g. books, journals, and statistical annuals) are frequently online but may also be found using the library catalogs Oskicat and Melvyl

To get started finding United Nations and other International Governmental Organization (IGO) Information you may wish to try the following IGO Custom Search Engine, which searches hundreds of IGO urls.

 

Key United Nations Databases

AccessUN. Indexes current and retrospective United Nation documents from 1946. Most documents are included in the companion microfiche collection from 1984 (GREF Microfiche 10982.)

UNBISnet. Most comprehensive database for UN documents & publications, from the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Includes speeches, voting records, and resolutions. Full text from 1993, bibliographic records from 1979.

UN-I-QUE. Reference database providing quick access to UN document symbols, focusing on documents of a recurrent nature: annual and periodic reports of commissions, legislative debates, etc.

United Nations Official Documents System (ODS). Full-text database of United Nations documents since 1993, as well as resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship from 1946.

United Nations Yearbook Collection. Highly recommended as a starting point. UN Documentation is immense: the Yearbook provides a summary of key events and citations to important documents. 

UN Meetings Coverage and Press Releases.  From October 1995. Press Releases are not official documents but provide timely information on the current activities of the principal organs and subsidiary bodies, including summaries of meetings.

UN Member States: On the Record.  Links to standard searches for Member States in  UN databases.  Searches available for each State include: key documents related to its membership in the UN; statements made before the principal organs; draft resolutions sponsored; periodic reports submitted on Human Rights conventions, and more.

UN Reference Books

Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Handbook of the United Nations. Sixty years of history of the United Nations, written by scholars, analysts, and practitioners on the key topics and debates.

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online. Includes the Encyclopedia of The United Nations and International Agreements, the United Nations General Assembly, and many more.

UN Research Guides

Global Issues. Reference tool for links to online documents, agencies, and other resources on a range of UN topics.

United Nations Research Guide(Dag Hammarskjöld Library).  Wide range of research guides on all major topics the UN addresses: from development and peace and securuity to happiness.

United Nations Documentation: An Overview.  Guide to the documentation system of the United Nations. If you wish to understand the structure, organization, and symbols of UN bodies and their documents look no further.

Research Guide: The United Nations. From the Columbia University Law School. Detailed information about UN documents, symbols, and publishing.

United Nations Documentation: Research Guide. (Dag Hammarskjöld Library). Overview of documents and publications of the UN and how to work with them. 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.