Ag Data Commons (U.S. Department of Agriculture). Repository covering a variety of agricultural topics, such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor). Includes data on inflation, productivity, (un)employment, and pay.
Data.gov - Agriculture. Features data and statistics related to agricultural production, food security, rural development, nutrition, natural resources, and regional food systems.
IPUMS. Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Includes IPUMS USA, U.S. Census and American Community Survey microdata, plus IPUMS Terra, which integrates data on population and the environment.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA). NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Included is the Census of Agriculture: uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States. NASS statistics are available via Quick Stats, which enables searching by commodity for data going back to the 1800s.
SafeGraph. Consumer point-of-Interest data for U.S. and Canada, available free to academics (use your .edu email to get access).
*Statistical Abstract of the United States. Summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States with data from a variety of federal agencies. Earlier editions back to 1878 are also available.
USA Trade Online. A dynamic data tool provided by the U.S. Census Bureau that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. Create a free account to use USA Trade Online.
Centre for PRTR Data. Includes PRTR (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers; U.S. version is the Toxic Release Inventory) data from selected OECD countries.
*EMIS - In-depth coverage of company analysis, industry research, economic reports, forecasts, market dailies, macroeconomic statistics, deals and financial reports for emerging market economies.
FAOStat. A source of economic data for all types of agriculture around the world. Includes trade, production, price, emissions, and more.
FluxNet. Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from hundreds of micrometeorological tower sites located on 5 continents and representing many ecosystems.
International Energy Agency. Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas, oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences and provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. One study is the RICE Model (Regional Integrated model of Climate and the Economy), which examines alternative outcomes for emissions, climate change, and damages under different policy scenarios.
Land Matrix - data on large-scale land acquisitions in nearly 100 low- and middle-income countries.
*OECD iLibrary Statistics. Gateway to Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development’s analysis and data. You can browse data by theme or country, or by database or indicator. Includes statistics from the International Energy Agency.
Tridge. Global market Intelligence for food and agriculture. You may be required to create an account, and some content only available to paid subscribers.
World Agricultural Outlook Board (USDA). The WAOB maintains the monthly World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates report. This website also contains a weekly weather and crop bulletin.
World Environment Situation Room (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including freshwater, population, forests, emissions, climate, disasters, health and GDP.
World Input-Output Database. Time series of national and world input-output tables, socio-economic accounts, and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries in the world.
World Resources Institute. Data from WRI, a global research organization that works to sustain natural resources, focusing on six critical issues at the intersection of environment and development: climate, energy, food, forests, water, and cities and transport.
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Access to business packages within this resource have been discontinued effective 6/30/24 due to library budget cuts." A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart@library.berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
Web-based data service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Provides access to financial, economic, accounting, and marketing data. Current Berkeley students, staff, and faculty may request an account using a Berkeley email address. Please allow 7 days for account approval, and be prepared to describe how you plan to use WRDS in your academic research.
Macroeconomic, industrial, and financial data for countries world wide. Click Guest Access for immediate access. Registration is free for UC Berkeley students staff and faculty and offers enhanced features.
Provides detailed macroeconomic data with more than one million time series for 121 countries, including National Accounts, Balance of Payments, Production, Sales,& Inventory, Banking, Construction, Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates, Government Finance, Investment, Demographics and Labor Markets, Economic & Household Surveys, Tourism, Inflation, Transport and Telecommunication, and Domestic & International Trade. Sources include International Organizations and National Statistics Offices.
Industry research reports and profiles for hundreds of United States industries.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
Collects information on currently implemented policies related to climate change mitigation from countries worldwide. The downloadable and browseable database, drawn from more than a dozen sources, includes policies from nearly every country in the world and lists the policies’ names, jurisdictions, years of enactment, general objectives, and more.
The Earth Sciences & Map Library supports geographic information system (GIS) software and data services across all disciplines for the UC Berkeley campus. The library collects GIS data for areas around the world, with an emphasis on the San Francisco Bay Area and northern California.
