It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The MRLO contains over 4,000 entries and 200 plus illustrations covering pre-modern European history and culture.
The database includes complete coverage of four medieval studies encyclopedias: Encyclopedia of Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, and Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Searches can be performed across encyclopedias or limited to one title.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art, written by over 100 distinguished art historians and specialists, provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques.
Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this best-selling and authoritative dictionary is more wide-ranging than any comparable reference work. It contains over 2,500 clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries
The Cambridge Companion to Dante by Rachel Jacoff (Editor)This 2007 second edition of The Cambridge Companion to Dante is designed to provide an accessible introduction to Dante for students, teachers and general readers. The volume was fully updated and includes three new essays on Dante's works. The suggestions for further reading now include secondary works and translations as well as online resources. The essays cover Dante's early works and their relation to the Commedia, his literary antecedents, both vernacular and classical, biblical and theological influences, the historical and political dimensions of Dante's works, and their reception. In addition there are introductory essays to each of the three canticles of the Commedia that analyse their themes and style. This edition will ensure that the Companion continues to be the most useful single volume for new generations of students of Dante.
Publication Date: 2007-02-15
The Cambridge Companion to the Italian Renaissance by Michael Wyatt (Editor)The Renaissance in Italy continues to exercise a powerful hold on the popular imagination and on scholarly enquiry. This Companion presents a lively, comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and current approach to the period that extends in Italy from the turn of the fourteenth century through the latter decades of the sixteenth. Addressed to students, scholars, and non-specialists, it introduces the richly varied materials and phenomena as well as the different methodologies through which the Renaissance is studied today both in the English-speaking world and in Italy. The chapters are organized around axes of humanism, historiography, and cultural production, and cover a wide variety of areas including literature, science, music, religion, technology, artistic production, and economics. The diffusion of the Renaissance throughout Italian territories is emphasized. Overall, the Companion provides an essential overview of a period that witnessed both a significant revalidation of the classical past and the development of new, vernacular, and increasingly secular values.
Publication Date: 2014-06-26
Dante Encyclopedia by Richard Lansing (Editor)The Dante Encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource that presents a systematic introduction to Dante's life and works and the cultural context in which his moral and intellectual imagination took shape.
How to Read Italian Renaissance Painting by Stefano ZuffiFilled with great masterpieces by such artists as Botticelli, Leonardo, Raphael, Michelangelo, Masaccio, Piero della Francesca, Mantegna, and Titian, How to Read Italian Renaissance Painting takes the reader into their world. As in the internationally successful and innovative How to Read a Painting, each spread uses an important painting as a way to explain a key concept, with numerous large details. Here, 180 works illuminate key ideas in Renaissance painting, from "perpective" and "the golden section" to "grace" and "symbolism." In addition, there are brief biographies of the major artists. The result is an original, accessible, and affordable volume that offers an introduction into the art and culture of the Italian Renaissance.
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Italian Renaissance Art by Christiane L. Joost-GaugierRichly illustrated, and featuring detailed descriptions of works by pivotal figures in the Italian Renaissance, this enlightening volume traces the development of art and architecture throughout the Italian peninsula in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. A smart, elegant, and jargon-free analysis of the Italian Renaissance - what it was, what it means, and why we should study it Provides a sustained discussion of many great works of Renaissance art that will significantly enhance readers' understanding of the period Focuses on Renaissance art and architecture as it developed throughout the Italian peninsula, from Venice to Sicily Situates the Italian Renaissance in the wider context of the history of art Includes detailed interpretation of works by a host of pivotal Renaissance artists, both well and lesser known
Publication Date: 2013-03-04
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion by Simon Price (Editor); Emily Kearns (Editor)The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion offers a fully rounded (and highly authoritative) point of access to all aspects of ancient religious life and thought.Dr Simon Price and Dr Emily Kearns, area advisers for the third edition of The Oxford Classical Dictionary, have come together to select, revise, edit, and in some cases wholly recast, a large number of key entries from OCD to create this handy, accessible reference work on mythology and religion inthe Graeco-Roman world. Bringing to the attention of a wider audience the authority and scholarly rigour of OCD, The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion provides students, teachers, and general readers with an affordable comprehensive, and wide-ranging A-Z reference source.The Dictionary is unique in that in addition to Greek myths and Roman festivals it covers Greek and Roman religious places, monuments, religious personnel, divination, astrology, magic, and it also contains many entries on Judaism and Christianity in Greek and Roman times.A-Z entries include:AUTHORSGeneral: Aeschylus, Aesop, Cicero, Euripides, Homer, Ovid, Pindar, VirgilChristian: Ambrose, Cassian, Irenaeus, Jerome, Origen, TatianJewish: Ezechiel, Jason, PhilonMythographers: Apollodorus, Hesiod, PalaephatusPhilosophers: Anaxagoras, Aristotle, Epicurus, Plato, Socrates, XenophanesTEXTSGeneral: Acts of the Pagan Martyrs, epic, fable, libri pontificales, tragedyChristian: Epistle to DiognetusJewish: Dead Sea Scrolls, Mishnah, TalmudCHRISTIANITYGeneral: Acts of the Apostles, Clement of Rome, Gnosticism, martyrs, Priscillianists, VulgateGODS AND HEROESGeneral: angels, epiphany, river gods, wind-godsAnatolian: Men, SandasEgyptian: Apis, Isis, PtahEtruscan: Nortia, VoltumnaGreek: Aesepus, Alastor, Apollo, Chloe, Demeter, Eros, Hebe, Iacchus, Nemesis, Pan, Phanes, Themis, ZeusMesopotamian: IshtarPersian: Anahita, ZoroasterRoman: Anna Perenna, Bona Dea, Concordia, Diana, Flora, Hercules, Janus, Libertas, Neptunus, Ops, Pax, Rumina, Sol, Tellus, VictoriaSyrian: Jupiter DolichenusHEROESGreek: Oebalus, PhytalusIDEASReligious concepts: Aither, asceticism, atheism, chastity, eunomia, fasting, fate, invulnerability, monotheism, pneuma, sin, soulDeath: catacombs, cemeteries, Hades, imagines, ThanatosPhilosophy: Neoplatonism, Peripatetic school, StoicismIMAGERYIconography: attitudes to art, pottery, Greek sculpture, Roman sculptureJUDAISMapocalyptic literature, Dead Sea Scrolls, Jewish-Greek literature, Maccabees, rabbis, synagogue, ZealotsLOCAL AND REGIONAL RELIGIONSIncludes: Anatolian, Arcadian, Argive, Attic, Boeotian, British, Celtic, Corinthian, Cretan, Egyptian, Etruscan, Greek, Italic, Macedonian, Magna Graecia, Mesopotamian, Messenian, Minoan and Mycenaean, Mycenae, Oriental, Persian, Phoenician, Phrygian, Rhodian, Roman, Scythian, Sicilian, Spartan,Theban, Thracian, TrojanMAGICamulets, curses, iynx, pharmacology, theurgyMYTHSGeneral: genealogy, golden age, nymphsEtruscan: TagesGreek: Acarnan, Aganippe, Baucis, Callisto, Calypso, Codrus, Daphnis, Echidna, Erysichthon, Ganymedes, Hector, Hermione, Iapetus, Laomedon, Marsyas, Molossus, Odysseus, Palladium, Paris, Penelope, Phoebe, Salmoneus, sphinx, Telephus, Tityus, XuthosRoman: Aeneas, Dido, Mezentius, Tarpeia, VerginiaORGANIZATIONReligious groups: amphictiony, collegium, orgeones, thiasosReligious officials: archontes, Divitiacus, heralds, temple officialsGreek religious officials: Diotima, exegetes, kanephoroi, PolyeidusRoman religious officials: aedituus, Flamines, haruspices, SaliiSocial organization: children, genos, patricians, phratriesPEOPLEHistorical: Apollonius of Tyana, Augustus, Decius, Herod the Great, Maccabees, Melito, Polycarp, Symmachus, ThrasyllusPLACESGeneral: Achelous, Alpheus, Argos, Claros, Cythera, Delphi, Dodona, Eryx, Helicon, Ithaca, Masada, Pelion, Styx, ThermumMythological: Arimaspeans, Eridanus, Symplegades, TartarusReligious: churches, forum, Greek houses, Isthmia, Mona, mundus, Olympia, Palici, Phidias, sanctuaries, stoa, templumAthens: Dipylon, ParthenonAttica: Brauron, Colonos, is, SuniumItaly: Alba Longa, Ardea, Lavinium, PyrgiRome: Ara Pacis, Atrium Vestae, Palatine, Pantheon, Tiber, VaticanRITUALSDivination: Albunea, Bacis, Claros, Dodona, eclipses, oracles, portents, Siwa, TrophoniusFESTIVALSGeneral: athletics, dancing, pantomime, wrestlingGreek: Apaturia, Carnea, Dorian festivals, Isthmian Games, Olympian Games, tragedyRoman: Equirria, Fornacalia, Ludi, Parentalia, Secular GamesReligious objects: cakes, fig, fire, honey, ivory, lead, olive, relics, waterRites: ritual, birthday, cookery, gestures, marriage ceremonies, menstruation, milk, oaths, prayer, transvestism, travel, wineGreek rites: aparche, first-fruits, maschalismos, Paean, sacrifice, titheRoman rituals: apex, consecratio, epulum, lustration, triumphTIMEapophrades, fasti, time-reckoningThere are many extra features in this volume: a substantive introduction on the study of the religious history of antiquity, which includes an annotated bibliography; key texts flagged at the end of individual entries; three maps; and five genealogical tables.