Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Studies 102: Scope and Methods of Research: Intro

Introduction

The library is still here help you during the campus closure. If you need a book but can't find an electronic version you can Request eBook purchases. You can also access digitized materials via the HathiTrust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service, which provides online access to many books held by libraries across the UC system. For additional information about ongoing library services please see Library services and resources during COVID-19.

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

See also:

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as OskiCat, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Catalogs and Search Engines

Start Your Search. Books, ebooks, journal articles, JSTOR, and other content rolled into one integrated library platform.  Does not include content from many business databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Books. Search the text of books, view previews still in copyright, and read full text of out-of-copyright books. To find a copyrighted book, use the "find in a Library" link to locate the book at UC Berkeley.

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Law Library.

Citation Management

Citation or reference management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses.

  1. Zotero: A free plug-in that works exclusively with the Firefox browser: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service.
  2. RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users: creation of an account is required. Refworks allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Please read the detailed instructions for creating a new account or migrating your citations from the legacy version to the new one.
  3. EndNote: Reference management software that allows users to store references and related materials in a searchable personal library.  Please see the link for information about pricing and setting up a trial, and detailed instructions for using the software.

Detailed information about all of these tools can be found on the library guide to managing citations