Library Guides: General Microbiology PMB / MCB C112: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles in Microbiology

Search article databases to find journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters.

To access full text, look for

Top Choices for Finding Articles:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC eLinks / Get it at UC full text links.
PubMed: Searching Tips & More - guide to using the PubMed interface

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Advanced search: access via upper left triple bar (hamburger) button: search authors, article titles, journal titles, date ranges, more.
Show Get it at UC in your results list:
- Click on Settings (under triple bar) > Library Links
- Search for "berkeley"
- Choose "University of California Berkeley - Get it at UC," then Save

More article databases in the Biological Sciences

Review and Tips from Bio 1B

Scientific Literature
Material from Bio 1B covering primary literature, literature reviews, peer review, etc.
What is Peer Review?
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (Video)
Searching by topic
Material from Bio 1B on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Finding full text
Material from Bio 1B on finding the full text of articles.

Using Alerts

To help you stay current, set up automated alerts by topic, author, citation, or journal. Citation alerts notify you when a chosen article is cited by a new article. Here are tools you can use to set up alerts:

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. Use it to find books, articles, media, archival collections, and more across most UCB libraries (notable exception: Berkeley Law Library), as well as the collections of other UC libraries.

You can:

Narrow your search results using filters (ex: peer review status, date, and format).
Use Request to page items, place a hold, or request an interlibrary loan (must be logged in).
Save and export records to email or citation management software, or save searches.
View and manage (must be logged in) your:
Saved records, saved searches, and search history.
Requested, borrowed, and Interlibrary Loan items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

See the UC Library Search user guide.

Statement from the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library about harmful, offensive, or discredited Library materials.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

The Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) assists UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff request books, articles and other materials not available at UC Berkeley

Secondary menu

General Microbiology PMB / MCB C112: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles in Microbiology

Review and Tips from Bio 1B

Using Alerts

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley