Library Guides: Integrative Biology: Articles

Key article databases for Integrative Biology

Search article databases to find journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters.

To access full text:

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) offers literature on biodiversity through open access as part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL has digitized taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and >100,000 volumes.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” Founded in 2005, it is a cornerstone organization of the Encyclopedia of Life.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences.
Sources: Journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources.
For more information:
Creating search and citation alerts
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subjects: All, but subject-specific databases may have greater functionality.
Sources: Journal articles, books, preprints, presentations, technical reports, and other sources.
Advanced search under menu at top left: search authors, article titles, journal titles, date ranges, more.
Scholar Preferences can be set to show Get it at UC in your results list:
- Click on Settings > Library Links
- Search for "berkeley"
- Choose "University of California Berkeley - Get it at UC," then Save.
For more information:
Search and citation alerts
Google Scholar Help
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
A community-contributed database of high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world. (JSTOR Plant Science)
Global Plants is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies. Through Global Plants, herbaria can share specimens, experts can determine and update naming structures, students can discover and learn about plants in context, and a record of plant life can be preserved for future generations. Primary source content highlights include Carl Linneaus's annotated editions of Species Naturae and correspondence from the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew; and foundational reference works and books such as The Useful Plants of West Tropical Africa, Flowering Plants of South Africa, and illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Molecular biology, biochemistry, and other biomedical fields.
Sources: Life science journals, MEDLINE, and online books.
Includes: Links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes UC-eLinks.
For more information:
PubMed guide
Exporting citations
Saving searches and setting up e-mail alerts
Setting Preferences in My NCBI
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Covers science, technology, medicine, arts, humanities, and the social sciences. Cited references available from 1996 forward. A Journal Analyzer tool assesses journal performance.
Sources: Over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Includes all of the Medline database and more than 23 million patents.
For more information:
Create and manage alerts
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Broad coverage of scientific fields, as well as the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters. Cited reference searches find articles that cite a given author or reference.
For more information:
Creating search and citation alerts
Cited reference search
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv is a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

Finding articles or journals

Searching by topic
How to identify keywords and use the operators AND and OR, parentheses, and truncation to develop effective searches in databases and catalogs.
Citation search
Copy and paste the article or book title into the search box of UC Library Search. If the title is exact, place double quotes immediately before and after the title, and click Search.
Journal search
Search or browse UC Library Search for journal titles in the biosciences.
Keeping Current
Setting up journal table of contents and new issue alerts
Citation management guide
Overviews of and links for citation management tools such as Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

EndNote Click
Browser extension that streamlines access to article PDFs, even if you don't use EndNote.
Open Access Button
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.
Unpaywall
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Interlibrary borrowing
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.
Purchase recommendation form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

Life Sciences Review Article Sources

Annual Reviews Biomedical/Life Sciences Journals
Annual Reviews publishes more than 30 biomedical and life sciences journals. Articles survey the current understanding of a topic; set the work in historical context; highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of future research; and outline practical applications and general significance of the research.
Biological Reviews
Publishes unsolicited review articles covering the entire range of the biological sciences. Provides extensive introductions to research areas, defines the state of the art, and draws attention to gaps in knowledge.
Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Biology Subject Collections
Collections of articles from CSH Perspectives in Biology focussed on a single topic. Includes Cancer Biology, Careers, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Neurobiology, and Plant Biology
Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Medicine Subject Collections
Collections of articles from CSH Perspectives in Medicine focussed on a single topic. Includes Addiction, Aging, Alzheimer Disease, Epilepsy, the Cochlea, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson's Disease and Retinal Disorders.

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Summaries of developments in the biomedical and life sciences, written by prominent researchers and organized by topic. Includes topics in cell and molecular biology, genetics, integrative biology, neurology, and the neurosciences.
A collection of over 50 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field.
eLS : Citable Reviews in the Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
"eLS features over 5,000 commissioned, peer-reviewed, citable articles, written by leaders in the life sciences.
eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis."(ELS: Citable Reviews)

Nature Reviews
Links to all of the currently subscribed Nature Reviews journals. Subjects include cancer, endocrinology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, molecular cell biology, neuroscience, and more.
Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews
Links to all currently subscribed Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews journals (WIREs). Subjects include computational molecular science, data mining, developmental biology, RNA, disease mechansims, and more.

Secondary menu

Integrative Biology: Articles

Key article databases for Integrative Biology

Finding articles or journals

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Life Sciences Review Article Sources