Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Japanese American History (Spring 2022): Getting Started

Getting Started

Reference and Getting Started

Get started on your research by familiarizing yourself with using the libraries, setting up your computer for off-campus access to library resources, using the UC Library Search portal, consulting reference encyclopedias, and more.

Library 101 Video

Library links from the video:
  • Group Study Rooms - Reserve a group study room at berkeley.libcal.com.
  • UC Library Search - Search for and borrow items from all 10 UC libraries.
  • Research Help - Make an appointment with a librarian, use the 24/7 research chat, or stop by a reference desk for help.

More from UC Berkeley Library on Vimeo.

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as UC Library Search, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Library Hours

Jump to Library Hours page »

Hours on: 
Enter as mm/dd/yy 

For: 


To select individual libraries/units, hold down the Ctrl key while clicking.

 

Reference Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are an often overlooked resource for getting started with your research!

Encyclopedias are often organized alphabetically. Entries are written by scholars and often contain several citations for further reading. They are a great place to find background information and to narrow or explore research topics. Some encyclopedias are available as online databases while others are cataloged and available either as e-books or in print. 

Below are some recommended encyclopedias for topics related to your course: