Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

MCB 133L: Physiology and Cell Biology Laboratory: Citation managers

Helpful links for the MCB 133L bibliography library exercise.

Citation managers

Bibliographic management software (also called citation or reference managers) offers a way to save, organize and manage references. Many systems work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

For a list of upcoming Library workshops (including workshops on citation managers), please see:

Citation managers that are free to UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff:

RefWorks

  • RefWorks guide
  • Free to UC Berkeley users
  • Web-based: use at any computer with internet access
  • Format citations and bibliographies in Google Docs and MS Word
  • Import citations from RSS feeds
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within RefWorks
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share lists of references or create a group account for co-editing

Mendeley

  • Mendeley guide
  • Free software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
  • UC Berkeley users who associate their berkeley.edu email addresses with their accounts and join the official UCB Mendeley group receive expanded storage and sharing features. 
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Search and annotate PDFs
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Zotero

  • Zotero guide
  • Free (up to 300 MB web storage) browser extension or standalone program
  • Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
  • Format bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice
  • Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
  • Share and collaboratively edit lists of references

Citation managers that require purchase:

EndNote

  • EndNote guide
  • Discounted to UC Berkeley users
  • Desktop-based software (plus EndNote Web)
  • Format bibliographies in Word or Open Office
  • Capture citation data from some PDFs
  • Annotate PDFs
  • Use UC-eLinks to find the full text of articles from within EndNote
  • Share lists of references with other EndNote users
  • See our EndNote Support page for tutorials and additional information

Papers

  • Papers for Mac guide
  • Software/web hybrid for Mac and Windows
  • Format bibliographies in Word and Pages
  • Automatically import PDFs together with citation
  • Search, highlight and annotate PDFs