Library Guides: MCB 143: Evolution of Genomes, Cells, and Development: Searching

PubMed for UC Berkeley

UC Berkeley faculty, staff, students, and campus visitors should use the UC Berkeley-specific PubMed URL by accessing PubMed from links on library website pages (including this page).

To access full text, click the button appearing in every article record.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Molecular and cell biology, biochemistry, and other biomedical fields.
Sources: Biomedical and cell biology journals.
Note: Use the UCB-specific URL to see a customized version of PubMed that includes Get it at UC links.
For more information:
PubMed guide [UCB]
PubMed Help [NCBI]
PubMed Online Training videos, tutorials and webinars [NCBI]
Exporting citations [NCBI]
Saving searches [NCBI]
Setting up e-mail alerts [NCBI]
PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

PubMed search tips in a downloadable PDF format:

PubMed Quick Guide

Handout for Advanced PubMed workshop:

Advanced PubMed

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Subjects: All, but subject-specific databases may have greater functionality
Sources: Journal articles, books, preprints, technical reports, presentations, and other sources.
Advanced search under three-bar menu at top left: search authors, article titles, journal titles, date ranges, more.
Scholar Preferences can be set to show Get it at UC in your results list:
- Click on Settings > Library Links
- Search for "berkeley"
- Choose "University of California Berkeley - Get it at UC," then Save
For more information:
Google Scholar Help
Alerts
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Finding articles or journals

Searching by topic
How to identify keywords and use the operators AND and OR, parentheses, and truncation to develop effective searches in databases and catalogs.
Citation search
Search Google Scholar for a specific citation, even with only partial information.
Journal search
Search or browse UC Library Search for journal titles in the biosciences.
Keeping Current
Setting up journal table of contents and new issue alerts
Citation management guide
Overviews of and links for citation management tools such as Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

EndNote Click
Browser extension that streamlines access to article PDFs, even if you don't use EndNote.
Open Access Button
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.
Unpaywall
Browser extension and website that enable searching for Open Access content from publishers and repositories.

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need:

Interlibrary borrowing
Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) enables UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff (including retired faculty and staff) to borrow materials not available through the UC Berkeley Library.
Purchase recommendation form
Recommend a book, journal, or other resource for purchase by the library.

Secondary menu

MCB 143: Evolution of Genomes, Cells, and Development

For more help

PubMed for UC Berkeley

Google Scholar

Finding articles or journals

Browser extensions for finding PDFs:

If the UC Berkeley Library doesn't have access to an article you need: