Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

REU Guide to Library Resources: Finding Articles

Research Guide for students in the NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates program at UC Berkeley

Article Databases

Use an Article Database to search for journal and magazine articles, papers presented at conferences, and other publications. You can search by topic or author. Some databases will also enable you to find articles that cite, are cited in, or are related to a particular paper.

If you already have a citation to an article and just want the full text, try the Citation Linker.

If you want to read articles in a particular journal, try the Electronic Journal Finder.

Here are several databases recommended for exploring articles by a topic or author:

  • Use the PubMed link above to get to the version of PubMed that includes UCeLinks
  • To learn how to use PubMed most effectively, see the guide for New PubMed.

We have many more databases available to us at UC Berkeley than those listed above. To find other databases that might be useful for your topic, see this list:

Tips

Below are links to tutorials from an intro biology course at UCB (Bio 1B). 

What is Peer Review?

Where's the PDF?

Once you've searched a database to find articles, use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a general rule is: when you see  (UC-eLinks icon), click on it to view your article access options:

UC e-Links image

For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.