Skip to main content

Prevention of Genocide and Mass Atrocities: Intro

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

See also:

Purchase Recommendation

studying in the main stacksUse the Purchase Recommendation form to suggest items that the Library should consider for our collections. 

Catalogs and Search Engines

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books. To read the text of a copyrighted book, use find in a Library link to locate the book at UC Berkeley or search

HuriSearchCustom search engine providing "one point access to all human rights information published by human rights organizations worldwide." From Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems, International.

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library.

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity.  Traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators, and explains international laws aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.

Encyclopedia of GenocideAlphabetical entries that define names, places, and events associated with genocide as well as sections on the process, detection, denial, and prevention of genocide.

Gale Reference Virtual Library.  Large and searchable collection of online reference encyclopedias. Contains many entries for genocide and atrocities.

Holocaust EncyclopediaComprehensive single-volume work of reference providing an overview of the subject and detail concerning major events, policy, decisions, and individuals. 

Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence. Electronic database focusing on massacres and genocides of the 20th century.

Oxford Bibliographies. Great way to deal with information overload: here are lists of good books in the multiple areas of academic inquiry, including this list (and others) of sources on Genocide and 20th Century Genocides

Oxford History of Genocide Studies. Subjects genocide and the discipline it has spawned to systematic investigation. Experts study genocide through the ages by taking regional, thematic, and disciplinary-specific approaches. Features the work of historians, anthropologists, lawyers, political scientists, sociologists, and philosophers. 

Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.