It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbooks for JMP PBL: Psychosocial Factors: Online Books
Online books on psychosocial factors relevant to clinical encounters (Listed in alphabetical order)
The American Society of Addiction Medicine Handbook of Addiction Medicine by Darius Rastegar; Michael FingerhoodThe American Society of Addiction Medicine Handbook of Addiction Medicine is a practical, evidence-based guide to the identification and treatment of substance use disorders. Produced by the largest medical society dedicated to the improvement of addiction care, it begins with screening andbrief intervention and an overview of treatment. This is followed by substance-specific chapters covering: alcohol, sedatives, opioids, tobacco, stimulants, hallucinogens, cannabinoids, inhalants, anabolic steroids and prescription drug misuse. Substance-specific chapters cover pharmacology, acuteeffects and intoxication, withdrawal, medical complications and treatment. The handbook concludes with chapters on the medical care of patients with substance use disorders, psychiatric co-occurring disorders, special populations and ethical and legal considerations. Chapters include practical toolsand treatment protocols that can be used in outpatient and inpatient settings.To learn more about the American Society of Addiction Medicine, and its commitment to providing the best resources for addiction clinicians, please visit http://www.asam.org.
Publication Date: 2016
APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology: vol. 2: Assessment, treatment, and issues of later life by Peter A. Lichtenberg; Benjamin T. Mast; Brian D. Carpenter; Julie Loebach WetherellThe APA Handbook of Clinical Geropsychology offers a well-balanced scientist–practitioner approach, with chapters that succinctly review empirical research across a broad range of areas and offer practical approaches for the application of theory to everyday practice with the aging population. The handbook reviews the history of clinical geropsychology and geropsychology practice, to help the reader better understand how the field has grown over the past 30 plus years and to assess the several directions in which it is headed. Chapter authors highlight strength-based approaches to human development and aging, review the status of evidence-based treatment, explore the interface of geriatric medicine and clinical psychotherapy, review several "normal aging" areas of research, and discuss such common psychological, neurological, and other medical issues common in aging as depression, late-life anxiety disorders, schizophrenia, alcohol abuse and substance misuse, suicidal behavior, mild cognitive impairment, Alzheimer's, and many more. The reader will not only gain knowledge about foundational competencies in the field of clinical geropsychology, but will also find a treasure of information related to assessment, intervention, and consultation in this continually evolving field.
Publication Date: 2015
APA Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology; vol. 2: Applications and broad impact of family psychology by Barbara H. FieseThis book focuses on the application of family psychology to an array of mental and physical health conditions, societal issues, and shared systems such as schools and health care. It provides an overview of theory and research on psychopathology and the family. The book reviews family-focused research and interventions from three exemplars of pediatric illnesses: diabetes, asthma, and cancer. It discusses the existing theoretical perspectives and evidence on the ties between families and youth's organized after-school activities. The book then moves beyond the parent–child dyad to consider the larger family system and sibling influences. It discusses the ways family psychologists can overcome barriers that may discourage them from working with religious leaders and form bridges with religious organizations to promote the well-being of diverse families. The book also highlights several aspects of the vast scientific literature on intimate partner violence. To understand how youth bullying and peer victimization is impacted by familial factors, the book reviews the literature on risk and protective factors associated with bullying involvement, and also highlights a few programs that attempt to prevent bullying through collaboration with families. It explores family advocacy in the field of children's mental health, describing its role in assisting families whose children have serious mental health needs. The populations served by family forensic psychologists (FFPs) are diverse, and the expectations of different court systems often vary distinctly. The book finally presents an overview of various roles that an FFP may fulfill, with a focus on child custody and juvenile dependency cases.
Asylum Medicine: A Clinician's Guide by Katherine C. McKenzie (Editor)Asylum medicine, a field encompassing medical forensic evaluations of asylum seekers, is an emerging discipline in healthcare. In a time of record global displacement due to human rights violations, conflict and persecution, interest in the medical and psychological evaluation of individuals subjected to torture and other ill-treatment is high. Health professionals are uniquely qualified to use their skills to make contributions to a group of vulnerable individuals fleeing danger and death in their home countries. Health professionals involved in asylum medicine perform medical and psychological forensic evaluations of asylum seekers. Their educational background prepares them to examine and describe physical and emotional scars related to trauma, and further training allows them to assess these scars in the context of persecution, describe them in a medical-legal affidavit and support these findings with testimony. Providers of asylum medicine are often involved in advocacy, as many governments become increasingly hostile to asylum seekers. Books on human rights exist, but there is no authoritative text of asylum medicine. This book presents a comprehensive overview of asylum medicine, with emphasis on the historical and legal background of asylum law, best practices for performing asylum examinations, challenges of examining detained asylum seekers, education of trainees and advocacy. Written by experts in the field, Asylum Medicine: A Clinician's Guide is a first of its kind resource for health care providers who practice asylum medicine.