Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community.
Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, which reveal the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.
A collection of 45 national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. [1826-2016]
The bulk of titles were founded in the 1970s, documenting the proliferation of Indigenous journalism that grew out of the occupation of Wounded Knee, meeting the demand for objective reporting from within Indian Country.
Colonial Office files (supplemented by some War Office files) from the UK National Archives, relating to British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean. The first of three modules has been released, covering 1624-1832.
The first module documents the rise of absentee landlords, and traces the rise and decline of the slave trade, from the regular transportation of enslaved peoples through trade and shipping, to the rise of the abolition movement.
Primary-source collection of documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Founded only three months after the Cuban Revolution, Casa de las Américas in Havana quickly emerged as one of the leading cultural institutions in Latin America and the Caribbean. Among its many activities is the publication of four highly influential journals, the first of which was launched in 1960, a year after the opening of the institution. Over the decades, these journals have covered countless topics pertaining to the culture and cultural history of the region. The journals have published texts by literary authors, musical scores, reviews of books, performances, and exhibitions, op-eds, and news reports.
This resource offers access to over 50 manuscripts in 3,400 leaves, and diary and notebooks by Dazai Osamu 太宰治 (1909-1948) that are currently held by the Museum of Modern Japanese Literature, as well as to the images of their first published versions of these literary works. Provided by Maruzen-Yushodo Co., Ltd. in Japan Digital Archives Center (J-DAC).
East African Newspapers currently includes more than 450,000 pages of in-copyright material from the 1940s to early 2000s, featuring: Daily Nation (1958-2002), an independent Kenyan newspaper; Ethiopian Herald (1943-1989), a government-owned, English-language newspaper; and the Monitor (1992-2003), an independent Ugandan newspaper.
More titles will be added over time to expand research into this dynamic region.
El Caribe (“The Caribbean”) is a Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. [1956-2011]
"Founded in 1948 under the repressive Trujillo regime (1930-1961), the newspaper has borne witness to decades of political uncertainty, economic development, and social change. Except for brief interruptions in publication for a month in 1962 and seven months in 1965, El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region."
Covers biological organization - from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Presents laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time.
Scholarship and primary sources in the fields of medieval and early Tudor studies with a broad European focus. [Primary sources between c.500-1500 + recent scholarship]
Exeter Medieval Online combines the internationally renowned print series Exeter Medieval Texts and Studies and Exeter Studies in Medieval Europe and makes them available online for the first time. Over 90 volumes.
UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff are eligible for free subscriptions to FT.com courtesy of the Haas School of Business. Enter your berkeley.edu email address at the sign-in page, then choose "SSO Sign-in".
Haas School funded. Log in is via SSO, then we must sign up for FT.com accounts.
Provides a Western view of events in the region through official government documents and records covering the wider region and the rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism at the time [1963-1980]
Consisting of correspondence, maps, government dispatches and press releases from the FO 371, DO 169, DO 187, FCO 15 and FCO 24 series, this resource offers insight into the political and economic challenges faced during this period as the region moved towards industrialization and establishing the foundations for economic growth.
Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement.
Other key areas represented in the material include employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. The content has been sourced from across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.
The database offers online access to approximately 450 items of literary manuscripts and correspondences by over 60 modern Japanese writers that were originally held by Takahama Kyoshi 高浜虚子 (1874-1959) and are currently held by the Kyoshi Memorial Museum. Provided by Maruzen-Yushodo Co., Ltd. in Japan Digital Archives Center (J-DAC).
KOTAR is an online a library of scholarly works published in Hebrew over the past 50 years, in the fields of Israel and Jewish studies, literature, history, education, and sociology, as well as other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
KOTAR is also a digital work environment, in which readers may mark, annotate and write.
This resource provides insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of the U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration.
Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island. Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration also documents some of the most important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense, and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. [1800-1980]
Unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the vivid realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organisational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles.
Mita bungaku 三田文学 (1910-present, with several interruptions) is a Japanese literary journal published to today, and Mita bungaku online offers access to this journal from 1910 to 1944 in 397 issues. Provided by Maruzen-Yushodo Co., Ltd. in Japan Digital Archives Center (J-DAC).
Handbooks on neuroscience topics including review articles providing critical surveys of the current state of research, emerging areas, future research needs, and translational applications.
Searchable by topic, author, and more. Current titles include the Oxford Handbooks of the Auditory Brainstem, Developmental Neural Plasticity, Invertebrate Neurobiology, Microbiome-Gut-Brain Axis, Mitochondria, Neurobiology of Learning and Memory, Neurobiology of Pain, Neuronal Ion Channels, Neuronal Protein Synthesis, and Transcranial Stimulation (2nd edition). Titles designated as "under development" continue to add articles as they are reviewed.
A collection of primary source material from the Race Relations Department at First University, focusing on race relations across three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in the United States. [1943-1970]
The work of the Department highlighted topics such as poverty and inequality, class, housing, employment, education and government policy. This resource sheds light on the work of the Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department’s archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.
Includes research collections from the Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections and resources sourced from the US, UK and Australia that focus on individual stories and experiences.
The collection makes available papers from ground-breaking sexologists; official records of pressure groups and community organizations; diaries, correspondence and photographs charting the relationships and lived experiences of individuals; as well as erotic fiction, ephemeral materials, objects, videos, public service announcements, legal and government documents, and more.
The nation's largest African American Video Oral History Collection that includes the stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans from diverse backgrounds.
A HistoryMaker, according to the creators, is an African American by descent, who has made a significant contribution in some area of American life or culture, or who has been associated with a particular movement or organization that is important to the African American community. The HistoryMakers interviewed in this resource come from all walks of life and disciplines including: Art, Business, Civics, Education, Entertainment, Law, Media, Medicine, Military, Music, Politics, Religion, Science, Sports and Style.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
文史资料 is a collection of oral history on the historical events from Late Qing to 1980s, recorded since 1959 by members of the People’s Consultative Conferences and personalities across China.
The database contains about 26,800 series and more than 900,000 articles. The principle of guiding the publishing of these historical materials was “Three in-person”: experienced in person, saw in person, and heard in person (亲历, 亲见,亲闻). It is full-text searchable.