Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New Databases

Loading...
The following databases are new to the Libraries!
Africa Commons: Black South African Magazines This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Digitized archives of several popular magazines created for Black audiences in Africa. Includes Zonk!, Zonk! Film-Pic Photo Stories, Contrast, The Townships Housewife, Grace, Hi-Note!, and Drum. 1937 - 1973
Amnesty International Archives This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) A Global Movement for Human Rights
Explore the growth of the human rights movement during the second half of the twentieth century through the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. 1961 - 1991
ArcGIS Online This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
User-friendly, powerful cloud-based mapping software for creating web maps and performing analysis. Includes access to ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World and premium content, including demographic, environmental, and imagery data.
ASM Micrograph Database This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Collection of micrograph images and associated data from ASM International in cooperation with the International Metallographic Society (IMS).
Atlas De Los Pueblos Indígenas De México This link opens in a new window
  • Free or open access
New
Alternate Name(s) Atlas of the Indigenous Nations of Mexico (translated title)
The Atlas of the Indigenous Peoples of Mexico is a resource that contains audio, video materials, photographs, maps and the ethnographic description
  • Free or open access
New
Alternate Name(s) Digital Library of Traditional Mexican Medicine
The Biblioteca Digital de la Medicina Tradicional Mexicana is a digital library compiling information on traditional Mexican medicine, including medicinal plants, practices of indigenous peoples, and testimonies from traditional healers.
Cambridge Higher Education This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) Cambridge Higher Education Full Collection; Higher Education from Cambridge University Press; CHE
A collection of approximately 1200 etextbooks and ebooks in many subjects.
  • UCB access only
New
The journal Cine Cubano (1960-2019) is a vital resource with 200+ issues offering unparalleled access to 6 decades of Cuban revolutionary & Latin American cinema theory, filmmaking approaches, & reviews. Scanned at ICAIC in Havana
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Includes the correspondence of the colonial governments with the British government departments that held responsibility for the British possessions in mainland North America and the Caribbean. 1606 - 1822
  • UCB access only
New
Provides coverage of key events during the War in Vietnam, and the wider impact on Laos and Cambodia. The material covers the role of China, the US and the Soviet Union, as they compete for influence within the context of the Cold War.
Cuban Pre-Revolutionary Cinema This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
The collection chronicles Cuban cinema's development from the Silent Era to 1959, with unpublished materials like Cinema magazine's full 1935-1965 run.
  • UCB access only
New
Digital archive of political ephemera and organizational material from across the world covering twentieth century political parties, pressure groups and trade union movements, created for, about and by local actors.
DIPPR Project 801 This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
The 2023 Edition of DIPPR 801 is a renowned source of Evaluated Process Design Data of physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties for industrially important chemicals used in chemical process and equipment design. With newly added compounds, this latest Knovel version contains data for 34 constant properties and 49 thermophysical properties as well as molecular structure, SMILES, hazard and safety properties, physical constants, and critical properties, in 4 interactive tables. Compound data includes experimental data and, when necessary, estimated values that have been reviewed to ensure the greatest accuracy possible. Now with updated coefficient sets the Knovel interactive equation plotter applets deliver comprehensive data for 2263 of compounds in 15 temperature-dependent property tables.
Egypt and the Rise of Nationalism, 1840 - 1927 This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Egypt and the Rise of Nationalism richly presents the development of nationalist sensibilities, movements, and publications from the 1870s until the third decade of the twentieth century and culminating with the formal dissolution of the British protectorate in 1924.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (4th ed.) This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Reference work containing information on the foundations of nutrition science, integrating food, nutrition science, and clinical nutrition.
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) Primary Sources Environmental History
Primary sources that document the role of government agencies, conservation organizations and individual actors who pioneered the study of the natural environment and campaigned for its protection. UCB access only.
GIDEON This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network
Data and maps on infectious diseases and outbreaks: history, geographic spread, and treatment. It also includes a visualization tool to create charts, and a differential tool to assist in diagnosis. Updated daily.
Global Census Archive This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
This archive includes official government documents issued by the national census agencies worldwide. It is an essential tool to retrieve current and historical census data to support innovative census research of interdisciplinary subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and continues to the present.
  • UCB access only
New
Leningradskaia Pravda was a prominent Soviet newspaper published in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg) from 1924 to 1991.
  • UCB access only
New
FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party. 1970 - 1985
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) MCX
A materials library of 10,000 innovation products for use in architecture, design, engineering and product design. Sustainable material alternatives to existing manufacturing supplies.
MGG Online This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
MGG Online builds on the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008), offering new and substantially updated content as well as continuous updates, revisions, and additions.
My China Roots This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
My China Roots is a family history database for the Chinese diaspora that includes millions of searchable ancestors in America and Southeast Asia.
Nezavisimost' Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Established in 1991 on the eve of the Ukrainian declaration of independence, Nezavisimost’ (Независимость, Independence) was an independent, high-profile Russian-language daily and a successor publication to Komsomolskoe znamya (Komsomol Banner, initially called Stalinskoe plemya [Stalin’s Tribe]), with a long history as a Soviet publication. 1991 - 2002
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) OSEO
OSEO provides full-text access to scholarly editions of canonical works published by Oxford University Press online.
Pharos This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) PHAROS online chemical hazard, use and exposure data
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. 1900 - 2010.
Pragda Complete Film Collection This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
PRAGDA features 500+ Latin American, Spanish, and Latinx streaming films/series, showcasing diverse voices and perspectives, from over 30 countries, in their original language with English subtitles.
Southeast Asia Digital Library This link opens in a new window
  • Free or open access
New
Alternate Name(s) SEADL
The Southeast Asia Digital Library is a growing repository of resources from and about the region of Southeast Asia. It supports Southeast Asian research and education by making these unique digitized materials freely accessible in one website.
The Civil & Military Gazette Online, 1876-1963 This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
This is an important primary resource on the British Indian administration and colonial government and the personnel who served in it. NOTE: Issues with Chrome have been reported with this resource. Users are encouraged to use other browsers.
The Economist This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Reports, analysis and opinion pieces on global business and economics, trade, politics, technology, and culture.
The Maya Hieroglyphic Codices This link opens in a new window
  • Free or open access
New
This site features a searchable translation and analysis of four codices painted by Maya scribes before the Spanish conquest in the early 16th century.
The Tabloids 小报 (1897-1949) This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) This database contains more than 400 titles of tabloids from the Shanghai Library. The tabloids emphasize on leisure and entertainment, including novels, essays, and trends in film, theater, dance, etc.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
  • UCB access only
New
Alternate Name(s) CCH; Cheetah; Wolters Kluwer
VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) is a legal research platform that provides access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, as well as treatises, reporters, newsletters, and blogs.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...