Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community.
Includes pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, which reveal the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, maps and ephemera.
A collection of 45 national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. [1826-2016]
The bulk of titles were founded in the 1970s, documenting the proliferation of Indigenous journalism that grew out of the occupation of Wounded Knee, meeting the demand for objective reporting from within Indian Country.
The BabelScores database provides online access to more than 4,000 musical scores by over 350 composers active in recent decades. The scores are offered in a virtual booklet format that allows users to read the music while they listen to it. [1980 to the present (continually updated)]
Colonial Office files (supplemented by some War Office files) from the UK National Archives, relating to British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean. The first of three modules has been released, covering 1624-1832.
The first module documents the rise of absentee landlords, and traces the rise and decline of the slave trade, from the regular transportation of enslaved peoples through trade and shipping, to the rise of the abolition movement.
Scientific and publishing project "Complete electronic collection of the Chronicles of the Russian Book Chamber's (Letopisi) for 1917 - 2017" recreates a complete set in electronic format. The database-index allows for searching in a targeted way.
Collection of over 150 articles relating to food quality and safety and their links to human health and nutrition.
Topics include: transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, genomics, green foodomics, epigenetics and noncoding RNA, food safety, food bioactivity and health, food quality and traceability, data treatment and systems biology.
This primary source collection documents the history of theater in Latin America and the Caribbean, with a special focus on Revolutionary Cuba. [1959-Present]
Founded just three months after the Cuban Revolution, Casa de las Américas in Havana quickly became a fundamental link between the cultural vanguard in Latin America and the Caribbean on the one hand and a diplomatically isolated Cuba on the other. It has amassed a vast amount of information; this collection contains some 45,000 documents organized in 545 folders, covering such materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc., collected from 1959 onward.
This resource offers access to over 50 manuscripts in 3,400 leaves, and diary and notebooks by Dazai Osamu 太宰治 (1909-1948) that are currently held by the Museum of Modern Japanese Literature, as well as to the images of their first published versions of these literary works. Provided by Maruzen-Yushodo Co., Ltd. in Japan Digital Archives Center (J-DAC).
East African Newspapers currently includes more than 450,000 pages of in-copyright material from the 1940s to early 2000s, featuring: Daily Nation (1958-2002), an independent Kenyan newspaper; Ethiopian Herald (1943-1989), a government-owned, English-language newspaper; and the Monitor (1992-2003), an independent Ugandan newspaper.
More titles will be added over time to expand research into this dynamic region.
Covers biological organization - from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Presents laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time.
Provides a Western view of events in the region through official government documents and records covering the wider region and the rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism at the time [1963-1980]
Consisting of correspondence, maps, government dispatches and press releases from the FO 371, DO 169, DO 187, FCO 15 and FCO 24 series, this resource offers insight into the political and economic challenges faced during this period as the region moved towards industrialization and establishing the foundations for economic growth.
Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement.
Other key areas represented in the material include employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. The content has been sourced from across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.
The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. [1782-1918]
"There are about 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
The collection also includes two e-book editions (full-text searchable) of pertinent reference books: an in-depth bibliographic record of all known newspapers published in Imperial Russia (over 10 key bibliographies) and a unique collection of dozens of contemporaneous (mostly nineteenth century) reference works. "
The database offers online access to approximately 450 items of literary manuscripts and correspondences by over 60 modern Japanese writers that were originally held by Takahama Kyoshi 高浜虚子 (1874-1959) and are currently held by the Kyoshi Memorial Museum. Provided by Maruzen-Yushodo Co., Ltd. in Japan Digital Archives Center (J-DAC).
KOTAR is an online a library of scholarly works published in Hebrew over the past 50 years, in the fields of Israel and Jewish studies, literature, history, education, and sociology, as well as other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
KOTAR is also a digital work environment, in which readers may mark, annotate and write.
This resource provides insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of the U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration.
Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island. Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration also documents some of the most important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense, and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. [1800-1980]
Unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the vivid realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organisational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles.
Mita bungaku 三田文学 (1910-present, with several interruptions) is a Japanese literary journal published to today, and Mita bungaku online offers access to this journal from 1910 to 1944 in 397 issues. Provided by Maruzen-Yushodo Co., Ltd. in Japan Digital Archives Center (J-DAC).
Handbooks on neuroscience topics including review articles providing critical surveys of the current state of research, emerging areas, future research needs, and translational applications.
Searchable by topic, author, and more. Current titles include the Oxford Handbooks of the Auditory Brainstem, Developmental Neural Plasticity, Invertebrate Neurobiology, Microbiome-Gut-Brain Axis, Mitochondria, Neurobiology of Learning and Memory, Neurobiology of Pain, Neuronal Ion Channels, Neuronal Protein Synthesis, and Transcranial Stimulation (2nd edition). Titles designated as "under development" continue to add articles as they are reviewed.
A collection of primary source material from the Race Relations Department at First University, focusing on race relations across three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in the United States. [1943-1970]
The work of the Department highlighted topics such as poverty and inequality, class, housing, employment, education and government policy. This resource sheds light on the work of the Department through the digitization of extensive records from the Department’s archives, now held at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans.
Includes research collections from the Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections and resources sourced from the US, UK and Australia that focus on individual stories and experiences.
The collection makes available papers from ground-breaking sexologists; official records of pressure groups and community organizations; diaries, correspondence and photographs charting the relationships and lived experiences of individuals; as well as erotic fiction, ephemeral materials, objects, videos, public service announcements, legal and government documents, and more.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) was an official newspaper of the Taiwanese government under Japanese colonial rule. The newspaper chronicled events in legislation, social hierarchy, and politics. [1898-1944]
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō newspaper was the longest running and most widely circulated newspaper during the period of Japanese colonialism in Taiwan. From 1898 to 1944, it covered Taiwan’s domestic affairs, international relations, the integration of agriculture and the economy, and arts and literature. In 1901, the newspaper started adding two Chinese-language pages to the original Japanese-language publication. In 1905, it launched a separate and fully Chinese-language edition but it ceased in 1911. In 1937, all Chinese-language content was discontinued from the publication.
The database contains articles related to musical sound, including performing arts, mass media, and traditional activities, from Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) newspaper from 1898 to 1944.
Taiwan Nichinichi Shinpō (臺灣日日新報) was the longest-standing and largest newspaper in colonial Taiwan, which was published between 1898 and 1944. The database compiled by the Graduate Institute of Musicology at National Taiwan University contains any articles that involve musical sound, including performing arts (e. g., dance, opera, drama), mass media (e. g., records, radio broadcasts, films), traditional activities (e. g., ceremonies, rituals, temple festivals, parades), etc. to support research on the daily musical life and sound culture in Taiwan and beyond.
TDM Studio provides a virtual environment in which you can run text data mining analyses on large datasets curated from library-subscribed ProQuest content. The virtual environment uses Jupyter notebooks. TDM Studio is offered by the Library.
Content available in TDM Studio include current and historical newspapers, dissertations and theses, scholarly articles, and primary source material that the Library has subscribed to through ProQuest. Some coding experience (e.g., Python) would be necessary to run your analyses. You must first request an account before being given access to the environment. Please fill out the request form. Read more documentation.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
Global search and discovery for digital publications and documents created by the United Nations. Much of this content is open access: the database provides enhanced discovery and browsing at the chapter level back to 1947.
Every year around 500 new titles are added to the collection (approximately 70% of which are in English) and cover: Agriculture & Rural Development; Children and Youth ; Democracy and Governance ; Disarmament , Drugs, Crime and Terrorism; Economic and Social Development ; Environment and Climate Change ; Human Rights and Refugees; Human Settlements and Urban Issues; International Law; Migration; Natural Resources; Peacekeeping and Security; Population and Demography; Public Health; Transportation; and Women and Gender Issues.
文史资料 is a collection of oral history on the historical events from Late Qing to 1980s, recorded since 1959 by members of the People’s Consultative Conferences and personalities across China.
The database contains about 26,800 series and more than 900,000 articles. The principle of guiding the publishing of these historical materials was “Three in-person”: experienced in person, saw in person, and heard in person (亲历, 亲见,亲闻). It is full-text searchable.
The BAAS collection contains a broad collection of document types: reports, manuscript materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, brochures and catalogues; field reports and minutes; annual reports. [1831-1970s]
The BAAS collection documents the efforts of the British scientific community to establish science as a professional activity and make Britain into a globally competitive centre for science. WDA: BAAS includes reports; fieldnotes, correspondence and diaries; grey literature; photographs, artwork and illustrations; journal manuscripts; photographs; proceedings, lectures, and ephemera. The collection spans a wide variety of interdisciplinary research areas. Text data mining supported.
Papers of past fellows provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians. Includes archive records defining the RCP’s changing role in setting standards in medical practice.
RCP members have always collected manuscripts and papers on a wide range of medical and non-medical topics. Available for text data mining. [14th-20th centuries]