Digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Issues are scanned in high resolution color with fully searchable text. [1896 - 2015]
Covers the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
This database includes full images of judicial files from Jiangjin county, Chongqing City between 1911-1949.
These judicial files are sorted into a number of categories, including debt, tenancy, theft, trade dispute, family disturbance, marriage, damage, robbery, homicide, injury, corruption, violation of tax laws, forgery, drug using, fraud, other criminal cases and other civil cases.
The Customs’ Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country.
This statistical and narrative information provided the central Chinese government with an in-depth analysis on trade. The Gazette also provided insights into local and regional economic and social conditions, policing of customs and trade, and conditions at Treaty Ports.
Classic Brazilian Cinema Online provides access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s.
Brazilian cinema gained international acclaim through the Cinema Novo of Glauber Rocha, Nelson Pereira dos Santos and other directors in the 1960s. The present collection remedies this situation by providing easy online access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s. By bringing together film magazines from institutions and private collections in both Brazil and the United States, this collection dramatically increases the number of sources available to researchers interested in understanding the role of cinema in the largest country in Latin America. (Source: Brill)
The chemistry and biology concerned with isolation, identification, structure elucidation, and chemical characteristics of naturally occurring compounds such as pheromones, carbohydrates, nucleic acids and enzymes.
Includes sections on the structural diversity and biosynthesis of polypeptides, terpenes, peptides, alkaloids, carbohydrates, and nucleosides; chemical ecology and mode of action; enzymes and enzyme mechanisms; synthetic biology; and new methods in natural products chemistry.
This database provides biographical information about Jinshi degree holders throughout Chinese history. Currently the database includes information on 102,000 Jinshi degree holders.
Note: This resource allows for limited simultaneous users. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
Interdisciplinary articles investigating sustainable food production in relation to the effects of global change on food resources, biodiversity, and global food security. Includes sections on nutrition, diet, food systems, agriculture, and more.
Covers all aspects of ophthalmology. Includes illustrations.
As relevant, provides synonyms, definitions, structural and functional information, clinical relevance, and disease information including clinical presentation, diagnosis, epidemiology, etiology, therapy and prognosis.
The Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics offers a comprehensive overview of the languages of the Slavic language family and the different ways in which they are and have been studied.
It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the Slavic language family from its Indo-European origins to the present day, as well as consideration of interaction of Slavic with other languages.
Comprehensive reference for the eye, its support structures, diseases, and treatments.
"This four-volume reference is unique in its coverage of information on all tissues important for vision, including the retina, cornea and lens. It also covers the physiological and pathophysiologic processes that affect all eye tissues."
Content on chemicals and all core areas of toxicology, including epigenetics, nanotoxicology, computational toxicology, and translational toxicology, as well as global legal and regulatory issues.
Information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues.
FBI files on surveillance conducted on Black Americans, civil rights organizations, and other institutions.
Includes FBI files relating to: A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, the Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), the Black Panther Party (North Carolina), the Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, the Highlander Folk School, the Klu Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), the Moorish Science Temple of America, the Murder of Lemuel Penn, the Muslim Mosque, Inc., the NAACP, the National Negro Congress, the Organization of Afro-American Unity, Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Thurgood Marshall, W.E.B. Du Bois, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and Marcus Garvey
Provides full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Access currently available to Module I and II only. Module III will be added in the near future. [1931-1952]
Includes memoranda, reports, minute sheets and correspondence, along with detailed assessments of key events, speeches, maps, and topics of special interest. Includes Japan-specific files from the FO 371 and FO 262 series and is supplemented by files from the Western and American Department papers in FO 371.
Searchable database with full text of the Fresno Bee from 1887-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1887-2018 (recent years through 2018 are still being digitized and are added as they are made available), and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1986-current.
From the world’s foremost private collection of early and rare Hebraica, this is an unparalleled resource for the study of oriental printing, Judeo-Arabic literature, Hebrew liturgy, and the history of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community.
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection, with a preliminary release of 135,000 pages from 477 titles, will ultimately include approximately 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
The collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period and provides rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era, including coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
Abstracts of major Hebrew journals from 1977 to date; over 850,000 items.
The database combines: Index to Hebrew Periodicals; the Eretz Israel Database; the Tel Hai Index to Hebrew Newspapers; and the Bar Ilan Indexing Project. [1977-]
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India for the period covering the partition of the Subcontinent from 1945 to 1949.
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India. It contains a wide range of materials and identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India and South Asia in the postwar period.
Consisting of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966, this collection is a key documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War.
In this collection over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 are arranged topically and chronologically on crucial subjects: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government administration, fiscal and monetary issues, national defense, foreign policy-making, wars and alliances, religion, culture, trade, industry, natural resources, and more.
A comprehensive, high-level, internationally focused reference work on public health with an international focus.
Covering all dimensions of the field, from the details of specific diseases, to the organization of social insurance agencies, the articles included cover the fundamental research areas of health promotion, economics, and epidemiology, as well as specific diseases, such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and reproductive health.
KOTAR is an online a library of scholarly works published in Hebrew over the past 50 years, in the fields of Israel and Jewish studies, literature, history, education, and sociology, as well as other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
KOTAR is also a digital work environment, in which readers may mark, annotate and write.
A collection of 22 newspapers and periodicals supporting the ideology of communism, most published in the United States. Dates range from 1848 through 1978, with most coverage in the early 20th century. There are some gaps in coverage.
The complete Hebrew ebook collection of Hebrew University's Magnes Press: scholarly works in a wide range of fields, including literature, philosophy, history, Jewish Studies, classical studies, and more. Note: For off campus use, this resource currently requires the VPN to use.
medRxiv is a preprint service for medical, clinical, and health sciences. Preprints "should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
"Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review."
MetBase is an information database and bibliography of meteorites and planetary sciences and includes basic information, analysis data, repositories, images and literature on meteoritics and planetary sciences.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
Online collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by MIT Press.
Covers a broad range of subjects including arts, architecture, biomedical sciences, business, cognitive science, cultural studies, design, digital humanities and new media, economics, education, energy, engineering, environmental science, evolution, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, machine learning and AI, neuroscience, and social sciences.
Unparalleled Editions spans virtually the entire spectrum of Maimonides’ literary output. Includes 16th-20th century imprints, Hebrew and bilingual editions (Hebrew with Latin, Judeo-German, or French text).
This collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan based on U.S. State Department Central Classified Files.
A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the “Economic Survey,” dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and “Dacca Newsletter,” dated July 1949. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Searchable database with full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1857-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1984-current.
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Punctuation and annotations were inserted to help understand the texts. It is full-text searchable as well as browsable by dynasty. An online Calendar Conversion tool is available for easy reference from dynasty to years. An important primary source for research on Chinese history.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
The Translated Texts for Historians book series provides scholarly English translations of key historical sources from the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages. [A.D. 300-800]
Texts span 300-800 A.D. and have been translated into English from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian and Armenian. Each volume of scholarly translation includes an introduction setting the text into context, and rigorous notes on content, interpretation and debates.
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States. Note: The contents in this database are being added through 2021.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].