American Politics and Society consists of a wide range of 19th and 20th century material.
Going in chronological order, the first module in this category are the papers of one of the most prolific inventors in American History, Thomas A. Edison Papers. The other modules in this category consist of immigration records to the United States during the massive immigration wave from 1880-1930; legal collections from the Harvard Law School Library featuring the papers of three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, and one of the most infamous criminal cases of the 20th century; papers of the Progressive leader Robert M. La Follette; records from the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House and other federal agencies on the New Deal and World War II; FBI Files on radical politics; records of the Truman and Eisenhower Presidencies; records of Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and other anti-Vietnam War organizations; and records on American Politics from the beginning of the Kennedy administration through the Nixon Administration.
Lists and provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information. Approximately 50% of the tests includes are available in full text. [Early 1900s - present]
Digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Issues are scanned in high resolution color with fully searchable text. [1896 - 2015]
Covers the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
Calgary Herald (1883-2010), Edmonton Journal (1903-2010), The Globe and Mail (1844 - 2014), Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010), Montreal Gazette (1857 - 2010, Ottawa Citizen (1846-2010), The Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010), Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009), Times Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010), Toronto Star (1894 - 2015), Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)
This database includes full images of judicial files from Jiangjin county, Chongqing City between 1911-1949.
These judicial files are sorted into a number of categories, including debt, tenancy, theft, trade dispute, family disturbance, marriage, damage, robbery, homicide, injury, corruption, violation of tax laws, forgery, drug using, fraud, other criminal cases and other civil cases.
The Customs’ Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country.
This statistical and narrative information provided the central Chinese government with an in-depth analysis on trade. The Gazette also provided insights into local and regional economic and social conditions, policing of customs and trade, and conditions at Treaty Ports.
The Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. [1919 - 2013]
Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. Create an account at the URL above; then log on at https://www.covidence.org.
The key steps supported by Covidence are:
Full text review
Risk of Bias assessment
Extraction of study characteristics and outcomes.
Multiple reviewers, including non-UCB reviewers, can collaborate on a systematic review in Covidence.
This database provides biographical information about Jinshi degree holders throughout Chinese history. Currently the database includes information on 102,000 Jinshi degree holders.
Note: This resource allows for limited simultaneous users. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
Covers all aspects of ophthalmology. Includes illustrations.
As relevant, provides synonyms, definitions, structural and functional information, clinical relevance, and disease information including clinical presentation, diagnosis, epidemiology, etiology, therapy and prognosis.
Comprehensive reference for the eye, its support structures, diseases, and treatments.
"This four-volume reference is unique in its coverage of information on all tissues important for vision, including the retina, cornea and lens. It also covers the physiological and pathophysiologic processes that affect all eye tissues."
FBI files on surveillance conducted on Black Americans, civil rights organizations, and other institutions.
Includes FBI files relating to: A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, the Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), the Black Panther Party (North Carolina), the Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, the Highlander Folk School, the Klu Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), the Moorish Science Temple of America, the Murder of Lemuel Penn, the Muslim Mosque, Inc., the NAACP, the National Negro Congress, the Organization of Afro-American Unity, Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Thurgood Marshall, W.E.B. Du Bois, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and Marcus Garvey
Provides full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Access currently available to Module I and II only. Module III will be added in the near future. [1931-1952]
Includes memoranda, reports, minute sheets and correspondence, along with detailed assessments of key events, speeches, maps, and topics of special interest. Includes Japan-specific files from the FO 371 and FO 262 series and is supplemented by files from the Western and American Department papers in FO 371.
From the world’s foremost private collection of early and rare Hebraica, this is an unparalleled resource for the study of oriental printing, Judeo-Arabic literature, Hebrew liturgy, and the history of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community.
Abstracts of major Hebrew journals from 1977 to date; over 850,000 items.
The database combines: Index to Hebrew Periodicals; the Eretz Israel Database; the Tel Hai Index to Hebrew Newspapers; and the Bar Ilan Indexing Project. [1977-]
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India for the period covering the partition of the Subcontinent from 1945 to 1949.
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India. It contains a wide range of materials and identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India and South Asia in the postwar period.
Consisting of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966, this collection is a key documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War.
In this collection over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 are arranged topically and chronologically on crucial subjects: political parties and elections, unrest and revolution, human rights, government administration, fiscal and monetary issues, national defense, foreign policy-making, wars and alliances, religion, culture, trade, industry, natural resources, and more.
South China Morning Post, The Times of India, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016), The Jerusalem Post (1932 - 2008), The Korea Times (1956 - 2016), The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003), The Scotsman (1817 - 1950), Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War.
While these modules provide an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, these records also offer detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed. As such, the collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category are an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world. In addition, U.S. diplomats and military officials often reported back on international reaction to events in the United States, thereby providing an international perspective on important developments in the United States. This category also now includes British Foreign Office Records on World War I.
KOTAR is an online a library of scholarly works published in Hebrew over the past 50 years, in the fields of Israel and Jewish studies, literature, history, education, and sociology, as well as other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
KOTAR is also a digital work environment, in which readers may mark, annotate and write.
A collection of 22 newspapers and periodicals supporting the ideology of communism, most published in the United States. Dates range from 1848 through 1978, with most coverage in the early 20th century. There are some gaps in coverage.
The complete Hebrew ebook collection of Hebrew University's Magnes Press: scholarly works in a wide range of fields, including literature, philosophy, history, Jewish Studies, classical studies, and more. Note: For off campus use, this resource currently requires the VPN to use.
medRxiv is a preprint service for medical, clinical, and health sciences. Preprints "should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
"Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review."
Reference manager and academic social network with web-based, desktop, and mobile versions. Save, organize, and share sources you find during your research. Automatically format in-text citations and bibliographies.
Sign up with your UC Berkeley email address to access premium features, which include 100GB personal library space, 100GB shared library space, 100 collaborators in private groups, and unlimited private groups. See this Mendeley guide for more information.
MetBase is an information database and bibliography of meteorites and planetary sciences and includes basic information, analysis data, repositories, images and literature on meteoritics and planetary sciences.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
A digital archive of prominent newspapers from the the Middle East and North Africa. The content is partially open access, but a number of selective newspapers are UC Berkeley restricted.
"From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have witnessed their fair share of history. The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring."--Publisher's description.
Online collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by MIT Press.
Covers a broad range of subjects including arts, architecture, biomedical sciences, business, cognitive science, cultural studies, design, digital humanities and new media, economics, education, energy, engineering, environmental science, evolution, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, machine learning and AI, neuroscience, and social sciences.
Unparalleled Editions spans virtually the entire spectrum of Maimonides’ literary output. Includes 16th-20th century imprints, Hebrew and bilingual editions (Hebrew with Latin, Judeo-German, or French text).
Online collaborative LaTeX editor for writing scientific and technical papers. Useful for formatting equations, formulas, algorithms, tables, and figures within text. Sign up with your UC Berkeley email address to access premium features.
Premium features include unlimited collaborators, real-time track changes, full document history, Mendeley integration and sync, GitHub integration and sync, and the ability to save to Dropbox.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a exhaustive digital encyclopedia that covers different topics and subjects related to Latin America's peoples and experiences from per-Columbian to contemporary times.
This collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan based on U.S. State Department Central Classified Files.
A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the “Economic Survey,” dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and “Dacca Newsletter,” dated July 1949. The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
Database of powder diffraction patterns from the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD). Note:Access provided onsite at the Engineering Library.
Each data set contains diffraction, crystallographic and bibliographic data, as well as experimental, instrument and sampling conditions, and select physical properties in a common standardized format.
High-quality commentaries on economics, politics, development, sustainability and innovation from prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from around the world. [1997 to present]
Researchers have access to full-runs and full-images that include front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types to not only understand the news of yesteryear, but more importantly, the context in which it was made.
Search across all Proquest History Vault collections here. ProQuest History Vault unlocks a wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
RefWorks is a cloud-based reference management system. Features include integrating with Word and Google Docs to format in-text citations and bibliographies; share references; and attach or link PDFs to citation records.
SAGE Business Cases provides unlimited access to more than 3,650 cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. [2016-2020]
Includes the Berkeley-Haas Case Series, Yale School of Management, and other case study providers in addition to SAGE originals.
Online reference manager for discovering, saving, organizing, sharing and citing articles, books and book chapters, and web resources.
Features include the support of thousands of citation styles; integration with MS Word and Google Docs; reading, highlighting and annotating PDFs; viewing related articles; and creating shared projects. (Formerly called F1000Workspace)
This collection consists of six modules: Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; two modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War.
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Punctuation and annotations were inserted to help understand the texts. It is full-text searchable as well as browsable by dynasty. An online Calendar Conversion tool is available for easy reference from dynasty to years. An important primary source for research on Chinese history.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
The Translated Texts for Historians book series provides scholarly English translations of key historical sources from the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages. [A.D. 300-800]
Texts span 300-800 A.D. and have been translated into English from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian and Armenian. Each volume of scholarly translation includes an introduction setting the text into context, and rigorous notes on content, interpretation and debates.
The Arizona Republican (1890 - 2007), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Austin American Statesman (1871 - 1978), The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992), The Boston Globe (1872-1986), The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009), Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922), Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999), Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992), Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004), Louisville Courier Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 - 2001), The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002), Newsday (1940 - 1989), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962), The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001), Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003), St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874 - 2003)
Provides access to United Nations documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and selected publications. Most material is full text since 1993 with bibliographic records for print UN documents since 1979.
Includes linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document. Older documents are added regularly. Also includes resolutions of all UN principal organs & Security Council plenary documents since 1946.
Contains materials previously hosted at UNBISnet.
Anatomy and physiology presented through 3D model sets, animations, and guided dissections.
The 12 units cover specific physiological systems: cells and tissues, integumentary, skeleton and joints, muscle types, nervous, endocrine, circulatory, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive. Each unit includes self-test quizzes. Includes mobile app.
3D models of the male and female musculoskeletal system.
Detailed information for each skeletal muscle: blood supply, innervation, attachments, and muscle actions such as adduction, pronation, and flexion. Includes common musculoskeletal injuries and conditions (including cervical spondylosis, carpal tunnel syndrome, sciatica, plantar fasciitis), video presentations and a mobile app.
Animations illustrating body system functions, detailed physiology and common conditions.
System overviews include endocrine glands and hormones, function of the skeleton, cardiovascular physiology, and special senses. Detailed animations include breathing rate, heart conduction, urine creation, function of the epiglottis, sound production, and skeletal muscle contractions. Includes mobile app.
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States. Note: The contents in this database are being added through 2021.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].
Web-based data service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Provides access to financial, economic, accounting, and marketing data. All Berkeley students staff and faculty are eligible to create an account using a Berkeley email address.
Materials from the RGS library, archives & map collections including maps, charts, manuscript materials, field notes, correspondence, drawings, photographs, pamphlets, atlases, gazetteers, and other published and unpublished material.
"The RGS archive sheds light on the impact of geographical science on history, exploration, colonialism, & diplomatic policies, as well as natural resources, cultural studies, anthropology, and ethnography.
Maps are available in georeferenced formats.
Arabia & the Middle East Photographic Collections
Papers of Dr. David Livingstone & Henry Morton Stanley
Expedition Reports, including the Everest Collection
Robert Gunther Collection
Photographic & Artwork Collections on desert exploration, the Arctic, & Antarctica
Harry Johnston Collection on Africa & the Caribbean
Central Asia & Tibet Photographic Collections
Travel Guides & 17th-19th century Roadbooks
Royal Geographical Society Manuscript Maps Collection"
Materials from the New York Academy of Sciences archives including administrative records, case studies, fieldwork, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.
The New York Academy of Sciences was founded in 1817 as the Lyceum of Natural History in the City of New York. Its collections provide insights into the history of science, botany, environmental studies, and more. Specific collections include: Records of Conferences and Events; Nathaniel Lord Britton Records; Records of the Puerto Rico Survey; and Records of the Harbor Project.
The Women's Studies modules in History Vault consist of records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II.
This collection currently consists of three modules: Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; and Socialist Party of America Records.
Zotero is a tool that collects, manages, and cites the sources you find during your research.
Features include integrating with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies; share references; and attach or link PDFs to citation records. See this Zotero guide for more information.