Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New Databases

Loading...
The following databases are new to the Libraries!
  • UCB access only
New
Access to over 70,000 videos covering a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
  • UCB access only
New
Digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Issues are scanned in high resolution color with fully searchable text. [1896 - 2015]
  • UCB access only
New
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
  • UCB access only
New
Over 600 streaming videos on art and architecture by BBC Worldwide, A&E Network, ArtHaus Musik, Landmark Media, and Filmmakers Library, among others.
  • UCB access only
New
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
  • UCB access only
New
This database includes full images of judicial files from Jiangjin county, Chongqing City between 1911-1949.
  • UCB access only
New
The Customs’ Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country.
  • UCB access only
New
Classic Brazilian Cinema Online provides access to more than sixty Brazilian movie magazines, from the earliest ones published in the 1910s to later magazines covering the 1960s and early ‘70s.
  • UCB access only
New
The chemistry and biology concerned with isolation, identification, structure elucidation, and chemical characteristics of naturally occurring compounds such as pheromones, carbohydrates, nucleic acids and enzymes.
  • UCB access only
New
Full text online collection of over 750 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference works covering a spectrum of topics from the arts to the sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
This database provides biographical information about Jinshi degree holders throughout Chinese history. Currently the database includes information on 102,000 Jinshi degree holders.
Note: This resource allows for limited simultaneous users. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
  • UCB access only
New
Reference work for topics in animal behavior.
  • UCB access only
New
Surveys current research, treatment and societal impact of the disease.
  • UCB access only
New
Interdisciplinary articles investigating sustainable food production in relation to the effects of global change on food resources, biodiversity, and global food security. Includes sections on nutrition, diet, food systems, agriculture, and more.
  • UCB access only
New
Covers the history of the field, microbial diversity, physiology and genomics, ecology and evolution, pathogenesis and immunology, and recent advances
  • UCB access only
New
Covers all aspects of ophthalmology. Includes illustrations.
  • UCB access only
New
The Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics offers a comprehensive overview of the languages of the Slavic language family and the different ways in which they are and have been studied.
  • UCB access only
New
Comprehensive reference for the eye, its support structures, diseases, and treatments.
  • UCB access only
New
Global synthesis of biomes spanning biodiversity importance, principal anthropogenic stressors and trends, changing climatic conditions, and conservation strategies.
  • UCB access only
New
Content on chemicals and all core areas of toxicology, including epigenetics, nanotoxicology, computational toxicology, and translational toxicology, as well as global legal and regulatory issues.
  • UCB access only
New
Containing nearly 50,000 entries and 33,000 subentries, this dictionary emphasizes Yiddish as a living language spoken in many places around the world.
  • UCB access only
New
FBI files on surveillance conducted on Black Americans, civil rights organizations, and other institutions.
  • UCB access only
New
Provides full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Access currently available to Module I and II only. Module III will be added in the near future. [1931-1952]
  • UCB access only
New
Searchable database with full text of the Fresno Bee from 1887-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1887-2018 (recent years through 2018 are still being digitized and are added as they are made available), and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1986-current.
  • UCB access only
New
From the world’s foremost private collection of early and rare Hebraica, this is an unparalleled resource for the study of oriental printing, Judeo-Arabic literature, Hebrew liturgy, and the history of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community.
  • Free or open access
New
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection, with a preliminary release of 135,000 pages from 477 titles, will ultimately include approximately 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
  • UCB access only
New
Abstracts of major Hebrew journals from 1977 to date; over 850,000 items.
The database combines: Index to Hebrew Periodicals; the Eretz Israel Database; the Tel Hai Index to Hebrew Newspapers; and the Bar Ilan Indexing Project. [1977-]
  • UCB access only
New
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India for the period covering the partition of the Subcontinent from 1945 to 1949.
  • UCB access only
New
Consisting of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966, this collection is a key documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War.
  • UCB access only
New
A comprehensive, high-level, internationally focused reference work on public health with an international focus.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection contains essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Japanese internal and foreign affairs during World War II and the Postwar Period.
  • UCB access only
New
KOTAR is an online a library of scholarly works published in Hebrew over the past 50 years, in the fields of Israel and Jewish studies, literature, history, education, and sociology, as well as other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
A collection of 22 newspapers and periodicals supporting the ideology of communism, most published in the United States. Dates range from 1848 through 1978, with most coverage in the early 20th century. There are some gaps in coverage.
  • UCB access only
New
It contains all Jinshi degree holders and their biographical information throughout Chinese history. Currently the database includes information on 102,000 Jinshi degree holders. [Pre-1912]
  • UCB access only
New
The complete Hebrew ebook collection of Hebrew University's Magnes Press: scholarly works in a wide range of fields, including literature, philosophy, history, Jewish Studies, classical studies, and more.
Note: For off campus use, this resource currently requires the VPN to use.
  • Free or open access
New
medRxiv is a preprint service for medical, clinical, and health sciences. Preprints "should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
  • Free or open access
New
MetBase is an information database and bibliography of meteorites and planetary sciences and includes basic information, analysis data, repositories, images and literature on meteoritics and planetary sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
  • UCB access only
New
Online collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by MIT Press.
  • UCB access only
New
Unparalleled Editions spans virtually the entire spectrum of Maimonides’ literary output. Includes 16th-20th century imprints, Hebrew and bilingual editions (Hebrew with Latin, Judeo-German, or French text).
  • UCB access only
New
New essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, and hundreds of essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies in religion.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan based on U.S. State Department Central Classified Files.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection provides researchers with the opportunity to explore a unique period in China’s struggle toward a modern existence through the International Settlement in Shanghai.
  • UCB access only
New
Searchable database with full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1857-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1984-current.
  • UCB access only
New
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
New
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
  • UCB access only
New
The Translated Texts for Historians book series provides scholarly English translations of key historical sources from the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages. [A.D. 300-800]
  • UCB access only
New
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States. Note: The contents in this database are being added through 2021.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...