User-friendly, powerful cloud-based mapping software for creating web maps and performing analysis. Includes access to ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World and premium content, including demographic, environmental, and imagery data.
ArcGIS Online enables users to build interactive maps, create web-based apps, and perform spatial analysis in browser-based software. UC Berkeley users have access to a wide range of content including imagery, basemaps, demographics and lifestyle, landscape, boundaries and places, transportation, earth observations, urban systems, oceans, and historical maps that can be combined with users' own data to create maps, scenes, and apps and perform analysis. ArcGIS Online also includes tools for geocoding, geoenrichment, network analysis, and spatial analysis. UC Berkeley affiliates may log in with their Calnet credentials for full access at https://cal.maps.arcgis.com
Alternate Name(s):Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
MGG Online builds on the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008), offering new and substantially updated content as well as continuous updates, revisions, and additions.
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
Off campus access via VPN only. My China Roots is a family history database for the Chinese diaspora that includes millions of searchable ancestors in America and Southeast Asia.
The database includes thousands of clan books (zupus), immigration registers, burial and obituary records, and overseas Chinese business directories and association records. Surnames or village names are searchable. Most Chinese documents are full-text viewable online.
Collection of dozens of historical newspapers from California, Arizona and Nevada. Includes the Oakland Tribune (1874-1977).
Includes newspapers from California, Arizona, and Nevada only. Titles such as Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, and the Las Vegas Sun. Most individual titles end before 1980, and not all papers have the full run of the title.
Peer-reviewed and regularly updated articles that provide background information on significant topics and trends from disciplines across the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Alternate Name(s):PHAROS online chemical hazard, use and exposure data
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).
Alternate Name(s):Collection of Magazines on Japanese Mass Entertainment and Sexual Customs (1950s-70s); 性風俗稀少雑誌コレクション
Database offers cross-sectional access to potentially around 430 issues of popular entertainment/adult magazines published between 1950s and 1970s in Japan
This digital archive is a part of Shakai bunkashi dētabēsu 社会文化史データベース = Socio-Cultural History Database included in Japan Digital Archive Center (J-DAC)
Alternate Name(s):This database contains more than 400 titles of tabloids from the Shanghai Library. The tabloids emphasize on leisure and entertainment, including novels, essays, and trends in film, theater, dance, etc.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) is a legal research platform that provides access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, as well as treatises, reporters, newsletters, and blogs.
Practice areas covered include Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Energy & Environment, Healthcare, Intellectual Property, Labor Law, Securities, Taxation, and Corporate Law. Funded via partnership with Berkeley Law Library
