Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New Databases

Loading...
The following databases are new to the Libraries!
  • UCB access only
New
Access to over 70,000 videos covering a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
  • UCB access only
New
American Politics and Society consists of a wide range of 19th and 20th century material.
  • UCB access only
New
Lists and provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information. Approximately 50% of the tests includes are available in full text. [Early 1900s - present]
  • UCB access only
New
A major resource for the study of the British Empire, the British Raj in India, and the history, culture and literature of the Indian subcontinent from 1650-1942.
  • UCB access only
New
Digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Issues are scanned in high resolution color with fully searchable text. [1896 - 2015]
  • UCB access only
New
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
  • UCB access only
New
Over 600 streaming videos on art and architecture by BBC Worldwide, A&E Network, ArtHaus Musik, Landmark Media, and Filmmakers Library, among others.
  • Free or open access
New
The Virtual Library of Mexico provides full-text access to over thirteen thousand digitized individual items.
  • UCB access only
New
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
  • UCB access only
New
Calgary Herald (1883-2010), Edmonton Journal (1903-2010), The Globe and Mail‎ (1844 - 2014), Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010), Montreal Gazette (1857 - 2010, Ottawa Citizen (1846-2010), The Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010), Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009), Times Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010), Toronto Star‎ (1894 - 2015), Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)
  • UCB access only
New
This database includes full images of judicial files from Jiangjin county, Chongqing City between 1911-1949.
  • UCB access only
New
The Customs’ Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country.
  • UCB access only
New
The Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
  • UCB access only
New
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
  • UCB access only
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. [1919 - 2013]
  • UCB access only
New
Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. Create an account at the URL above; then log on at https://www.covidence.org.
  • UCB access only
New
Full text online collection of over 750 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference works covering a spectrum of topics from the arts to the sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
This database provides biographical information about Jinshi degree holders throughout Chinese history. Currently the database includes information on 102,000 Jinshi degree holders.
Note: This resource allows for limited simultaneous users. If you are having trouble accessing the content, please try again another time.
  • UCB access only
New
Covers all aspects of ophthalmology. Includes illustrations.
  • UCB access only
New
Comprehensive reference for the eye, its support structures, diseases, and treatments.
  • UCB access only
New
Containing nearly 50,000 entries and 33,000 subentries, this dictionary emphasizes Yiddish as a living language spoken in many places around the world.
  • UCB access only
New
FBI files on surveillance conducted on Black Americans, civil rights organizations, and other institutions.
  • UCB access only
New
Provides full-text searchable access to formerly restricted top level discussions and correspondence from the British Embassy and consulate in Japan. Access currently available to Module I and II only. Module III will be added in the near future. [1931-1952]
  • UCB access only
New
From the world’s foremost private collection of early and rare Hebraica, this is an unparalleled resource for the study of oriental printing, Judeo-Arabic literature, Hebrew liturgy, and the history of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community.
  • UCB access only
New
Full journal archive of The Institution of Chemical Engineers. Each of the journals contains original, peer-reviewed chemical, process, and related engineering research. [1923-1996]
  • UCB access only
New
Abstracts of major Hebrew journals from 1977 to date; over 850,000 items.
The database combines: Index to Hebrew Periodicals; the Eretz Israel Database; the Tel Hai Index to Hebrew Newspapers; and the Bar Ilan Indexing Project. [1977-]
  • UCB access only
New
This is a collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to the internal affairs of India and U.S. relations with India for the period covering the partition of the Subcontinent from 1945 to 1949.
  • UCB access only
New
Consisting of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966, this collection is a key documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War.
  • UCB access only
New
South China Morning Post, The Times of India, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859 - 2016), The Jerusalem Post‎ (1932 - 2008), The Korea Times‎ (1956 - 2016), The Guardian and The Observer‎ (1791 - 2003), The Scotsman‎ (1817 - 1950), Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
  • UCB access only
New
Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection contains essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Japanese internal and foreign affairs during World War II and the Postwar Period.
  • UCB access only
New
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ (1857 - 1922), The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000), The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990), The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990)
  • UCB access only
New
KOTAR is an online a library of scholarly works published in Hebrew over the past 50 years, in the fields of Israel and Jewish studies, literature, history, education, and sociology, as well as other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
A collection of 22 newspapers and periodicals supporting the ideology of communism, most published in the United States. Dates range from 1848 through 1978, with most coverage in the early 20th century. There are some gaps in coverage.
  • UCB access only
New
The complete Hebrew ebook collection of Hebrew University's Magnes Press: scholarly works in a wide range of fields, including literature, philosophy, history, Jewish Studies, classical studies, and more.
Note: For off campus use, this resource currently requires the VPN to use.
  • Free or open access
New
medRxiv is a preprint service for medical, clinical, and health sciences. Preprints "should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."
  • UCB access only
New
Reference manager and academic social network with web-based, desktop, and mobile versions. Save, organize, and share sources you find during your research. Automatically format in-text citations and bibliographies.
  • Free or open access
New
MetBase is an information database and bibliography of meteorites and planetary sciences and includes basic information, analysis data, repositories, images and literature on meteoritics and planetary sciences.
  • UCB access only
New
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
  • UCB access only
New
A digital archive of prominent newspapers from the the Middle East and North Africa. The content is partially open access, but a number of selective newspapers are UC Berkeley restricted.
  • UCB access only
New
Online collection of over 3,000 ebooks published by MIT Press.
  • UCB access only
New
Unparalleled Editions spans virtually the entire spectrum of Maimonides’ literary output. Includes 16th-20th century imprints, Hebrew and bilingual editions (Hebrew with Latin, Judeo-German, or French text).
  • UCB access only
New
Noor Digital Library is a collection of thousands of full text Persian ebooks in humanities and religious studies. This include history, literature, language, Islam, and philosophy.
  • UCB access only
New
Online collaborative LaTeX editor for writing scientific and technical papers. Useful for formatting equations, formulas, algorithms, tables, and figures within text. Sign up with your UC Berkeley email address to access premium features.
  • UCB access only
New
New essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, and hundreds of essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies in religion.
  • UCB access only
New
Contains peer-reviewed and regularly updated articles on significant topics and trends relating to the study of American history.
  • UCB access only
New
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a exhaustive digital encyclopedia that covers different topics and subjects related to Latin America's peoples and experiences from per-Columbian to contemporary times.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan based on U.S. State Department Central Classified Files.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection provides researchers with the opportunity to explore a unique period in China’s struggle toward a modern existence through the International Settlement in Shanghai.
  • UCB access only
New
Database of powder diffraction patterns from the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD).
Note:Access provided onsite at the Engineering Library.
  • UCB access only
New
High-quality commentaries on economics, politics, development, sustainability and innovation from prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from around the world. [1997 to present]
  • UCB access only
New
Researchers have access to full-runs and full-images that include front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types to not only understand the news of yesteryear, but more importantly, the context in which it was made.
  • UCB access only
New
Search across all Proquest History Vault collections here. ProQuest History Vault unlocks a wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
  • UCB access only
New
RefWorks is a cloud-based reference management system. Features include integrating with Word and Google Docs to format in-text citations and bibliographies; share references; and attach or link PDFs to citation records.
  • Free or open access
New
SafariDB is an open access database of information about classic geological outcrops.
  • UCB access only
New
SAGE Business Cases provides unlimited access to more than 3,650 cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. [2016-2020]
  • UCB access only
New
Online reference manager for discovering, saving, organizing, sharing and citing articles, books and book chapters, and web resources.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection consists of six modules: Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; two modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War.
  • UCB access only
New
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
New
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
  • UCB access only
New
The Translated Texts for Historians book series provides scholarly English translations of key historical sources from the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages. [A.D. 300-800]
  • UCB access only
New
The Arizona Republican‎ (1890 - 2007), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Austin American Statesman‎ (1871 - 1978), The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992), The Boston Globe (1872-1986), The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009), Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922), Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999), Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992), Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004), Louisville Courier Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867 - 2001), The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002), Newsday (1940 - 1989), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962), The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001), Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003), St. Louis Post Dispatch‎ (1874 - 2003)
  • Free or open access
New
Provides access to United Nations documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and selected publications. Most material is full text since 1993 with bibliographic records for print UN documents since 1979.
  • UCB access only
New
Anatomy and physiology presented through 3D model sets, animations, and guided dissections.
  • UCB access only
New
3D models of male and female anatomy.
  • UCB access only
New
3D models of the male and female musculoskeletal system.
  • UCB access only
New
Animations illustrating body system functions, detailed physiology and common conditions.
  • UCB access only
New
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States. Note: The contents in this database are being added through 2021.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].
  • UCB access only
New
Web-based data service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Provides access to financial, economic, accounting, and marketing data. All Berkeley students staff and faculty are eligible to create an account using a Berkeley email address.
  • UCB access only
New
Material from the archive of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI), going back to the 1860s. Includes photographs, fieldnotes, and personal papers.
  • UCB access only
New
Materials from the RGS library, archives & map collections including maps, charts, manuscript materials, field notes, correspondence, drawings, photographs, pamphlets, atlases, gazetteers, and other published and unpublished material.
  • UCB access only
New
Materials from the New York Academy of Sciences archives including administrative records, case studies, fieldwork, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.
  • UCB access only
New
The Women's Studies modules in History Vault consist of records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection currently consists of three modules: Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; and Socialist Party of America Records.
  • Free or open access
New
Zotero is a tool that collects, manages, and cites the sources you find during your research.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...