Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New Databases

Loading...
The following databases are new to the Libraries!
  • UCB access only
New
Standards, specifications, guidelines and manuals from The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials.
  • UCB access only
New
American Politics and Society consists of a wide range of 19th and 20th century material.
  • UCB access only
New
Lists and provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information. Approximately 50% of the tests includes are available in full text. [Early 1900s - present]
  • UCB access only
New
A major resource for the study of the British Empire, the British Raj in India, and the history, culture and literature of the Indian subcontinent from 1650-1942.
  • Free or open access
New
The Virtual Library of Mexico provides full-text access to over thirteen thousand digitized individual items.
  • UCB access only
New
A resource on the history and institutions of the Jain religious traditions.
  • UCB access only
New
A resource on South Asian tribal and indigenous religious traditions.
  • UCB access only
New
Calgary Herald (1883-2010), Edmonton Journal (1903-2010), The Globe and Mail‎ (1844 - 2014), Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010), Montreal Gazette (1857 - 2010, Ottawa Citizen (1846-2010), The Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010), Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009), Times Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010), Toronto Star‎ (1894 - 2015), Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)
  • UCB access only
New
This database comprises a collection of Hong Kong-related historical records, selected from the British Colonial Office, consisting of original correspondence between the governors of Hong Kong and the Colonial Office, as well as letters and telegram
  • UCB access only
New
The Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category consists of the NAACP Papers and federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
  • UCB access only
New
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
  • UCB access only
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. [1919 - 2013]
  • UCB access only
New
Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. Create an account at the URL above; then log on at https://www.covidence.org.
  • UCB access only
New
Build textual content sets from Gale primary source collections for data visualization and text data mining. Users will need to click Sign In and login with their @berkeley.edu account
  • UCB access only
New
Almost 200 items, with over 35,000 facsimile images from rare texts on diplomatic missions, commercial relations, Ottoman state structures, military and naval history, Ottoman expansionism, piracy, and rulers. [1475-1874]
  • UCB access only
New
Allows users to search across all of the Gale digital archives acquired by UC Berkeley Libraries.
  • UCB access only
New
Available to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff. Jointly funded by the University Library and Campus CIO.
Note: CalNet authentication required. Authentication automatically transmits the user's name to Gartner for account creation.
  • UCB access only
New
The collection documents the history of modern Russian and Ukrainian art. It encompasses critical literature, illustrated books, and art periodicals.
  • UCB access only
New
Full journal archive of The Institution of Chemical Engineers. Each of the journals contains original, peer-reviewed chemical, process, and related engineering research. [1923-1996]
  • UCB access only
New
South China Morning Post, The Times of India, The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859 - 2016), The Jerusalem Post‎ (1932 - 2008), The Korea Times‎ (1956 - 2016), The Guardian and The Observer‎ (1791 - 2003), The Scotsman‎ (1817 - 1950), Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
  • UCB access only
New
Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War.
  • UCB access only
New
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ (1857 - 1922), The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000), The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990), The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990)
  • Free or open access
New
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. [1912-1949]
  • UCB access only
New
Reference manager and academic social network with web-based, desktop, and mobile versions. Save, organize, and share sources you find during your research. Automatically format in-text citations and bibliographies.
  • UCB access only
New
"Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database." [1881 to the present]
  • UCB access only
New
A digital archive of prominent newspapers from the the Middle East and North Africa. The content is partially open access, but a number of selective newspapers are UC Berkeley restricted.
New
This modern newspaper package includes 100 newspapers published between 1911-1949 in Beijing and other major cities in China.
  • UCB access only
New
Nedelia was established in 1960, as a Sunday supplement to Izvestiia under the editorship of Aleksey Adzhubey, the son in law of the Soviet leader Nikita Khrushchev. At the height of its popularity Nedelia claimed up to two million copies in weekly circulation. [1960-2002]
  • UCB access only
New
UCB students can have free subscriptions to the NY Times website while enrolled at UCB. UCB staff and faculty are not included. Please read the "more" link for additional description and account set up instructions.
  • UCB access only
New
Educational resources and tools from the New York Times. See more link for access information.
  • UCB access only
New
Noor Digital Library is a collection of thousands of full text Persian ebooks in humanities and religious studies. This include history, literature, language, Islam, and philosophy.
  • UCB access only
New
Novoe Russkoe Slovo was the oldest continuously published New York-based Russian language newspaper. Its first issue was published in April of 1910 under the title, "Russkoe Slovo," in 1920 it was renamed as Novoe Russkoe Slovo. [1910-2010]
  • UCB access only
New
Online collaborative LaTeX editor for writing scientific and technical papers. Useful for formatting equations, formulas, algorithms, tables, and figures within text. Sign up with your UC Berkeley email address to access premium features.
  • UCB access only
New
The Ovid interface to MEDLINE. Citations and abstracts for articles published in medicine, life sciences, public health, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology, genetics, and more. [Mid-19th century - present]
  • UCB access only
New
Contains peer-reviewed and regularly updated articles on significant topics and trends relating to the study of American history.
  • UCB access only
New
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a exhaustive digital encyclopedia that covers different topics and subjects related to Latin America's peoples and experiences from per-Columbian to contemporary times.
  • UCB access only
New
Database of powder diffraction patterns from the International Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD).
Note:Access provided onsite at the Engineering Library.
  • UCB access only
New
High-quality commentaries on economics, politics, development, sustainability and innovation from prominent political leaders, policymakers, scholars, business leaders, and civic activists from around the world. [1997 to present]
  • UCB access only
New
Researchers have access to full-runs and full-images that include front-page headlines, classified ads, marriage and death announcements, comic strips, reviews, display advertising, editorials, birth notices, photographs, and many other article types to not only understand the news of yesteryear, but more importantly, the context in which it was made.
  • UCB access only
New
Search across all Proquest History Vault collections here. ProQuest History Vault unlocks a wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
  • UCB access only
New
RefWorks is a cloud-based reference management system. Features include integrating with Word and Google Docs to format in-text citations and bibliographies; share references; and attach or link PDFs to citation records.
  • UCB access only
New
RG was founded in 1990 by the government of the Russian Federation, Rossiiskaia Gazeta is a Russian newspaper of public record based in Moscow. [1990-2018]
  • UCB access only
New
This collection represents works of all Russian literary avant-garde schools. It comprises almost 800 books, periodicals and almanacs most of them published between 1910-1940.
  • Free or open access
New
SafariDB is an open access database of information about classic geological outcrops.
  • UCB access only
New
SAGE Business Cases provides unlimited access to more than 3,650 cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. [2016-2020]
  • UCB access only
New
Online reference manager for discovering, saving, organizing, sharing and citing articles, books and book chapters, and web resources.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection of films reveals war, history, current affairs, culture, and society, as seen through the socialist lens. It covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, and Cuba. [1917-1989]
  • UCB access only
New
This collection consists of six modules: Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; two modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War.
New
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
  • UCB access only
New
The Arizona Republican‎ (1890 - 2007), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Austin American Statesman‎ (1871 - 1978), The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992), The Boston Globe (1872-1986), The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009), Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922), Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999), Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992), Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004), Louisville Courier Journal, Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867 - 2001), The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002), Newsday (1940 - 1989), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962), The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001), Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003), St. Louis Post Dispatch‎ (1874 - 2003)
  • Free or open access
New
Provides access to United Nations documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and selected publications. Most material is full text since 1993 with bibliographic records for print UN documents since 1979.
  • UCB access only
New
Essential index to the study of cities and regions including urban affairs, community development and urban history. Coverage dating back to 1939.
  • UCB access only
New
Anatomy and physiology presented through 3D model sets, animations, and guided dissections.
  • UCB access only
New
3D models of male and female anatomy.
  • UCB access only
New
3D models of the male and female musculoskeletal system.
  • UCB access only
New
Animations illustrating body system functions, detailed physiology and common conditions.
  • UCB access only
New
UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff can have free subscriptions to the WSJ website. Please read the "more" link for additional description and account set up instructions.
  • UCB access only
New
Web-based data service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Provides access to financial, economic, accounting, and marketing data. All Berkeley students staff and faculty are eligible to create an account using a Berkeley email address.
  • UCB access only
New
Material from the archive of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI), going back to the 1860s. Includes photographs, fieldnotes, and personal papers.
  • UCB access only
New
Materials from the RGS library, archives & map collections including maps, charts, manuscript materials, field notes, correspondence, drawings, photographs, pamphlets, atlases, gazetteers, and other published and unpublished material.
  • UCB access only
New
Materials from the New York Academy of Sciences archives including administrative records, case studies, fieldwork, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.
  • UCB access only
New
The Women's Studies modules in History Vault consist of records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II.
  • UCB access only
New
This collection currently consists of three modules: Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; and Socialist Party of America Records.
  • UCB access only
New
The newspaper Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland) was established in East Berlin. The newspaper was aimed at Russian emigrants and was an important anti-western propaganda tool for the USSR. [1955-1960]
  • Free or open access
New
Zotero is a tool that collects, manages, and cites the sources you find during your research.
  • UCB access only
New
This database contains rubbing images made from 2,466 Stele Inscriptions collected from Han to the Six Dynasties (206BC – 589). [206B.C. to 589]
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Copyright © 2014-2019 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.