This resource documents the period of rapid colonial expansion by European powers across the African continent during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century.
Covers accounts of missionaries and European explorers navigating the interior of the continent in the early nineteenth century; to the rise in European desire for increased power, empire and wealth culminating in the Berlin Conference 1885-1886; to the subsequent power struggles, negotiations and conflicts that raged across the continent at the turn of the twentieth century.
Records of the AFL from its formation in 1886 until the death of Samuel Gompers in 1924. Includes correspondence, speeches and writings, conferences, and congressional testimony.
Formed in 1947, the ADA grew out of a predecessor group, the Union for Democratic Action, established in 1941 to initiate a two-front fight against fascism, at home and abroad.
User-friendly, powerful cloud-based mapping software for creating web maps and performing analysis. Includes access to ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World and premium content, including demographic, environmental, and imagery data.
ArcGIS Online enables users to build interactive maps, create web-based apps, and perform spatial analysis in browser-based software. UC Berkeley users have access to a wide range of content including imagery, basemaps, demographics and lifestyle, landscape, boundaries and places, transportation, earth observations, urban systems, oceans, and historical maps that can be combined with users' own data to create maps, scenes, and apps and perform analysis. ArcGIS Online also includes tools for geocoding, geoenrichment, network analysis, and spatial analysis. UC Berkeley affiliates may log in with their Calnet credentials for full access at https://cal.maps.arcgis.com
Barron's reports financial news, in-depth analysis and commentary on stocks and investments. It reflects on how markets moved across the world the previous week and provides outlook and reports on the week ahead.
A leading weekly in the field of financial journalism since 1921, Barron's was founded by Clarence Barron, journalist and subsequent owner of Dow Jones and Company.
Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movements focuses on unearthing and digitizing the histories of civil rights activism by the everyday citizens of Black, Latine, Indigenous, and Asian American/Pacific Islander communities. The program will include up to four collections, targeted for completion by the end of 2025.
The first collection in development will focus on the African American experience and will draw on primary source materials from colleges and universities, historical societies, public libraries, community archives and other institutions.
Explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s.
This resource is comprised of correspondence, intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, minutes, maps, newspaper excerpts and other materials from the FO 65, FO 106, FO 371 and FO 539 series at the UK National Archives.
A series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library.
The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
Includes the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune.
Correspondence, articles, sermons, reports, pamphlets, lecture notes, and other writings of John A. Ryan, the foremost social justice advocate and theoretician in the Catholic Church during the first half in the 20th century.
Alternate Name(s)
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
MGG Online builds on the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008), offering new and substantially updated content as well as continuous updates, revisions, and additions.
Off campus access via VPN only. My China Roots is a family history database for the Chinese diaspora that includes millions of searchable ancestors in America and Southeast Asia.
The database includes thousands of clan books (zupus), immigration registers, burial and obituary records, and overseas Chinese business directories and association records. Surnames or village names are searchable. Most Chinese documents are full-text viewable online.
Alternate Name(s)
PHAROS online chemical hazard, use and exposure data
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).
The collection includes includes Jackson’s correspondence during his time as the
organization’s president, minutes of meetings, his annual addresses, and some of his writings on civil rights and civil disobedience.
The Jackson Papers span from 1889–2003 but focus on the period from 1950–1990.
Revolución y Cultura is a fundamental and often unique resource for the study of more than half a century of Cuban culture ... Some of Cuba's most notable intellectuals have been among the journal's editors and contributors, including several National Award winners, such as Lisandro Otero, Reynaldo González, Graziella Pogolotti, Ambrosio Fornet, Antón Arrufat, Leonardo Acosta, Jaime Sarusky, Leonardo Padura, and Senel Paz. As an illustrated cultural magazine with a wide thematic range, which for decades has attracted the best writers, photographers, designers and illustrators in the country, Revolución y Cultura offers the most outstanding contributions in literature and the arts by both Cubans and foreigners
These collections represent rice, cotton, and sugar plantations in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas.
Major collections include Cameron Family Papers, and Pettigrew Family Papers. This module includes several collections of cotton factors’ records, notably the records of Maunsell White from Louisiana, and the Gordon family from Savannah, Georgia.
The fourth installment of Plantation Records focuses on plantations in North Carolina and Virginia while also covering Tennessee, Kentucky, and Alabama.
Major series of records in this module document tobacco and cotton plantations in the Tidewater, Coastal Plains, and Piedmont regions of North Carolina.
The comprehensive archive of Znamia (Знамя, Banner), an esteemed Soviet/Russian “thick journal” (tolstyi zhurnal) spans over nine decades and serves as a treasure trove of intellectual and artistic contributions.
Originally launched in January 1931 under the name LOKAF (Локаф), an acronym for the Literary Association of the Red Army and Navy, the journal was officially rebranded as Znamia—which translates to ‘Banner’ in English—in 1933. Throughout its history, Znamia has been a pivotal venue for showcasing the works of preeminent authors such as Anna Akhmatova, Alexander Tvardovsky, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Konstantin Paustovsky, Yuri Kazakov, and Yuri Trifonov.
Searchable full-text of the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India). A nationalist daily founded in 1924, the Hindustan Times played an essential role in the Indian independence movement.
Alternate Name(s)
This database contains more than 400 titles of tabloids from the Shanghai Library. The tabloids emphasize on leisure and entertainment, including novels, essays, and trends in film, theater, dance, etc.
Tabloids recorded what broadsheet newspapers missed, and spoke what cannot be expressed by broadsheet newspapers. This resource would be a great complement of regular news resources published in the same time period. It would also provide much needed primary sources to academic programs in the area of history/art history, sociology, cultural/popular cultural studies, journalism studies and film studies.
VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) is a legal research platform that provides access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, as well as treatises, reporters, newsletters, and blogs.
Practice areas covered include Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Energy & Environment, Healthcare, Intellectual Property, Labor Law, Securities, Taxation, and Corporate Law. Funded via partnership with Berkeley Law Library
Bringing women's stories to light, the Women's Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources.
The comprehensive archive of Znamia (Знамя, Banner), an esteemed Soviet/Russian “thick journal” (tolstyi zhurnal) spans over nine decades and serves as a treasure trove of intellectual and artistic contributions.
Originally launched in January 1931 under the name LOKAF (Локаф), an acronym for the Literary Association of the Red Army and Navy, the journal was officially rebranded as Znamia—which translates to ‘Banner’ in English—in 1933. Throughout its history, Znamia has been a pivotal venue for showcasing the works of preeminent authors such as Anna Akhmatova, Alexander Tvardovsky, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Konstantin Paustovsky, Yuri Kazakov, and Yuri Trifonov.
