Find the best library databases for your research.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
History Vault content module American Indians and the American West from 1809-1971. Several collections focus on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Notable 19th Century collections focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. 20th Century collections include Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
American Politics and Society is a wide-ranging database, focused on American Politics in the 19th and 20th centuries. The collections span records of Temperance organizations, 1830-1933; immigration records during the massive immigration wave from 1880-1930; legal collections from the Harvard Law School Library, including papers of three Supreme Court Justices; numerous collections on Progressive Era politics; and records from the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House through Gerald R. Ford presidencies. Notable events documented in this category include 20th century presidential elections; important legislation such as the Pure Food and Drug Act of 1906, Fair Labor Standard Act, and the Civil Rights Act of 1964; international events such as the Yalta Conference, the Berlin Airlift in 1948, the Bay of Pigs invasion in 1961, and the 1965 crisis in the Dominican Republic; and political events such as the ratification of the Eighteenth Amendment, the New Deal, McCarthyism, and the Great Society.
Forecasts from 50-plus economists employed by US manufacturers, banks, insurance companies, and brokerage firms, plus an average, or consensus, of their forecasts. Data is annual and quarterly from 1976.
Carbon Pulse is an online, subscription-based B2B service dedicated to providing in-depth news and intelligence about carbon pricing initiatives and climate change policies around the world. Requires registration with Carbon Pulse, and the completion of this form
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/10SSK7VnizRtA6i-EZxF2sOMyNOgEs-zzZXi2osYq694/edit?ts=66db2645
The subscription is available to all current UC Berkeley faculty, students, staff, and researchers. You should receive an email from Carbon-Pulse within 10 days notifying you that you’re subscribed.
*If you have any questions, please email Ayuko Picot, ayukopicot@berkeley.edu, at the Center for Environmental Public Policy.
This database offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. This category includes NAACP Papers, federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the 20th Century Black Freedom Struggle. The collections in this category include documentation on the major events of the civil rights era, such as the Montgomery Bus Boycott, Freedom Rides, March on Washington, Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Selma to Montgomery March, and other events spanning the full 20th Century.
Content spans 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations. Provides an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, and also offers detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed, making these collections an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world. Also covers the British Foreign Office, with documentation on events such as World War I, World War II, and Vietnam War battles; and on international diplomatic events such as the Yalta Conference, the Potsdam Conference, the 1952 Treaty of Peace with Japan, Strategic Arms Limitation Talks, Nixon’s trip to China in 1972, and Henry Kissinger's Shuttle Diplomacy to the Middle East, 1973-1975.
This database contains two modules, Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration: Records of the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs (1979-1981) and Bexar Archives: Colonial Archives of Texas during the Spanish and Mexican Periods, 1717-1836. The events documented in the Carter Administration collection that are noted in the timeline are general events from the presidency of Jimmy Carter such as the second round of Strategic Arms Limitation Talks, the 1980 presidential election. Events documented in the Bexar Archives include Gutierrez-Magee invasion of 1812-1813, the battle of Medina in 1813, the Champ D'Asile incident in 1818, Dr. Long's expedition in 1819, the coming of Moses Austin in 1820, the Mexican independent regime in 1821, the Fredonian Rebel lion in Nacogdoches in 1827, and, finally, the independence of Texas in 1836.
Planet Labs provides daily satellite images of the Earth’s land surfaces and coastal areas. Natural color, near infra-red, and other multi-channel imagery products are available with 5m, 3.7m and 50cm ground pixel resolution. Request access to this resource by filling out this form
QDR is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences and related disciplines. Contact the Library Data Services Program (librarydataservices@berkeley.edu) for information about archiving qualitative data with QDR..
Consists of 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, the first North American historical society and the first library to devote its primary attention to collecting Americana. The collections digitized focus on the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, and the Early National Period, with some collections extending into the Civil War era. Collections include Pre-Revolutionary Diaries, 1635-1774, the Benjamin Lincoln Papers, Revere Family Papers, Elbridge Gerry Papers, and Artemas Ward Papers. Due to the primarily personal papers nature of the collections in this category, the only event currently identified is the Battle of Bunker Hill.
History Vault’s collections on Slavery and Southern plantations candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society, providing some of the most revealing documentation in existence on the functioning of the slave system. Ledgers, correspondence, petitions, photographs, diaries, legal documents, and other materials illuminate this large and momentous chapter in history by documenting the far-reaching impact of slavery on plantations, the American South, and the nation.
This History Vault module focuses on the fight for women’s voting rights through the records of the National Woman’s Party and personal papers of women involved in the voting rights effort. The National Woman’s Party Papers are one of the most valuable collections for understanding the fight for women’s suffrage. Collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College collections focus on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights. The Margaret Sanger Papers also focus on reproductive rights. The collections in this subject area include documentation on events such as the founding of the National Woman’s Party, the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment, legal cases involving Margaret Sanger and reproductive rights, and the passage in Congress of the Equal Rights Amendment.
Focuses on workers and the American labor movement since the Civil War as well as other progressive and radical social movements. Taken as a whole, this category documents the efforts of labor unions and other organizations to impact American and international politics. Notable collections are records of the Knights of Labor; the AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; Socialist Party of America, Students for a Democratic Society, Americans for Democratic Action, and the American Jewish Congress. Events documented in this category include major labor strikes such as the Pullman Strike of 1894, the 1912 Lawrence, Massachusetts textile strike, and the National railroad yardmen's strike; presidential elections; the 1955 merger of the American Federation of Labor (AFL) and the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO); the 1962 Port Huron Statement by Students for a Democratic Society; and anti-Vietnam War demonstrations, including those demonstrations organized by Vietnam Veterans Against the War, such as Operation Dewey Canyon III in 1971.
1864-2023. Zoological Record is a database of animal biology with coverage beginning in 1864. It's considered a leading taxonomic reference source and unofficial register of animal names.
