Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Building Science Resources: Home

A bibliographic research guide that focuses on environmental quality, performance measurement, technology, materials, historical sources, and strategies for finding materials at UC Berkeley and on the Internet.

Search Terms

To Find BOOKS or ARTICLES use the following SEARCH TERMS in library catalogs and indexes.


AutoCAD
Architectural drawing--Computer-aided design
Architecture and energy conservation
Architecture--details
Building - details - drawings
Buildings -- performance
Computer-Aided Design
Computer Graphics
Digital computer simulation
Heating and ventilation
Indoor air pollution
Intelligent buildings
Materials--Thermal properties Tables
Organic architecture--Computer-aided design
Ventilation Equipment and supplies
    --Design and construction.
    --Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Virtual Reality
Windows - energy conservation

Materials

Use Construction Resources in conjuction with Building Science Resources for Cost Data, Building Methods, Materials, and Product Directories

Indexes

Indexes for articles on current research. (check dates of coverage) also use Architecture Indexes

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Use Dictionaries and Encyclopedias for terminology, illustrations, definitions, names, dates, sites, methods.

Print Resources

Electionic Resources

Projects, Associations, Centers and Libraries

Contact Information

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as OskiCat, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Journals

(use the e-journals list to find others)