Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

UCB Library for Summer Sessions 2020 students: Read this First!

Library services and research support for Summer Sessions 2020 students, UC Berkeley

Using the Library Online

FIRST - start with the Library home page to do your research!  (see Off campus access)

"Start Your Search" includes books articles, media, maps, government documents, manuscripts, and more.  It does NOT include everything the Library has to offer, but it's a good start.

"Start Your Search" includes e-books.  If you find a print book you want to use, click on the "view in Oskicat" button, then on the "Hathi Trust" button (MAKE SURE YOU LOGIN with Calnet ID).  If there is a "Full view" or "Temporary Access" view, click on the icon for the full text.  See "Books" tab for details.

"Start Your Search" also includes articles; if there isn't a full text icon next to the article citation, click on UC elinks (see Articles tab for more details).

If you aren't finding what you want, try browsing the full list of article databases; pull down the "subject" menu to find the appropriate academic discipline(s) and also the "all database types" to articles.

OR:  ask for help!  Librarians are happy to talk to you, through 24/7 chat or by appointment!  (See Help tab)

For more information, try the UCB Library's COVID-19 portal.

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

When you are doing online research, it's best to start with the Library home page; then when you access links in OskiCat or library databases, you will be asked to login with Calnet ID and passphrase.

If you search google for books, journals, etc. - you will not be able to access full text unless you use the EZ proxy bookmarklet.  Add this to your bookmarks bar and then click on it any time you use a link that was not found via the UCB Library web site (such as Google).

More information available on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Learn New Skills!