It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Although “complexity science” is used to understand phenomena as diverse as the behavior of honeybees, the economic markets, the human brain, and the climate, there is no agreement about its foundations. In this introduction for students, academics, and general readers, philosopher of science James Ladyman and physicist Karoline Wiesner develop an account of complexity that brings the different concepts and mathematical measures applied to complex systems into a single framework.
Bounded Symmetric Domains in Banach Spaces by Cho-Ho ChuThis timely book exposes succinctly recent advances in the geometric and analytic theory of bounded symmetric domains. A unique feature is the unified treatment to both finite and infinite dimensional symmetric domains, using Jordan theory in tandem with Lie theory. The highlights include a generalized Riemann mapping theorem, which realizes a bounded symmetric domain as the open unit ball of a complex Banach space with a Jordan structure. Far-reaching applications of this realization in complex geometry and function theory are discussed. This monograph is intended to be a convenient reference for researchers and graduate students in geometric analysis, infinite dimensional holomorphy as well as functional analysis and operator theory.
Dimensional Analysis for Unit Conversions Using MATLAB by Roger W. PryorThis book and MATLAB application package will accurately convert values from one unit of measure to another using standard conversion factors. It performs conversions from and to the inch-pound system units used in the USA and the International System of Units (SI) as documented in the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) publications of conversions for general use. There are 1,316 conversion factors available for bidirectional conversion from / to SI units, organized into 44 minor subsections by topic under eight major topical sections. There is also an alphabetical section comprising 445 conversion factors for unidirectional conversion to SI units.
Fundamental Mathematical Analysis by Robert MagnusThis textbook offers a comprehensive undergraduate course in real analysis in one variable. Taking the view that analysis can only be properly appreciated as a rigorous theory, the book recognizes the difficulties that students experience when encountering this theory for the first time, carefully addressing them throughout. Historically, it was the precise description of real numbers and the correct definition of limit that placed analysis on a solid foundation. The book therefore begins with these crucial ideas and the fundamental notion of sequence. Infinite series are then introduced, followed by the key concept of continuity. These lay the groundwork for differential and integral calculus, which are carefully covered in the following chapters. Pointers for further study are included throughout the book, and for the more adventurous there is a selection of "nuggets", exciting topics not commonly discussed at this level. Examples of nuggets include Newton's method, the irrationality of π, Bernoulli numbers, and the Gamma function. Based on decades of teaching experience, this book is written with the undergraduate student in mind. A large number of exercises, many with hints, provide the practice necessary for learning, while the included "nuggets" provide opportunities to deepen understanding and broaden horizons.
Modeling, Simulation and Control of Electrical Drives by Mohammed Fazlur Rahman; Sanjeet K. Dwivedi (Editors)Thanks to advances in power electronics device design, digital signal processing technologies and energy efficient algorithms, ac motors have become the backbone of the power electronics industry. Variable frequency drives (VFD's) together with IE3 and IE4 induction motors, permanent magnet motors, and synchronous reluctance motors have emerged as a new generation of greener high-performance technologies, which offer improvements to process and speed control, product quality, energy consumption and diagnostics analytics. Primarily intended for professionals and advanced students who are working on sensorless control, predictive control, direct torque control, speed control and power quality and optimisation techniques for electric drives, this edited book surveys state of the art novel control techniques for different types of ac machines. The book provides a framework of different modeling and control algorithms using MATLAB®/Simulink®, and presents design, simulation and experimental verification techniques for the design of lower cost and more reliable and performant systems.
Analysis, Probability and Mathematical Physics on Fractals by Patricia Alonso Ruiz; Joe P. Chen; Luke G. Rogers; Robert S. Strichartz; Alexander Teplyaev (Editors)In the 50 years since Mandelbrot identified the fractality of coastlines, mathematicians and physicists have developed a rich and beautiful theory describing the interplay between analytic, geometric and probabilistic aspects of the mathematics of fractals. Using classical and abstract analytic tools developed by Cantor, Hausdorff, and Sierpinski, they have sought to address fundamental questions: How can we measure the size of a fractal set? How do waves and heat travel on irregular structures? How are analysis, geometry and stochastic processes related in the absence of Euclidean smooth structure? What new physical phenomena arise in the fractal-like settings that are ubiquitous in nature?This book introduces background and recent progress on these problems, from both established leaders in the field and early career researchers. The book gives a broad introduction to several foundational techniques in fractal mathematics, while also introducing some specific new and significant results of interest to experts, such as that waves have infinite propagation speed on fractals. It contains sufficient introductory material that it can be read by new researchers or researchers from other areas who want to learn about fractal methods and results.
Basic Analysis II : A Modern Calculus in Many Variables by James K. PetersonBasic Analysis II : A Modern Calculus in Many Variables focuses on differentiation in Rn and important concepts about mappings from Rn to Rm, such as the inverse and implicit function theorem and change of variable formulae for multidimensional integration. These topics converge nicely with many other important applied and theoretical areas which are no longer covered in mathematical science curricula. Although it follows on from the preceding volume, this is a self-contained book, accessible to undergraduates with a minimal grounding in analysis. Features Can be used as a traditional textbook as well as for self-study Suitable for undergraduates in mathematics and associated disciplines Emphasises learning how to understand the consequences of assumptions using a variety of tools to provide the proofs of propositions.
Basic Analysis III : Mappings on Infinite Dimensional Spaces by James K. PetersonBasic Analysis III : Mappings on Infinite Dimensional Spaces is intended as a first course in abstract linear analysis. This textbook covers metric spaces, normed linear spaces and inner product spaces, along with many other deeper abstract ideas such a completeness, operators and dual spaces. These topics act as an important tool in the development of a mathematically trained scientist. This book be used as a traditional textbook as well as for self-study suitable for undergraduates in mathematics and associated disciplines. Emphasis is on learning how to understand the consequences of assumptions using a variety of tools to provide the proofs of propositions.
Basic Analysis IV : Measure Theory and Integration by James K. PetersonBasic Analysis IV : Measure Theory and Integration introduces students to concepts from measure theory and continues their training in the abstract way of looking at the world. This is a most important skill to have when your life's work will involve quantitative modeling to gain insight into the real world. This text generalizes the notion of integration to a very abstract setting in a variety of ways. We generalize the notion of the length of an interval to the measure of a set and learn how to construct the usual ideas from integration using measures. We discuss carefully the many notions of convergence that measure theory provides. Features * Can be used as a traditional textbook as well as for self-study * Suitable for advanced students in mathematics and associated disciplines * Emphasises learning how to understand the consequences of assumptions using a variety of tools to provide the proofs of propositions
Krylov Subspace Methods with Application in Incompressible Fluid Flow Solvers by Iman FarahbakhshA succinct and complete explanation of Krylov subspace methods for solving systems of equations, this book is the most current and complete guide to the implementation of Krylov subspace methods for solving systems of equations with different types of matrices. Written in the simplest language possible and eliminating ambiguities, the text is easy to follow for post-grad students and applied mathematicians alike. The book covers a breadth of topics, including: The different methods used in solving the systems of equations with ill-conditioned and well-conditioned matrices The behavior of Krylov subspace methods in the solution of systems with ill-posed singular matrices Expertly supported with the addition of a companion website hosting computer programs of appendices The book includes executable subroutines and main programs that can be applied in CFD codes as well as appendices that support the results provided throughout the text. There is no other comparable resource to prepare the reader to use Krylov subspace methods in incompressible fluid flow solvers.
The Great Prime Number Race by Roger J. PlymenHave you ever wondered about the explicit formulas in analytic number theory? This short book provides a streamlined and rigorous approach to the explicit formulas of Riemann and von Mangoldt. The race between the prime counting function and the logarithmic integral forms a motivating thread through the narrative, which emphasizes the interplay between the oscillatory terms in the Riemann formula and the Skewes number, the least number for which the prime number theorem undercounts the number of primes. Throughout the book, there are scholarly references to the pioneering work of Euler. The book includes a proof of the prime number theorem and outlines a proof of Littlewood's oscillation theorem before finishing with the current best numerical upper bounds on the Skewes number. This book is a unique text that provides all the mathematical background for understanding the Skewes number. Many exercises are included, with hints for solutions. This book is suitable for anyone with a first course in complex analysis. Its engaging style and invigorating point of view will make refreshing reading for advanced undergraduates through research mathematicians.
Advanced Calculus by John Srdjan PetrovicAdvanced Calculus: Theory and Practice, Second Edition offers a text for a one- or two-semester course on advanced calculus or analysis. The text improves students' problem-solving and proof-writing skills, familiarizes them with the historical development of calculus concepts, and helps them understand the connections among different topics. The book explains how various topics in calculus may seem unrelated but have common roots. Emphasizing historical perspectives, the text gives students a glimpse into the development of calculus and its ideas from the age of Newton and Leibniz to the twentieth century. Nearly 300 examples lead to important theorems. Features of the Second Edition: Improved Organization. Chapters are reorganized to address common preferences. Enhanced Coverage of Axiomatic Systems. A section is added to include Peano's system of axioms for the set of natural numbers and their use in developing the well-known properties of the set N. Expanded and Organized Exercise Collection. There are close to 1,000 new exercises, many of them with solutions or hints. Exercises are classified based on the level of diﬃculty. Computation-oriented exercises are paired and solutions or hints provided for the odd-numbered questions. Enrichment Material. Historical facts and biographies of over 60 mathematicians. Illustrations. Thirty-five new illustrations are added in order to guide students through examples or proofs. About the Author: John Srdjan Petrovic is a professor at Western Michigan University.
Algebra and Galois Theories by Adrien Douady; Régine DouadyGalois theory has such close analogies with the theory of coverings that algebraists use a geometric language to speak of field extensions, while topologists speak of "Galois coverings". This book endeavors to develop these theories in a parallel way, starting with that of coverings, which better allows the reader to make images. The authors chose a plan that emphasizes this parallelism. The intention is to allow to transfer to the algebraic framework of Galois theory the geometric intuition that one can have in the context of coverings. This book is aimed at graduate students and mathematicians curious about a non-exclusively algebraic view of Galois theory.
Stochastic Linear-quadratic Optimal Control Theory : Differential Games and Mean-field Problems by Jingrui Sun; Jiongmin YongThis book gathers the most essential results, including recent ones, on linear-quadratic optimal control problems, which represent an important aspect of stochastic control. It presents results for two-player differential games and mean-field optimal control problems in the context of finite and infinite horizon problems, and discusses a number of new and interesting issues. Further, the book identifies, for the first time, the interconnections between the existence of open-loop and closed-loop Nash equilibria, solvability of the optimality system, and solvability of the associated Riccati equation, and also explores the open-loop solvability of mean-filed linear-quadratic optimal control problems.
Introduction to the Theory of Nonlinear Optimization by Johannes JahnThis book offers an introduction to optimization theory in normed spaces. The topics covered include existence results, various differentiability notions together with optimality conditions, the contingent cone, a generalization of the Lagrange multiplier rule, duality theory, extended semidefinite optimization, and an investigation of linear quadratic and time minimal control problems. The 4th edition of this book has been extensively revised and a new chapter on discrete-continuous optimization has been added. This textbook focuses on the fundamentals, with particular emphasis on their application to problems in the calculus of variations, approximation and optimal control theory. The reader is assumed to have a basic grasp of linear functional analysis.
Statistical Learning Using Neural Networks : A Guide for Statisticians and Data Scientists by Basilio de Braganca Pereira; Calyampudi Radhakrishna Rao; Fabio Borges de OliveiraStatistical Learning using Neural Networks: A Guide for Statisticians and Data Scientists with Python introduces artificial neural networks starting from the basics and increasingly demanding more effort from readers, who can learn the theory and its applications in statistical methods with concrete Python code examples. It presents a wide range of widely used statistical methodologies, applied in several research areas with Python code examples, which are available online. It is suitable for scientists and developers as well as graduate students. Key Features: Discusses applications in several research areas Covers a wide range of widely used statistical methodologies Includes Python code examples Gives numerous neural network models This book covers fundamental concepts on Neural Networks including Multivariate Statistics Neural Networks, Regression Neural Network Models, Survival Analysis Networks, Time Series Forecasting Networks, Control Chart Networks, and Statistical Inference Results. This book is suitable for both teaching and research. It introduces neural networks and is a guide for outsiders of academia working in data mining and artificial intelligence (AI). This book brings together data analysis from statistics to computer science using neural networks.
Statistical Learning from a Regression Perspective by Richard A. BerkThis textbook considers statistical learning applications when interest centers on the conditional distribution of a response variable, given a set of predictors, and in the absence of a credible model that can be specified before the data analysis begins. Consistent with modern data analytics, it emphasizes that a proper statistical learning data analysis depends in an integrated fashion on sound data collection, intelligent data management, appropriate statistical procedures, and an accessible interpretation of results. The unifying theme is that supervised learning properly can be seen as a form of regression analysis.
Hyperbolic Knot Theory by Jessica PurcellThis book provides an introduction to hyperbolic geometry in dimension three, with motivation and applications arising from knot theory. Hyperbolic geometry was first used as a tool to study knots by Riley and then Thurston in the 1970s. By the 1980s, combining work of Mostow and Prasad with Gordon and Luecke, it was known that a hyperbolic structure on a knot complement in the 3-sphere gives a complete knot invariant. However, it remains a difficult problem to relate the hyperbolic geometry of a knot to other invariants arising from knot theory. In particular, it is difficult to determine hyperbolic geometric information from a knot diagram, which is classically used to describe a knot. This textbook provides background on these problems, and tools to determine hyperbolic information on knots. It also includes results and state-of-the art techniques on hyperbolic geometry and knot theory to date. The book was written to be interactive, with many examples and exercises. Some important results are left to guided exercises. The level is appropriate for graduate students with a basic background in algebraic topology, particularly fundamental groups and covering spaces. Some experience with some differential topology and Riemannian geometry will also be helpful.