It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Explore powerful SAS analytics and the Internet of Things! The world that we live in is more connected than ever before. The Internet of Things (IoT) consists of mechanical and electronic devices connected to one another and to software through the internet. Businesses can use the IoT to quickly make intelligent decisions based on massive amounts of data gathered in real time from these connected devices. IoT increases productivity, lowers operating costs, and provides insights into how businesses can serve existing markets and expand into new ones. Intelligence at the Edge is for anyone who wants to learn more about the rapidly changing field of IoT.
The Little SAS Book : a Primer : A Programming Approach by Lora D. Delwiche; Susan J. SlaughterA classic that just keeps getting better, The Little SAS Book is essential for anyone learning SAS programming. The authors offer a user-friendly approach so that readers can quickly and easily learn the most commonly used features of the SAS language. Each topic is presented in a self-contained, two-page layout complete with examples and graphics. Nearly every section has been revised to ensure that the sixth edition is fully up-to-date. This edition is also interface-independent, written for all SAS programmers whether they use SAS Studio, SAS Enterprise Guide, or the SAS windowing environment. New sections have been added covering PROC SQL, iterative DO loops, DO WHILE and DO UNTIL statements, %DO statements, using variable names with special characters, the ODS EXCEL destination, and the XLSX LIBNAME engine.This title belongs on every SAS programmer's bookshelf. It's a resource not just to get you started, but one you will return to as you continue to improve your programming skills.
Transversals in Linear Uniform Hypergraphs by Michael A. Henning; Anders YeoThis book gives the state-of-the-art on transversals in linear uniform hypergraphs. The notion of transversal is fundamental to hypergraph theory and has been studied extensively. Very few articles have discussed bounds on the transversal number for linear hypergraphs, even though these bounds are integral components in many applications. This book is one of the first to give strong non-trivial bounds on the transversal number for linear hypergraphs. The discussion may lead to further study of those problems which have not been solved completely, and may also inspire the readers to raise new questions and research directions. The book is written with two readerships in mind. The first is the graduate student who may wish to work on open problems in the area or is interested in exploring the field of transversals in hypergraphs. This exposition will go far to familiarize the student with the subject, the research techniques, and the major accomplishments in the field. The photographs included allow the reader to associate faces with several researchers who made important discoveries and contributions to the subject. The second audience is the established researcher in hypergraph theory who will benefit from having easy access to known results and latest developments in the field of transversals in linear hypergraphs.
An Introduction to Q-Analysis by Warren P. JohnsonStarting from simple generalizations of factorials and binomial coefficients, this book gives a friendly and accessible introduction to q-analysis, a subject consisting primarily of identities between certain kinds of series and products. Many applications of these identities to combinatorics and number theory are developed in detail. There are numerous exercises to help students appreciate the beauty and power of the ideas, and the history of the subject is kept consistently in view. The book has few prerequisites beyond calculus. It is well suited to a capstone course, or for self-study in combinatorics or classical analysis. Ph.D. students and research mathematicians will also find it useful as a reference.
Longitudinal Structural Equation Modeling with Mplus : A Latent State-Trait Perspective by Christian GeiserAn in-depth guide to executing longitudinal confirmatory factor analysis (CFA) and structural equation modeling (SEM) in Mplus, this book uses latent state-trait (LST) theory as a unifying conceptual framework, including the relevant coefficients of consistency, occasion specificity, and reliability. Following a standard format, chapters review the theoretical underpinnings, strengths, and limitations of the various models; present data examples; and demonstrate each model's application and interpretation in Mplus, with numerous screen shots and output excerpts. Coverage encompasses both traditional models (autoregressive, change score, and growth curve models) and LST models for analyzing single- and multiple-indicator data. The book discusses measurement equivalence testing, intensive longitudinal data modeling, and missing data handling, and provides strategies for model selection and reporting of results. User-friendly features include special-topic boxes, chapter summaries, and suggestions for further reading. The companion website features data sets, annotated syntax files, and output for all of the examples.
Exercises and Projects for the Little SAS Book : A Primer by Rebecca A. Ottesen; Lora D. Delwiche; Susan J. SlaughterHone your SAS skills with Exercises and Projects for The Little SAS Book, Sixth Edition! Now in its sixth edition, the best-selling The Little SAS Book just keeps getting better. Readers worldwide study this easy-to-follow book to help them learn the basics of SAS programming. Rebecca Ottesen has once again teamed up with the authors of The Little SAS Book, Lora Delwiche and Susan Slaughter, to provide a way to challenge and improve your SAS skills through thought-provoking questions, exercises, and projects. Each chapter has been updated to match The Little SAS Book, Sixth Edition. The book contains a mixture of multiple-choice questions, open-ended discussion topics, and programming exercises with selected answers and hints. It also includes comprehensive programming projects that are designed to encourage self-study and to test the skills developed by The Little SAS Book. Exercises and Projects for The Little SAS Book, Sixth Edition is a hands-on workbook that is designed to improve your SAS skills whether you are a student or a professional.
Advanced Deep Learning with R : Become an Expert at Designing, Building, and Improving Advanced Neural Network Models Using R by Bharatendra RaiDeep learning is a branch of machine learning based on a set of algorithms that attempt to model high-level abstractions in data. Advanced Deep Learning with R will help you understand popular deep learning architectures and their variants in R, along with providing real-life examples for them.
This deep learning book starts by covering the essential deep learning techniques and concepts for prediction and classification. You will learn about neural networks, deep learning architectures, and the fundamentals for implementing deep learning with R. The book will also take you through using important deep learning libraries such as Keras-R and TensorFlow-R to implement deep learning algorithms within applications. You will get up to speed with artificial neural networks, recurrent neural networks, convolutional neural networks, long short-term memory networks, and more using advanced examples.
Stochastic Processes : Harmonizable Theory by Malempati Madhusudana RaoThe book presents, for the first time, a detailed analysis of harmonizable processes and fields (in the weak sense) that contain the corresponding stationary theory as a subclass. It also gives the structural and some key applications in detail. These include Levy's Brownian motion, a probabilistic proof of the longstanding Riemann's hypothesis, random fields indexed by LCA and hypergroups, extensions to bistochastic operators, Cram�r-Karhunen classes, as well as bistochastic operators with some statistical applications.The material is accessible to graduate students in probability and statistics as well as to engineers in theoretical applications. There are numerous extensions and applications pointed out in the book that will inspire readers to delve deeper.
Unravelling Complexity : The Life and Work of Gregory Chaitin by Francisco Antônio Doria; Shyam Wuppuluri (Editors)The revolutions that Gregory Chaitin brought within the fields of science are well known. From his discovery of algorithmic information complexity to his work on Gödel's theorem, he has contributed deeply and expansively to such diverse fields.This book attempts to bring together a collection of articles written by his colleagues, collaborators and friends to celebrate his work in a festschrift. It encompasses various aspects of the scientific work that Chaitin has accomplished over the years. Topics range from philosophy to biology, from foundations of mathematics to physics, from logic to computer science, and all other areas Chaitin has worked on.It also includes sketches of his personality with the help of biographical accounts in some unconventional articles that will provide a rare glimpse into the personal life and nature of Chaitin.Compared to the other books that exist along a similar vein, this book stands out primarily due to its highly interdisciplinary nature and its scope that will attract readers into Chaitin's world.
Observability : A New Theory Based on the Group of Invariance by Agostino MartinelliThis book provides a modern theory of observability based on a new paradigm borrowed from theoretical physics and the mathematical foundation of that paradigm. In the case of observability, this framework takes into account the group of invariance that is inherent to the concept of observability, allowing the reader to reach an intuitive derivation of significant results in the literature of control theory. The book provides a complete theory of observability and, consequently, the analytical solution of some open problems in control theory. Notably, it presents the first general analytic solution of the nonlinear unknown input observability (nonlinear UIO), a very complex open problem studied in the 1960s.
Poems That Solve Puzzles : The History and Science of Algorithms by Chris BleakleyPoems that Solve Puzzles tells the story of algorithms from their ancient origins to the present day and beyond. The book introduces readers to the inventors and inspirational events behind the genesis of the world's most important algorithms. Professor Chris Bleakley recounts tales of ancient lost inscriptions, Victorian steam-driven contraptions, top secret military projects, penniless academics, hippy dreamers, tech billionaires, superhuman artificial intelligences,
cryptocurrencies, and quantum computing. Along the way, the book explains, with the aid of clear examples and illustrations, how the most influential algorithms work.
Synchronization in Infinite-Dimensional Deterministic and Stochastic Systems by Igor Chueshov; Björn SchmalfußThe main goal of this book is to systematically address the mathematical methods that are applied in the study of synchronization of infinite-dimensional evolutionary dissipative or partially dissipative systems. It bases its unique monograph presentation on both general and abstract models and covers several important classes of coupled nonlinear deterministic and stochastic PDEs which generate infinite-dimensional dissipative systems. This text, which adapts readily to advanced graduate coursework in dissipative dynamics, requires some background knowledge in evolutionary equations and introductory functional analysis as well as a basic understanding of PDEs and the theory of random processes. Suitable for researchers in synchronization theory, the book is also relevant to physicists and engineers interested in both the mathematical background and the methods for the asymptotic analysis of coupled infinite-dimensional dissipative systems that arise in continuum mechanics.