It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Utilized in the fields of signal processing and design experiments, Hadamard matrices have been in use for 150 years, and remain practical today. This book combines a thorough discussion of the basic concepts underlying the subject matter, and explores more advanced applications that will be of interest to students and experts alike, including:
Gauss sums, Jacobi sums, cyclotomic numbers, plug-in matrices and M-structure; Galois rings, Menon Hadamard difference sets and Paley difference sets; maximal determinant matrices, embeddability of Hadamard matrices and growth problem for Hadamard matrices, and more.
Chemometrics with R : Multivariate Data Analysis in the Natural and Life Sciences by Ron WehrensThis book offers readers an accessible introduction to the world of multivariate statistics in the life sciences, providing a comprehensive description of the general data analysis paradigm, from exploratory analysis (principal component analysis, self-organizing maps and clustering) to modeling (classification, regression) and validation (including variable selection). It also includes a special section discussing several more specific topics in the area of chemometrics, such as outlier detection, and biomarker identification. The corresponding R code is provided for all the examples in the book; and scripts, functions and data are available in a separate R package. This second revised edition features not only updates on many of the topics covered, but also several sections of new material (e.g., on handling missing values in PCA, multivariate process monitoring and batch correction).
Processing Networks : Fluid Models and Stability by Jim Dai; J. Michael HarrisonThis state-of-the-art account unifies material developed in journal articles over the last 35 years, with two central thrusts: It describes a broad class of system models that the authors call 'stochastic processing networks' (SPNs), which include queueing networks and bandwidth sharing networks as prominent special cases; and in that context it explains and illustrates a method for stability analysis based on fluid models. The central mathematical result is a theorem that can be paraphrased as follows: If the fluid model derived from an SPN is stable, then the SPN itself is stable. Two topics discussed in detail are (a) the derivation of fluid models by means of fluid limit analysis, and (b) stability analysis for fluid models using Lyapunov functions. With regard to applications, there are chapters devoted to max-weight and back-pressure control, proportionally fair resource allocation, data center operations, and flow management in packet networks. Geared toward researchers and graduate students in engineering and applied mathematics, especially in electrical engineering and computer science, this compact text gives readers full command of the methods.
Large Cardinals, Determinacy and Other Topics : The Cabal Seminar by Alexander S. Kechris; Benedikt Löwe; John R. Steel (Editors)The proceedings of the Los Angeles Caltech-UCLA 'Cabal Seminar' were originally published in the 1970s and 1980s. Large Cardinals, Determinacy and Other Topics is the final volume in a series of four books collecting the seminal papers from the original volumes together with extensive unpublished material, new papers on related topics and discussion of research developments since the publication of the original volumes. This final volume contains Parts VII and VIII of the series. Part VII focuses on 'Extensions of AD, models with choice', while Part VIII ('Other topics') collects material important to the Cabal that does not fit neatly into one of its main themes. These four volumes will be a necessary part of the book collection of every set theorist.
Matrix Positivity by Charles R. Johnson; Ronald L. Smith; Michael J. TsatsomerosMatrix positivity is a central topic in matrix theory: properties that generalize the notion of positivity to matrices arose from a large variety of applications, and many have also taken on notable theoretical significance, either because they are natural or unifying. This is the first book to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date reference of important material on matrix positivity classes, their properties, and their relations. The matrix classes emphasized in this book include the classes of semipositive matrices, P-matrices, inverse M-matrices, and copositive matrices. This self-contained reference will be useful to a large variety of mathematicians, engineers, and social scientists, as well as graduate students. The generalizations of positivity and the connections observed provide a unique perspective, along with theoretical insight into applications and future challenges. Direct applications can be found in data analysis, differential equations, mathematical programming, computational complexity, models of the economy, population biology, dynamical systems and control theory.
Potential Theory and Geometry on Lie Groups by N. Th. VaropoulosThis book provides a complete and reasonably self-contained account of a new classification of connected Lie groups into two classes. The first part describes the use of tools from potential theory to establish the classification and to show that the analytic and algebraic approaches to the classification are equivalent. Part II covers geometric theory of the same classification and a proof that it is equivalent to the algebraic approach. Part III is a new approach to the geometric classification that requires more advanced geometric technology, namely homotopy, homology and the theory of currents. Using these methods, a more direct, but also more sophisticated, approach to the equivalence of the geometric and algebraic classification is made. Background material is introduced gradually to familiarise readers with ideas from areas such as Lie groups, differential topology and probability, in particular, random walks on groups. Numerous open problems inspire students to explore further.
Structured Dependence Between Stochastic Processes by Tomasz R. Bielecki; Jacek Jakubowski; Mariusz NiewęgłowskiThe relatively young theory of structured dependence between stochastic processes has many real-life applications in areas including finance, insurance, seismology, neuroscience, and genetics. With this monograph, the first to be devoted to the modeling of structured dependence between random processes, the authors not only meet the demand for a solid theoretical account but also develop a stochastic processes counterpart of the classical copula theory that exists for finite-dimensional random variables. Presenting both the technical aspects and the applications of the theory, this is a valuable reference for researchers and practitioners in the field, as well as for graduate students in pure and applied mathematics programs. Numerous theoretical examples are included, alongside examples of both current and potential applications, aimed at helping those who need to model structured dependence between dynamic random phenomena.
Conformable Dynamic Equations on Time Scales by Douglas R. Anderson; Svetlin G. GeorgievThe concept of derivatives of non-integer order, known as fractional derivatives, first appeared in the letter between L'Hopital and Leibniz in which the question of a half-order derivative was posed. Since then, many formulations of fractional derivatives have appeared. Recently, a new definition of fractional derivative, called the "fractional conformable derivative," has been introduced. This new fractional derivative is compatible with the classical derivative and it has attracted attention in areas as diverse as mechanics, electronics, and anomalous diffusion. Conformable Dynamic Equations on Time Scales is devoted to the qualitative theory of conformable dynamic equations on time scales. This book summarizes the most recent contributions in this area, and vastly expands on them to conceive of a comprehensive theory developed exclusively for this book. Except for a few sections in Chapter 1, the results here are presented for the first time. As a result, the book is intended for researchers who work on dynamic calculus on time scales and its applications. Features Can be used as a textbook at the graduate level as well as a reference book for several disciplines Suitable for an audience of specialists such as mathematicians, physicists, engineers, and biologists Contains a new definition of fractional derivative About the Authors Douglas R. Anderson is professor and chair of the mathematics department at Concordia College, Moorhead. His research areas of interest include dynamic equations on time scales and Ulam-type stability of difference and dynamic equations. He is also active in investigating the existence of solutions for boundary value problems. Svetlin G. Georgiev is currently professor at Sorbonne University, Paris, France and works in various areas of mathematics. He currently focuses on harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, ordinary differential equations, Clifford and quaternion analysis, dynamic calculus on time scales, and integral equations.
Differential Geometry in the Large by Owen Dearricott; Wilderich Tuschmann; Yuri Nikolayevsky; Thomas Leistner; Diarmuid Crowley (Editors)The 2019 "Australian-German Workshop on Differential Geometry in the Large" represented an extraordinary cross section of topics across differential geometry, geometric analysis and differential topology. The two-week program featured talks from prominent keynote speakers from across the globe, treating geometric evolution equations, structures on manifolds, non-negative curvature and Alexandrov geometry, and topics in differential topology. A joy to the expert and novice alike, this proceedings volume touches on topics as diverse as Ricci and mean curvature flow, geometric invariant theory, Alexandrov spaces, almost formality, prescribed Ricci curvature, and Kähler and Sasaki geometry.
Modular Theory in Operator Algebras by Șerban Valentin StrătilăThe first edition of this book appeared in 1981 as a direct continuation of Lectures of von Neumann Algebras (by Ş.V. Strătilă and L. Zsidó) and, until 2003, was the only comprehensive monograph on the subject. Addressing the students of mathematics and physics and researchers interested in operator algebras, noncommutative geometry and free probability, this revised edition covers the fundamentals and latest developments in the field of operator algebras. It discusses the group-measure space construction, Krieger factors, infinite tensor products of factors of type I (ITPFI factors) and construction of the type III_1 hyperfinite factor. It also studies the techniques necessary for continuous and discrete decomposition, duality theory for noncommutative groups, discrete decomposition of Connes, and Ocneanu's result on the actions of amenable groups. It contains a detailed consideration of groups of automorphisms and their spectral theory, and the theory of crossed products.
Bayesian Compendium by Marcel van OijenThis book describes how Bayesian methods work. Its primary aim is to demystify them, and to show readers: Bayesian thinking isn't difficult and can be used in virtually every kind of research. In addition to revealing the underlying simplicity of statistical methods, the book explains how to parameterise and compare models while accounting for uncertainties in data, model parameters and model structures. How exactly should data be used in modelling? The literature offers a bewildering variety of techniques and approaches (Bayesian calibration, data assimilation, Kalman filtering, model-data fusion, etc). This book provides a short and easy guide to all of these and more. It was written from a unifying Bayesian perspective, which reveals how the multitude of techniques and approaches are in fact all related to one another. Basic notions from probability theory are introduced. Executable code examples are included to enhance the book's practical use for scientific modellers, and all code is available online as well.
Morrey Spaces, Volumes I & II
Morrey Spaces : Introduction and Applications to Integral Operators and PDEs, Volume I by Yoshihiro SawanoMorrey spaces were introduced by Charles Morrey to investigate the local behaviour of solutions to second order elliptic partial diﬀerential equations. The technique is very useful in many areas in mathematics, in particular in harmonic analysis, potential theory, partial diﬀerential equations and mathematical physics. Across two volumes, the authors of Morrey Spaces discuss the current state of art and perspectives of developments of this theory of Morrey spaces, with the emphasis in Volume I focused mainly on harmonic analysis. Features Provides a 'from-scratch' overview of the topic readable by anyone with an understanding of integration theory Suitable for graduate students, masters course students, and researchers in PDE's or Geometry Replete with exercises and examples to aid the reader's understanding
Data Science for Mathematicians by Nathan Carter (Editor)Mathematicians have skills that, if deepened in the right ways, would enable them to use data to answer questions important to them and others, and report those answers in compelling ways. Data science combines parts of mathematics, statistics, computer science. Gaining such power and the ability to teach has reinvigorated the careers of mathematicians. This handbook will assist mathematicians to better understand the opportunities presented by data science. As it applies to the curriculum, research, and career opportunities, data science is a fast-growing field. Contributors from both academics and industry present their views on these opportunities and how to advantage them.
Boolean Functions for Cryptography and Coding Theory by Claude CarletBoolean functions are essential to systems for secure and reliable communication. This comprehensive survey of Boolean functions for cryptography and coding covers the whole domain and all important results, building on the author's influential articles with additional topics and recent results. A useful resource for researchers and graduate students, the book balances detailed discussions of properties and parameters with examples of various types of cryptographic attacks that motivate the consideration of these parameters. It provides all the necessary background on mathematics, cryptography, and coding, and an overview on recent applications, such as side channel attacks on smart cards, cloud computing through fully homomorphic encryption, and local pseudo-random generators. The result is a complete and accessible text on the state of the art in single and multiple output Boolean functions that illustrates the interaction between mathematics, computer science, and telecommunications.
Assouad Dimension and Fractal Geometry by Jonathan M. FraserThe Assouad dimension is a notion of dimension in fractal geometry that has been the subject of much interest in recent years. This book, written by a world expert on the topic, is the first thorough account of the Assouad dimension and its many variants and applications in fractal geometry and beyond. It places the theory of the Assouad dimension in context among up-to-date treatments of many key advances in fractal geometry, while also emphasising its diverse connections with areas of mathematics including number theory, dynamical systems, harmonic analysis, and probability theory. A final chapter detailing open problems and future directions for research brings readers to the cutting edge of this exciting field. This book will be an indispensable part of the modern fractal geometer's library and a valuable resource for pure mathematicians interested in the beauty and many applications of the Assouad dimension.
Functional Analysis and Summability by P. N. NatarajanIn Functional Analysis and Summability, the author makes a sincere attempt for a gentle introduction of these topics to students. In the functional analysis component of the book, the Hahn-Banach theorem, Banach-Steinhaus theorem (or uniform boundedness principle), the open mapping theorem, the closed graph theorem, and the Riesz representation theorem are highlighted. In the summability component of the book, the Silverman-Toeplitz theorem, Schur's theorem, the Steinhaus theorem, and the Steinhaus-type theorems are proved. The utility of functional analytic tools like the uniform boundedness principle to prove some results in summability theory is also pointed out. Features A gentle introduction of the topics to the students is attempted. Basic results of functional analysis and summability theory and their applications are highlighted. Many examples are provided in the text. Each chapter ends with useful exercises. This book will be useful to postgraduate students, pre-research level students, and research scholars in mathematics. Students of physics and engineering will also find this book useful since topics in the book also have applications in related areas.
Comprehensive in scope, the book covers a range of topics including: new fractional operators, fractional derivatives, fractional differential equations, inequalities for different fractional derivatives and fractional integrals, fractional modeling related to transmission of Malaria, and dynamics of Zika virus with various fractional derivatives, and more. Designed to be an accessible text, several useful, relevant and connected topics can be found in one place, which is crucial for an understanding of the research problems of an applied nature
Intuitive Understanding of Kalman Filtering with MATLAB® by Armando Barreto; Malek Adjouadi; Francisco R. Ortega; Nonnarit O-larnnithipongThe emergence of affordable micro sensors, such as MEMS Inertial Measurement Systems, are applied in embedded systems and Internet-of-Things devices. This has brought techniques such as Kalman Filtering, which are capable of combining information from multiple sensors or sources, to the interest of students and hobbyists. This book will explore the necessary background concepts, helping a much wider audience of readers develop an understanding and intuition that will enable them to follow the explanation for the Kalman Filtering algorithm. Key Features: Provides intuitive understanding of Kalman Filtering approach Succinct overview of concepts to enhance accessibility and appeal to a wide audience Interactive learning techniques with code examples Malek Adjouadi, PhD, is Ware Professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Florida International University, Miami. He received his PhD from the Electrical Engineering Department at the University of Florida, Gainesville. He is the Founding Director of the Center for Advanced Technology and Education funded by the National Science Foundation. His earlier work on computer vision to help persons with blindness led to his testimony to the U.S. Senate on the committee of Veterans Affairs on the subject of technology to help persons with disabilities. His research interests are in imaging, signal processing and machine learning, with applications in brain research and assistive technology. Armando Barreto, PhD, is Professor of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at Florida International University, Miami, as well as the Director of FIU''s Digital Signal Processing Laboratory, with more than 25 years of experience teaching DSP to undergraduate and graduate students. He earned his PhD in electrical engineering from the University of Florida, Gainesville. His work has focused on applying DSP techniques to the facilitation of human-computer interactions, particularly for the benefit of individuals with disabilities. He has developed human-computer interfaces based on the processing of signals and has developed a system that adds spatialized sounds to the icons in a computer interface to facilitate access by individuals with "low vision." With his research team, he has explored the use of Magnetic, Angular-Rate and Gravity (MARG) sensor modules and Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs) for human-computer interaction applications. He is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Francisco R. Ortega, PhD, is an Assistant Professor at Colorado State University and Director of the Natural User Interaction Lab (NUILAB). Dr. Ortega earned his PhD in Computer Science (CS) in the field of Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) and 3D User Interfaces (3DUI) from Florida International University (FIU). He also held a position of Post-Doc and Visiting Assistant Professor at FIU. His main research area focuses on improving user interaction in 3DUI by (a) eliciting (hand and full-body) gesture and multimodal interactions, (b) developing techniques for multimodal interaction, and (c) developing interactive multimodal recognition systems. His secondary research aims to discover how to increase interest for CS in non-CS entry-level college students via virtual and augmented reality games. His research has resulted in multiple peer-reviewed publications in venues such as ACM ISS, ACM SUI, and IEEE 3DUI, among others. He is the first-author of the CRC Press book Interaction Design for 3D User Interfaces: The World of Modern Input Devices for Research, Applications and Game Development. Nonnarit O-larnnithipong, PhD, is an Instructor at Florida International University. Dr. O-larnnithipong earned his PhD in Electrical Engineering, majoring in Digital Signal Processing from Florida International University (FIU). He also held a position of Post-Doctoral Associate at FIU in 2019. His research has focused on (1) implementing the sensor fusion algorithm to improve orientation measurement using MEMS inertial and magnetic sensors and (2) developing a 3D hand motion tracking system using Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs) and infrared cameras. His research has resulted in multiple peer-reviewed publications in venues such as HCI-International and IEEE Sensors.
Spatial Analysis with R : Statistics, Visualization, and Computational Methods by Tonny J. OyanaIn the five years since the publication of the first edition of Spatial Analysis: Statistics, Visualization, and Computational Methods, many new developments have taken shape regarding the implementation of new tools and methods for spatial analysis with R. The use and growth of artificial intelligence, machine learning and deep learning algorithms with a spatial perspective, and the interdisciplinary use of spatial analysis are all covered in this second edition along with traditional statistical methods and algorithms to provide a concept-based problem-solving learning approach to mastering practical spatial analysis. Spatial Analysis with R: Statistics, Visualization, and Computational Methods, Second Edition provides a balance between concepts and practicums of spatial statistics with a comprehensive coverage of the most important approaches to understand spatial data, analyze spatial relationships and patterns, and predict spatial processes. New in the Second Edition: Includes new practical exercises and worked-out examples using R Presents a wide range of hands-on spatial analysis worktables and lab exercises All chapters are revised and include new illustrations of different concepts using data from environmental and social sciences Expanded material on spatiotemporal methods, visual analytics methods, data science, and computational methods Explains big data, data management, and data mining This second edition of an established textbook, with new datasets, insights, excellent illustrations, and numerous examples with R, is perfect for senior undergraduate and first-year graduate students in geography and the geosciences.
Fast Track to Forcing by Mirna DžamonjaThis quick yet detailed introduction to set theory and forcing builds the reader's intuition about it, as much as the mathematical detail. Intuition, rather absent from the existing literature on the subject, here plays a large role. The reader will not only learn the facts, but will understand why they are true and will be brought to ask: what else could be true? Having presented forcing in Part I, the second part of the book discusses contemporary issues in the theory of forcing. It includes known and some previously unpublished results as well as many open questions. This is ideal for those who want to start a research career in forcing but do not have a personal interlocutor. Obviously, not everything about forcing is in this book. Many references are included to help the reader further explore the vast amount of research literature available on the subject.
Asymptotic Analysis of Random Walks: Light-Tailed Distributions by A.A. Borovkov ; V.V. Ulyanov and Mikhail Zhitlukhin (Translators)This is a companion book to Asymptotic Analysis of Random Walks: Heavy-Tailed Distributions by A.A. Borovkov and K.A. Borovkov. Its self-contained systematic exposition provides a highly useful resource for academic researchers and professionals interested in applications of probability in statistics, ruin theory, and queuing theory. The large deviation principle for random walks was first established by the author in 1967, under the restrictive condition that the distribution tails decay faster than exponentially. (A close assertion was proved by S.R.S. Varadhan in 1966, but only in a rather special case.) Since then, the principle has always been treated in the literature only under this condition.
Encyclopedia of Special Functions : The Askey-Bateman Project : Univariate Orthogonal Polynomials by Mourad E. H. Ismail (Editor); Walter van Assche (Assisted by)This is the first of three volumes that form the Encyclopedia of Special Functions, an extensive update of the Bateman Manuscript Project. Volume 1 contains most of the material on orthogonal polynomials, from the classical orthogonal polynomials of Hermite, Laguerre and Jacobi to the Askey-Wilson polynomials, which are the most general basic hypergeometric orthogonal polynomials. Separate chapters cover orthogonal polynomials on the unit circle, zeros of orthogonal polynomials and matrix orthogonal polynomials, with detailed results about matrix-valued Jacobi polynomials. A chapter on moment problems provides many examples of indeterminate moment problems. A thorough bibliography rounds off what will be an essential reference.
Singular Intersection Homology by Greg FriedmanIntersection homology is a version of homology theory that extends Poincaré duality and its applications to stratified spaces, such as singular varieties. This is the first comprehensive expository book-length introduction to intersection homology from the viewpoint of singular and piecewise-linear chains. Recent breakthroughs have made this approach viable by providing intersection homology and cohomology versions of all the standard tools in the homology tool box, making the subject readily accessible to graduate students and researchers in topology as well as researchers from other fields. This text includes both new research material and new proofs of previously-known results in intersection homology, as well as treatments of many classical topics in algebraic and manifold topology. Written in a detailed but expository style, this book is suitable as an introduction to intersection homology or as a thorough reference.