It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library's services and resources. Here's how.
This annual anthology brings together the year's finest mathematics writing from around the world. Featuring promising new voices alongside some of the foremost names in the field, The Best Writing on Mathematics 2020 makes available to a wide audience many articles not easily found anywhere else--and you don't need to be a mathematician to enjoy them. These writings offer surprising insights into the nature, meaning, and practice of mathematics today. They delve into the history, philosophy, teaching, and everyday aspects of math, and take readers behind the scenes of today's hottest mathematical debates.
Continuous and Discontinuous Piecewise-Smooth One-Dimensional Maps: Invariant Sets and Bifurcation Structures by Viktor Avrutin; Laura Gardini; Michael Schanz; Irina SushkoThe investigation of dynamics of piecewise-smooth maps is both intriguing from the mathematical point of view and important for applications in various fields, ranging from mechanical and electrical engineering up to financial markets. In this book, we review the attracting and repelling invariant sets of continuous and discontinuous one-dimensional piecewise-smooth maps. We describe the bifurcations occurring in these maps (border collision and degenerate bifurcations, as well as homoclinic bifurcations and the related transformations of chaotic attractors) and survey the basic scenarios and structures involving these bifurcations. In particular, the bifurcation structures in the skew tent map and its application as a border collision normal form are discussed. We describe the period adding and incrementing bifurcation structures in the domain of regular dynamics of a discontinuous piecewise-linear map, and the related bandcount adding and incrementing structures in the domain of robust chaos. Also, we explain how these structures originate from particular codimension-two bifurcation points which act as organizing centers. In addition, we present the map replacement technique which provides a powerful tool for the description of bifurcation structures in piecewise-linear and other form of invariant maps to a much further extent than the other approaches.
Linear Regression : A Mathematical Introduction by Damodar N. GujaratiGujarati's Linear Regression presents linear regression theory in a rigorous, but approachable manner that is accessible to students in all social sciences. This concise title goes step-by-step through the intricacies, and theory and practice of regression analysis. The technical discussion is provided in a clear style that doesn't overwhelm the reader with abstract mathematics. End-of-chapter exercises test mastery of the content and advanced discussion of some of the topics is offered in the appendices.
Laurent Series Rings and Related Rings by Askar TuganbaevIn this book, ring-theoretical properties of skew Laurent series rings A((x; φ)) over a ring A, where A is an associative ring with non-zero identity element are described. In addition, we consider Laurent rings and Malcev-Neumann rings, which are proper extensions of skew Laurent series rings.
Integrated Process Design and Operational Optimization Via Multiparametric Programming by Baris Burnak; Nikolaos A. Diangelakis; Efstratios N. PistikopoulosThis book presents a comprehensive optimization-based theory and framework that exploits the synergistic interactions and tradeoffs between process design and operational decisions that span different time scales. Conventional methods in the process industry often isolate decision making mechanisms with a hierarchical information flow to achieve tractable problems, risking suboptimal, even infeasible operations. In this book, foundations of a systematic model-based strategy for simultaneous process design, scheduling, and control optimization is detailed to achieve reduced cost and improved energy consumption in process systems. The material covered in this book is well suited for the use of industrial practitioners, academics, and researchers. In Chapter 1, a historical perspective on the milestones in model-based design optimization techniques is presented along with an overview of the state-of-the-art mathematical tools to solve the resulting complex problems. Chapters 2 and 3 discuss two fundamental concepts that are essential for the reader. These concepts are (i) mixed integer dynamic optimization problems and two algorithms to solve this class of optimization problems, and (ii) developing a model based multiparametric programming model predictive control. These tools are used to systematically evaluate the tradeoffs between different time-scale decisions based on a single high-fidelity model, as demonstrated on (i) design and control, (ii) scheduling and control, and (iii) design, scheduling, and control problems. We present illustrative examples on chemical processing units, including continuous stirred tank reactors, distillation columns, and combined heat and power regeneration units, along with discussions of other relevant work in the literature for each class of problems.
A Journey Through the Realm of Numbers : From Quadratic Equations to Quadratic Reciprocity by Menny Aka; Manfred Einsiedler; Thomas WardThis book takes the reader on a journey from familiar high school mathematics to undergraduate algebra and number theory. The journey starts with the basic idea that new number systems arise from solving different equations, leading to (abstract) algebra. Along this journey, the reader will be exposed to important ideas of mathematics, and will learn a little about how mathematics is really done. Starting at an elementary level, the book gradually eases the reader into the complexities of higher mathematics; in particular, the formal structure of mathematical writing (definitions, theorems and proofs) is introduced in simple terms. The book covers a range of topics, from the very foundations (numbers, set theory) to basic abstract algebra (groups, rings, fields), driven throughout by the need to understand concrete equations and problems, such as determining which numbers are sums of squares. Some topics usually reserved for a more advanced audience, such as Eisenstein integers or quadratic reciprocity, are lucidly presented in an accessible way. The book also introduces the reader to open source software for computations, to enhance understanding of the material and nurture basic programming skills. For the more adventurous, a number of Outlooks included in the text offer a glimpse of possible mathematical excursions. This book supports readers in transition from high school to university mathematics, and will also benefit university students keen to explore the beginnings of algebraic number theory. It can be read either on its own or as a supporting text for first courses in algebra or number theory, and can also be used for a topics course on Diophantine equations.
Topics in Domination in Graphs by Teresa W. Haynes; Stephen T. Hedetniemi; Michael A. Henning (Editors)This volume comprises 16 contributions that present advanced topics in graph domination, featuring open problems, modern techniques, and recent results. The focus is on primary dominating sets such as paired domination, connected domination, restrained domination, dominating functions, Roman domination, and power domination. Additionally, surveys include known results with a sample of proof techniques for each parameter. Of extra benefit to the reader, the first chapter includes a glossary of commonly used terms; the second chapter provides an overview of models of domination from which the parameters are defined. The book is intended to provide a reference for established researchers in the fields of domination and graph theory and graduate students who wish to gain knowledge of the topics covered as well as an overview of the major accomplishments in the field and proof techniques used.
A First Course in Enumerative Combinatorics by Carl WagnerA First Course in Enumerative Combinatorics provides an introduction to the fundamentals of enumeration for advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students in the mathematical sciences. The book offers a careful and comprehensive account of the standard tools of enumeration--recursion, generating functions, sieve and inversion formulas, enumeration under group actions--and their application to counting problems for the fundamental structures of discrete mathematics, including sets and multisets, words and permutations, partitions of sets and integers, and graphs and trees. The author's exposition has been strongly influenced by the work of Rota and Stanley, highlighting bijective proofs, partially ordered sets, and an emphasis on organizing the subject under various unifying themes, including the theory of incidence algebras. In addition, there are distinctive chapters on the combinatorics of finite vector spaces, a detailed account of formal power series, and combinatorial number theory. The reader is assumed to have a knowledge of basic linear algebra and some familiarity with power series. There are over 200 well-designed exercises ranging in difficulty from straightforward to challenging. There are also sixteen large-scale honors projects on special topics appearing throughout the text. The author is a distinguished combinatorialist and award-winning teacher, and he is currently Professor Emeritus of Mathematics and Adjunct Professor of Philosophy at the University of Tennessee. He has published widely in number theory, combinatorics, probability, decision theory, and formal epistemology. His Erdos number is 2. An instructor's manual for this title is available electronically to those instructors who have adopted the textbook for classroom use. Please send email to firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Repairable Systems Reliability Analysis : A Comprehensive Framework by Rajiv Nandan Rai; Sanjay Kumar Chaturvedi; Nomesh BoliaMost of the reliability literature is directed towards non repairable systems, that is, systems that fail are discarded. This book is mainly dedicated towards providing coverage to the reliability modeling and analysis of repairable systems that are repaired and not replaced when they fail. Most of the equipment - mechanical or otherwise -are repairable and are subjected to maintenance actions- reactive or proactive- at various levels. Maintenance actions are carried out either to preserve a system or to renovate it to a specified functionable state. Maintenance actions are also characterized by the degree (perfect or imperfect) to which a system can be restored, i.e., to an 'as good as new condition' (AGAN), or 'as bad as old condition' (ABAO). Mathematically perfect repair is modeled using a renewal process (RP). Since it represents much idealized situation, this model has restricted applications in the analysis of repairable systems. At the other extreme, the ABAO repair is mathematically modelled using a Non-Homogenous Poisson Process (NHPP). These assumptions are very unrealistic for probabilistic modeling and leads to major distortions in statistical analysis. This unique book provides a comprehensive framework for the modeling and analysis of repairable systems considering both the non- parametric and parametric approaches to deal with the failure data. The book presents MCF based non-parametric approach with several illustrative examples and the generalized renewal process (GRP) based arithmetic reduction of age (ARA) models along with its applications to the systems failure data from aviation industry. The book also covers various multi-criteria decision-making (MCDM), integrated with repairable systems reliability analysis models to provide a much better insight into imperfect repair and maintenance data analysis. A complete chapter on an integrated framework for procurement process is added which will of a great assistance to the readers in enhancing the potential of their respective organization. This book also presents FMEA methods tailored for GRP based repairs. This text has primarily emerged from the industrial experience and research work of the authors. A number of illustrations have been included to make the subject lucid and vivid even to the readers who are relatively new to this area. Besides, various examples have been provided to display the applicability of presented models and methodologies to assist the readers in applying the concepts presented in this book.
Derived Functors and Sheaf Cohomology by Ugo Bruzzo; Beatriz Grana OteroThe aim of this book is to present a precise and comprehensive introduction to the basic theory of derived functors, with an emphasis on sheaf cohomology and spectral sequences. It keeps the treatment as simple as possible, aiming at the same time to provide a number of examples, mainly from sheaf theory, and also from algebra.The first part of the book provides the foundational material: Chapter 1 deals with category theory and homological algebra. Chapter 2 is devoted to the development of the theory of derived functors, based on the notion of injective object. In particular, the universal properties of derived functors are stressed, with a view to make the proofs in the following chapters as simple and natural as possible. Chapter 3 provides a rather thorough introduction to sheaves, in a general topological setting. Chapter 4 introduces sheaf cohomology as a derived functor, and, after also defining Čech cohomology, develops a careful comparison between the two cohomologies which is a detailed analysis not easily available in the literature. This comparison is made using general, universal properties of derived functors. This chapter also establishes the relations with the de Rham and Dolbeault cohomologies. Chapter 5 offers a friendly approach to the rather intricate theory of spectral sequences by means of the theory of derived triangles, which is precise and relatively easy to grasp. It also includes several examples of specific spectral sequences. Readers will find exercises throughout the text, with additional exercises included at the end of each chapter.
Continuous Functions by Jacques SimonThis book is the second of a set dedicated to the mathematical tools used in partial differential equations derived from physics. It presents the properties of continuous functions, which are useful for solving partial differential equations, and, more particularly, for constructing distributions valued in a Neumann space. The author examines partial derivatives, the construction of primitives, integration and the weighting of value functions in a Neumann space. Many of them are new generalizations of classical properties for values in a Banach space. Simple methods, semi-norms, sequential properties and others are discussed, making these tools accessible to the greatest number of students - doctoral students, postgraduate students - engineers and researchers, without restricting or generalizing the results.
Sequential Bifurcation Trees to Chaos in Nonlinear Time-Delay Systems by Siyuan Xing; Albert C. J. LuoIn this book, the global sequential scenario of bifurcation trees of periodic motions to chaos in nonlinear dynamical systems is presented for a better understanding of global behaviors and motion transitions for one periodic motion to another one. A 1-dimensional (1-D), time-delayed, nonlinear dynamical system is considered as an example to show how to determine the global sequential scenarios of the bifurcation trees of periodic motions to chaos. All stable and unstable periodic motions on the bifurcation trees can be determined. Especially, the unstable periodic motions on the bifurcation trees cannot be achieved from the traditional analytical methods, and such unstable periodic motions and chaos can be obtained through a specific control strategy. The sequential periodic motions in such a 1-D time-delayed system are achieved semi-analytically, and the corresponding stability and bifurcations are determined by eigenvalue analysis. Each bifurcation tree of a specific periodic motion to chaos are presented in detail. The bifurcation tree appearance and vanishing are determined by the saddle-node bifurcation, and the cascaded period-doubled periodic solutions are determined by the period-doubling bifurcation. From finite Fourier series, harmonic amplitude and harmonic phases for periodic motions on the global bifurcation tree are obtained for frequency analysis. Numerical illustrations of periodic motions are given for complex periodic motions in global bifurcation trees. The rich dynamics of the 1-D, delayed, nonlinear dynamical system is presented. Such global sequential periodic motions to chaos exist in nonlinear dynamical systems. The frequency-amplitude analysis can be used for re-construction of analytical expression of periodic motions, which can be used for motion control in dynamical systems.
Numerical Semigroups and Applications by Abdallah Assi; Marco D'Anna; Pedro A. García-SánchezThis book is an extended and revised version of "Numerical Semigroups with Applications," published by Springer as part of the RSME series. Like the first edition, it presents applications of numerical semigroups in Algebraic Geometry, Number Theory and Coding Theory. It starts by discussing the basic notions related to numerical semigroups and those needed to understand semigroups associated with irreducible meromorphic series. It then derives a series of applications in curves and factorization invariants. A new chapter is included, which offers a detailed review of ideals for numerical semigroups. Based on this new chapter, descriptions of the module of Kähler differentials for an algebroid curve and for a polynomial curve are provided. Moreover, the concept of tame degree has been included, and is viewed in relation to other factorization invariants appearing in the first edition. This content highlights new applications of numerical semigroups and their ideals, following in the spirit of the first edition.
Evidence-Based Statistics : An Introduction to the Evidential Approach, From Likelihood Principle to Statistical Practice by Peter M. B. CahusacEvidence-Based Statistics provides readers with a comprehensive and thorough guide to the evidential approach in statistics. The approach uses likelihood ratios, rather than the probabilities used by other statistical inference approaches. The evidential approach is conceptually easier to grasp, and the calculations more straightforward to perform. This book explains how to express data in terms of the strength of statistical evidence for competing hypotheses.
The evidential approach is currently underused, despite its mathematical precision and statistical validity. Evidence-Based Statistics is an accessible and practical text filled with examples, illustrations and exercises. Additionally, the companion website complements and expands on the information contained in the book. While the evidential approach is unlikely to replace probability-based methods of statistical inference, it provides a useful addition to any statistician's "bag of tricks." In this book: It explains how to calculate statistical evidence for commonly used analyses, in a step-by-step fashion Analyses include: t tests, ANOVA (one-way, factorial, between- and within-participants, mixed), categorical analyses (binomial, Poisson, McNemar, rate ratio, odds ratio, data that's 'too good to be true', multi-way tables), correlation, regression and nonparametric analyses (one sample, related samples, independent samples, multiple independent samples, permutation and bootstraps) Equations are given for all analyses, and R statistical code provided for many of the analyses Sample size calculations for evidential probabilities of misleading and weak evidence are explained Useful techniques, like Matthews's critical prior interval, Goodman's Bayes factor, and Armitage's stopping rule are described Recommended for undergraduate and graduate students in any field that relies heavily on statistical analysis, as well as active researchers and professionals in those fields, Evidence-Based Statistics: An Introduction to the Evidential Approach - from Likelihood Principle to Statistical Practice belongs on the bookshelf of anyone who wants to amplify and empower their approach to statistical analysis.
Stochastic Analysis by Shigeo KusuokaThis book is intended for university seniors and graduate students majoring in probability theory or mathematical finance. In the first chapter, results in probability theory are reviewed. Then, it follows a discussion of discrete-time martingales, continuous time square integrable martingales (particularly, continuous martingales of continuous paths), stochastic integrations with respect to continuous local martingales, and stochastic differential equations driven by Brownian motions. In the final chapter, applications to mathematical finance are given. The preliminary knowledge needed by the reader is linear algebra and measure theory. Rigorous proofs are provided for theorems, propositions, and lemmas. In this book, the definition of conditional expectations is slightly different than what is usually found in other textbooks. For the Doob-Meyer decomposition theorem, only square integrable submartingales are considered, and only elementary facts of the square integrable functions are used in the proof. In stochastic differential equations, the Euler-Maruyama approximation is used mainly to prove the uniqueness of martingale problems and the smoothness of solutions of stochastic differential equations.
Lectures in Algebraic Combinatorics : Young's Construction, Seminormal Representations, SL(2) Representations, Heaps, Basics on Finite Fields by Adriano M. Garsia; Ömer EğecioğluCapturing Adriano Garsia's unique perspective on essential topics in algebraic combinatorics, this book consists of selected, classic notes on a number of topics based on lectures held at the University of California, San Diego over the past few decades. The topics presented share a common theme of describing interesting interplays between algebraic topics such as representation theory and elegant structures which are sometimes thought of as being outside the purview of classical combinatorics. The lectures reflect Garsia's inimitable narrative style and his exceptional expository ability. The preface presents the historical viewpoint as well as Garsia's personal insights into the subject matter. The lectures then start with a clear treatment of Alfred Young's construction of the irreducible representations of the symmetric group, seminormal representations and Morphy elements. This is followed by an elegant application of SL(2) representations to algebraic combinatorics. The last two lectures are on heaps, continued fractions and orthogonal polynomials with applications, and finally there is an exposition on the theory of finite fields. The book is aimed at graduate students and researchers in the field.
Reckonings : Numerals, Cognition, and History by Stephen ChrisomalisIn Reckonings, Stephen Chrisomalis considers how humans past and present use numerals, reinterpreting historical and archaeological representations of numerical notation and exploring the implications of why we write numbers with figures rather than words.
Chrisomalis shows that numeration is a social practice. He argues that written numerals are conceptual tools that are transformed to fit the perceived needs of their users, and that the sorts of cognitive processes that affect decision-making around numerical activity are complex and involve social factors. Drawing on the triple meaning of reckon—to think, to calculate, and to judge—as a framing device, Chrisomalis argues that the history of numeral systems is best considered as a cognitive history of language, writing, mathematics, and technology.
ARC Schemes and Singularities by Johannes Nicaise (Editor); David Bourqui (Editor); Julien Sebag (Editor)This title introduces the theory of arc schemes in algebraic geometry and singularity theory, with special emphasis on recent developments around the Nash problem for surfaces. The main challenges are to understand the global and local structure of arc schemes, and how they relate to the nature of the singularities on the variety. Since the arc scheme is an infinite dimensional object, new tools need to be developed to give a precise meaning to the notion of a singular point of the arc scheme.Other related topics are also explored, including motivic integration and dual intersection complexes of resolutions of singularities. Written by leading international experts, it offers a broad overview of different applications of arc schemes in algebraic geometry, singularity theory and representation theory.
Kuranishi Structures and Virtual Fundamental Chains by Kenji Fukaya; Yong-Geun Oh; Hiroshi Ohta; Kaoru OnoThe package of Gromov's pseudo-holomorphic curves is a major tool in global symplectic geometry and its applications, including mirror symmetry and Hamiltonian dynamics. The Kuranishi structure was introduced by two of the authors of the present volume in the mid-1990s to apply this machinery on general symplectic manifolds without assuming any specific restrictions. It was further amplified by this book's authors in their monograph Lagrangian Intersection Floer Theory and in many other publications of theirs and others. Answering popular demand, the authors now present the current book, in which they provide a detailed, self-contained explanation of the theory of Kuranishi structures. Part I discusses the theory on a single space equipped with Kuranishi structure, called a K-space, and its relevant basic package. First, the definition of a K-space and maps to the standard manifold are provided. Definitions are given for fiber products, differential forms, partitions of unity, and the notion of CF-perturbations on the K-space. Then, using CF-perturbations, the authors define the integration on K-space and the push-forward of differential forms, and generalize Stokes' formula and Fubini's theorem in this framework. Also, "virtual fundamental class" is defined, and its cobordism invariance is proved. Part II discusses the (compatible) system of K-spaces and the process of going from "geometry" to "homological algebra". Thorough explanations of the extension of given perturbations on the boundary to the interior are presented. Also explained is the process of taking the "homotopy limit" needed to handle a system of infinitely many moduli spaces. Having in mind the future application of these chain level constructions beyond those already known, an axiomatic approach is taken by listing the properties of the system of the relevant moduli spaces and then a self-contained account of the construction of the associated algebraic structures is given. This axiomatic approach makes the exposition contained here independent of previously published construction of relevant structures.
Generalized Synchronization and Generalized Consensus of System Arrays by Lequan Min; Guanrong ChenWhat is synchronization? This book will show how the concept of closeness of states or frequencies between two dynamical systems has evolved from synchronization to consensus. Part 1 introduces the concepts and mathematical descriptions of Generalized Synchronization (GS) while Part 2 covers Generalized Consensus (GC).It is suitable for researchers and practitioners undertaking the studies of synchronization and consensus of multi-agent systems, graduate students and senior undergraduate students with the backgrounds in calculus, linear algebra and ordinary differential equations, equipped with computer programming skills, in mathematics, physics, engineering and even social sciences.
Functional Interpretations by Justus DillerThis book gives a detailed treatment of functional interpretations of arithmetic, analysis, and set theory. The subject goes back to G del's Dialectica interpretation of Heyting arithmetic which replaces nested quantification by higher type operations and thus reduces the consistency problem for arithmetic to the problem of computability of primitive recursive functionals of finite types. Regular functional interpretations, in particular the Dialectica interpretation and its generalization to finite types, the Diller-Nahm interpretation, are studied on Heyting as well as Peano arithmetic in finite types and extended to functional interpretations of constructive as well as classical systems of analysis and set theory. Kreisel's modified realization and Troelstra's hybrids of it are presented as interpretations of Heyting arithmetic and extended to constructive set theory, both in finite types. They serve as background for the construction of hybrids of the Diller-Nahm interpretation of Heyting arithmetic and constructive set theory, again in finite types. All these functional interpretations yield relative consistency results and closure under relevant rules of the theories in question as well as axiomatic characterizations of the functional translations.
An Introduction to Sequential Monte Carlo by Nicolas Chopin; Omiros PapaspiliopoulosThis book provides a general introduction to Sequential Monte Carlo (SMC) methods, also known as particle filters. These methods have become a staple for the sequential analysis of data in such diverse fields as signal processing, epidemiology, machine learning, population ecology, quantitative finance, and robotics. The coverage is comprehensive, ranging from the underlying theory to computational implementation, methodology, and diverse applications in various areas of science. This is achieved by describing SMC algorithms as particular cases of a general framework, which involves concepts such as Feynman-Kac distributions, and tools such as importance sampling and resampling. This general framework is used consistently throughout the book. Extensive coverage is provided on sequential learning (filtering, smoothing) of state-space (hidden Markov) models, as this remains an important application of SMC methods. More recent applications, such as parameter estimation of these models (through e.g. particle Markov chain Monte Carlo techniques) and the simulation of challenging probability distributions (in e.g. Bayesian inference or rare-event problems), are also discussed. The book may be used either as a graduate text on Sequential Monte Carlo methods and state-space modeling, or as a general reference work on the area. Each chapter includes a set of exercises for self-study, a comprehensive bibliography, and a "Python corner," which discusses the practical implementation of the methods covered. In addition, the book comes with an open source Python library, which implements all the algorithms described in the book, and contains all the programs that were used to perform the numerical experiments.
Correct Antidifferentiation : The Change Of Variable Well Done by Antonio Martínez-AbejónThis book is monographically focused on elementary antidifferentiation and reasonably self-contained, yet it is written in a "hand-book" style: it has plenty of examples and graphics in an increasing level of difficulty; the most standard changes of variable are studied and the hardest theoretic parts are included in a final Appendix. Each practical chapter has a list of exercises and solutions. This book is intended for instructors and university students of Mathematics of first and second year.
A typical source of mistakes that frequently lead to a wrong or incomplete solution for the antiderivative of a given real function of one real variable is a misuse of the technique of change of variable. The increasing implementation of software in apparently mechanic tasks such as the calculation of antiderivatives has not improved the situation, yet those software packages issue generic warnings such as "the answer is not guaranteed to be continuous" or "the solution might be only valid for parts of the function." The practical meaning of those vague machine messages is clearly envisaged in this book, which shows how to handle the technique of change of variable in order to provide correct solutions.
Gödel's Theorems and Zermelo's Axioms : A Frm Foundation of Mathematics by Lorenz Halbeisen; Regula KrapfThis book provides a concise and self-contained introduction to the foundations of mathematics. The first part covers the fundamental notions of mathematical logic, including logical axioms, formal proofs and the basics of model theory. Building on this, in the second and third part of the book the authors present detailed proofs of Gödel's classical completeness and incompleteness theorems. In particular, the book includes a full proof of Gödel's second incompleteness theorem which states that it is impossible to prove the consistency of arithmetic within its axioms. The final part is dedicated to an introduction into modern axiomatic set theory based on the Zermelo's axioms, containing a presentation of Gödel's constructible universe of sets. A recurring theme in the whole book consists of standard and non-standard models of several theories, such as Peano arithmetic, Presburger arithmetic and the real numbers. The book addresses undergraduate mathematics students and is suitable for a one or two semester introductory course into logic and set theory. Each chapter concludes with a list of exercises.
Time-Frequency Analysis of Operators by Elena Cordero; Luigi RodinoThis authoritative text studies pseudodifferential and Fourier integral operators in the framework of time-frequency analysis, providing an elementary approach, along with applications to almost diagonalization of such operators and to the sparsity of their Gabor representations. Moreover, Gabor frames and modulation spaces are employed to study dispersive equations such as the Schrödinger, wave, and heat equations and related Strichartz problems. The first part of the book is addressed to non-experts, presenting the basics of time-frequency analysis: short time Fourier transform, Wigner distribution and other representations, function spaces and frames theory, and it can be read independently as a short text-book on this topic from graduate and under-graduate students, or scholars in other disciplines.