You have several choices when it comes to finding articles from the library website. When the "Search" option is highlighted, you can search books, articles and more. It includes:
However, Start your Search does not include everything in the Library's collections. To ensure you're finding the best possible articles on your research topic, you should search discipline-specific databases directly by making sure "Databases" is highlighted in the search box.
Content that is not included in "Start your Search":
It's difficult to track precisely which databases are or are not available in Start your Search for several reasons:
Have a citation but don't know how to locate the article?
Try Citation Linker (search by article title or author – journal title and date are required)
or Start your Search (search by article title or author)
Recommended steps for finding articles from a citation:
1. Search by article title or author in Start your Search. If not there, continue to step 2.
2. Search by article title or author in Citation Linker (journal title and date are required). If not there, continue to step 3.
3. Search by journal title in Oskicat to find to see if there is a link to the electronic title, or whether we hold the journal title only in print. If only found as a print title, note the call number and library name and visit the library to locate it. If not found, continue to step 4 to InterLibrary Loan (ILL) the title.
4. If you can't find your article in the resource in steps 1-3, search for it in Melvyl to initiate a ILL request. Once you locate the publication use the "Request" or "Berkeley E-LINKS" button to request it from other institutions. If you still cannot find it, but wish to make a ILL request, use this form.
Databases are collections of thousands of articles (and often book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other items) organized by subject. The Libraries have hundreds of databases covering every academic discipline. Some are multi-disciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects and including popular and scholarly sources, and others are subject-specific, and include scholarly and specialized articles.
The following multi-disciplinary databases are good places to start your research: