Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

HA 192F.2 Collage, Montage, Appropriation, Remix, Fall 2020: Managing Citations

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, organize and store your PDFs, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but all are easier than doing it by hand!

  1. Zotero: Free software that keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service. Zotero is available as a stand-alone application that syncs with Chrome and Safari, or as a bookmarklet for mobile browsers.
  2. RefWorks - web-based and free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies, then works with Word to help you format references and a bibliography for your paper. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
  3. EndNote: Desktop software for managing your references and formatting bibliographies. You can purchase EndNote from the Cal Student Store

Tip: After creating a bibliography with a citation management tool, it's always good to double check the formatting; sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.

Zotero Basics

Zotero is citation management software that helps you keep track of all the books and articles you find, and then helps you automatically create bibliographies in MLA, Chicago, or many other citation styles.

This self-paced tutorial from UC Berkeley librarian Margaret Phillips includes videos demonstrating how to get started.

Style Guides

Citing an e-book

Electronic books come in a variety of forms.  Some are accessed through our catalogs and databases and read over the Internet on a computer screen.  Others can be downloaded to a computer and in some cases to mobile devices. 

As the technologies of e-books are evolving, so are the formats for citing them in footnotes and bibliographies.  Here are guides to citing e-books in the three most common styles:


For more information, see:

Thanks to Purdue University for permission to use their citation guides.