Introduction to the Bancroft Collection of Western and Latin Americana: Accessing Bancroft's Digital Content

Bancroft Digital Collections include digitized materials from Bancroft's rich and varied holdings and born digital materials collected as part of our archival manuscript and pictorial collections. Much of that content can be viewed through finding aids on the Online Archive of California. For example, see Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Records,  Chinese in California, and Muir, John Correspondence.

The ever-growing research collection of digital images, text, audiovisual, and other content files is also made available through the California Digital Library's Calisphere website, and through the Berkeley Library Digital Collections site:

• Bancroft Library on Calisphere
• University Archives on Calisphere
• UC Berkeley Library Digital Collections

The Bancroft also maintains the following:

• Varied online resources, including digital archives, collaborative databases, and legacy projects
• The Mark Twain Project Online
• The Oral History Center's archives of videos, audio recordings, and transcripts. The Center is part of The Bancroft Library, and has most of their oral histories available online. Scroll down the page to the box "Search the Oral History Center." From this box search specific names, subjects, or browse the various Oral History Center Projects.
• The Bancroft Library's digitized content on Internet Archive: audiovisual materials and other material, Internet Archive: books and selective manuscripts.